We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful peaceful location”
Review of Can Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Can Blanc
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Olot
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Only had one night here during our cycling tour.Beautiful rural location and still only 5 mins from Olot.
The room we had was very spacious,clean with a large bathroom and a small contained patio garden.No sounds at night except frogs,crickets and owls.
Breakfast was more than adequate and included in the price.
Staff were very friendly and helpful even though we had little spanish and they little english. Ideal base for cycling and walking with trails from right outside the door..
Would certainly recommend a stay if you are in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2012

An excellent hotel in Olot Spain rooms are big and clean, Located in a natural park (Volcanic zone) very quiet area, with a nice outdoor pool and. Its breakfast is good and its WiFi connection is good. The service is great and one may have coffee or tea served to wherever you would like.
The Hotel has its own private parking no extra charge. Me and my wife enjoyed it and definitely would come back to this hotel

Room Tip: No a/c is available but an open window during spring time is like an a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giora53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A chalet-style modern hotel in a lovely setting in the natural park on the outskirts of the town. Friendly and obliging staff (all women), pleasant, modern rooms with character in their design. Extensive gardens with trees, a sunny terrace with tables and chairs, and a modest swimming pool. Proper Catalan breakfast (good coffee, juices, bread, tomatoes, garlic, cheese, local cured sausages, croissants, jams, local yoghurt, fruits) plenty of it, help yourself. La Deu is the associated restaurant, separate, just across the gardens. Excellent menus, with many local specialities, the one we had was three courses for 12 euros including bread, water and 1/4 litre wine each!! Definitely the best value of anywhere we ate in Catalunya.

Olot makes an excellent base for the peninsula’s only volcanic region of La Garrotxa (all dormant). Superb walking with views to the Pyrenees, beech forests for shade. Several walks start from the hotel itself. Romanesque hermitages and medieval villages provide plenty to explore. Then there’s the Volcanoes Museum which explains things really well and has a surprise in store.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Resto associated with the hotel "Le Deu" had an excellent 3-course meal for 11 EUR, drinks included and available during lunch and dinner. Hotel surroundings very pleasant (large lawn; park-like); has a nice pool. Breakfast was minimal (bread, sausages). Room was really great as each has its own patio and small gate at the entrance. Well air-conditioned.

Olot was such as surprise, a town full of life and not touristy at all. The pedestrian-only area is great for sightseeing. Olot is also well known for its "volcanic" group of chefs and cuisine.

The Can Blanc Hotel was the best hotel of all the 7 hotels we stayed at as part of a week-long Catalonia cycling tour. My husband liked it so much he wants to stay here for an entire month and eat at Le Deu every night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank langb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Hotel located in natural forest park close to Olot.2 restaurants within 100 metres,one owned by same family as hotel & both with superb food at reasonable prices.
Accommodation was great with bedroom & sitting room each with TV & desk.Wi-fi worked perfectly.
Breakfast included in room price was comprehensive and tasty.Small swimming pool was clean & refreshing in 34o heat.Drinks & bar tapas available if restaurant not needed & terrace ideal for newspaper or i-pad reading.
Staff (female) welcoming whether from South America or local.
All in all a delight.For 100 euros high season would not have done better in 5 star establishment.
Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was the last stop on our 3-day hiking trip (Vias Verdas) from Girona to Olot, and it was a pleasant surprise how nice the hotel was. The room was spacious and comfortable, but what was most impressive was the land and park surrounding the hotel. This place makes me want to come back and explore Olot some more!

The staff was very nice and helped arrange a cap for us to the bus station upon our departure. Breakfast was a pretty standard European buffet. There is a nice communal area/bar, where we saw a family enjoying a soccer game on the large flat screen TV. There is also a very nice restaurant associated with the hotel, which offers an affordable set menu. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mwall722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We were cycling on Greenways (old railways tracks that crisscross from Catalonian mountains to coast). Olot is in the middle of this network on the edge of the volcanic region (National Park). This small boutique hotel is on the rural outskirts of town (1km). Great spot and location. Good restaurant next door- Font Moixina, good quality Catalan food (better in our view to the other adjoining restaurant La Deu).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandSueCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olot
2.1 mi away
Les Cols Pavellons
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 6 in Olot
131 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vall de Bas
Hotel Vall de Bas
#2 of 2 in Joanetes
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Olot
Hotel Riu Olot
#3 of 6 in Olot
96 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Borrell
Hotel Borrell
#4 of 6 in Olot
59 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cal Sastre Hotel
Cal Sastre Hotel
#1 of 1 in Santa Pau
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Blanc

Address: Passatges de la Deu, s/n, 17800, Olot, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Olot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Olot
Price Range: £79 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Can Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Can Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing