We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, as always”
Review of Can Blanc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Can Blanc
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Olot
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, as always”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

It's located on a lovely spot among beech trees, which looks its best during summer and autumn. We were there on the 3rd and 4th this month, and in spite of the rain we had a wonderful stay. The staff members are friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, everything is kept in very good condition. Perfect for location for trekking or cycling.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturelovingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    36
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
50
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Half an hour's walk from the centre of Olot lies this calm oasis. This place is a treat for those who seek comfortable beds, spacious clean rooms and tranquility. The staff are helpful and understand why you are there. Breakfast is low key, catering for most tastes, it nonetheless showcases the best local produce and leads you to try out various Catalan mixtures.
With natural springs across the road and with woodland and gardens wrapped around the hotel there is a deeply rural feel. The frog chorus is a nightly treat in April.
With two restaurants as neighbours, food is not an issue. But do try out the restaurants in town, challenge yourself with a bit of Catalan and you will be rewarded.
Olot is a town worth exploring, volcanoes and a colourful, busy market on Monday's - not a combination you find very often.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bennywithoutacause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is an attractive building set in pleasant gardens in the curious volcanic landscape of Olot. We arrived in April which admittedley is low season but the single attendant seemed to stretch service to the edge.
It is a long time since a hotel room had an odour of stale smoke, not something to wish to repeat. Decor and furnishings are tired.
Wi-fi was terminally slow.
Has potential but needs a shake up.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaolMuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Only had one night here during our cycling tour.Beautiful rural location and still only 5 mins from Olot.
The room we had was very spacious,clean with a large bathroom and a small contained patio garden.No sounds at night except frogs,crickets and owls.
Breakfast was more than adequate and included in the price.
Staff were very friendly and helpful even though we had little spanish and they little english. Ideal base for cycling and walking with trails from right outside the door..
Would certainly recommend a stay if you are in this area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

An excellent hotel in Olot Spain rooms are big and clean, Located in a natural park (Volcanic zone) very quiet area, with a nice outdoor pool and. Its breakfast is good and its WiFi connection is good. The service is great and one may have coffee or tea served to wherever you would like.
The Hotel has its own private parking no extra charge. Me and my wife enjoyed it and definitely would come back to this hotel

Room Tip: No a/c is available but an open window during spring time is like an a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giora53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelling the globe
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

A chalet-style modern hotel in a lovely setting in the natural park on the outskirts of the town. Friendly and obliging staff (all women), pleasant, modern rooms with character in their design. Extensive gardens with trees, a sunny terrace with tables and chairs, and a modest swimming pool. Proper Catalan breakfast (good coffee, juices, bread, tomatoes, garlic, cheese, local cured sausages, croissants, jams, local yoghurt, fruits) plenty of it, help yourself. La Deu is the associated restaurant, separate, just across the gardens. Excellent menus, with many local specialities, the one we had was three courses for 12 euros including bread, water and 1/4 litre wine each!! Definitely the best value of anywhere we ate in Catalunya.

Olot makes an excellent base for the peninsula’s only volcanic region of La Garrotxa (all dormant). Superb walking with views to the Pyrenees, beech forests for shade. Several walks start from the hotel itself. Romanesque hermitages and medieval villages provide plenty to explore. Then there’s the Volcanoes Museum which explains things really well and has a surprise in store.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Resto associated with the hotel "Le Deu" had an excellent 3-course meal for 11 EUR, drinks included and available during lunch and dinner. Hotel surroundings very pleasant (large lawn; park-like); has a nice pool. Breakfast was minimal (bread, sausages). Room was really great as each has its own patio and small gate at the entrance. Well air-conditioned.

Olot was such as surprise, a town full of life and not touristy at all. The pedestrian-only area is great for sightseeing. Olot is also well known for its "volcanic" group of chefs and cuisine.

The Can Blanc Hotel was the best hotel of all the 7 hotels we stayed at as part of a week-long Catalonia cycling tour. My husband liked it so much he wants to stay here for an entire month and eat at Le Deu every night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olot
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Olot
Hotel Riu Olot
#4 of 6 in Olot
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Borrell
Hotel Borrell
#3 of 6 in Olot
54 reviews
2.1 mi away
Les Cols Pavellons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Vall de Bas
Hotel Vall de Bas
#2 of 2 in Joanetes
40 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 6 in Olot
120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Els Amolls Habitacions
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Blanc

Property: Can Blanc
Address: Passatges de la Deu, s/n, 17800, Olot, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Olot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Olot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Can Blanc 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Can Blanc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing