We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, beautiful and incredible staff, my third visit, I love this place.”
Review of Mas Garganta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mas Garganta
westford
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Relaxing, beautiful and incredible staff, my third visit, I love this place.”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I brought a group of friends for my third visit. They loved it and appreciated the change after 5 wonderful days in Barcelona. Inis and her staff couldn't do enough. For our last night night, she managed to get us a Spanish guitar player and a bonfire. What a wonderful place, plus the food is fantastic with all fresh ingredients. Don't miss am opportunity to visit this place for a nice break from the city life.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    17
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2012

After spending a week in Barcelona, nothing could have been more relaxing and serene than those three days at Mas Garganta. We were welcomed warmly into this rustic country home and offered the freedom of the place. The view from the top of the hill encompasses a peaceful countryside, fields, mountains and all the familiar smells and sounds. Our accommodation was clean and roomy. The breakfasts were delightful with warm and cold choices. The Saturday evening dinner offered an excellent taste of local cuisine and was served with much attention.
A memorable stay in this charming country place hosted by a very nice hostess.
They are very well equipped for families with young children who could enjoy feeding the hens amongst other things.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRvilleneuve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Best location to visit La Vall d'en Bas and La Garrotxa. A restored building, not luxurious but charmy and comfortable, specially if you travel with children. We stayed in a family room with a year-old child and had a really great time together. It is not a bargain but it worths it!
Regarding other reviews I have to say that there was no babysitter for dinner time when we stayed there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We were warmly welcomed by a group of young men and women. Our room was large with a super comfortable bed and marvellous views. However, it was grubby! The arms of the chairs were greasy, the bathroom floor badly stained and the bath chipped. Worst of all the shower was hanging off the wall! Yes, the towels were thin but that didn't matter too much but there was no shelf anywhere in the bathroom so our toilet bags and toothbrushes had to live on the floor and at €84 per night that matters.
We went out to a local restaurant for dinner - though we had thought to eat at the farmhouse - when we learned from fellow guests that the night before they had been served salmon as a main course, so not quite the Catalonian cuisine we had been expecting. Breakfast was good with fruit, yoghourt, cheese and good coffee - but we had to roam around for 10 minutes (just before 9 o'clock) looking for someone to appear and lay out the buffet table.
There's a fine line between shabby chic and neglect and this lovely old farmhouse is definitely in need of some TLC

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2happytravellers32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Mas Garganta in rural La Pinya outside of Olot hits all the high points one expects in a lodging like this—spotless rooms, friendly & attentive staff, very attractive prices compared with other, often lesser quality, accommodations in the area. However, Mas Garganta stands out above all others with a host of intangible virtues—gorgeous views of the nearby hills, deep green forests amid colorful fields of vegetables and flowers, cool breezes, abundant bird life, a household garden most of us dream about. The hills to the west are often outlined with delicate wisps of mist; these give the light a translucent, limpid quality that a painter like Turner could turn into museum-class art work. Sunset is a visual miracle. The Mas sits on the forested side of a ridge separating it from Olot, which means there is no light pollution at night. The stars are resplendent amid a stillness and calm that Zen monasteries try to achieve. Yet hidden behind the modern amenities, Mas Garganta enjoys an illustrious heritage very few B&Bs on earth can emulate. The building dates from 1350, about the same time the first known documents in the Catalan language were made. A beautiful illuminated manuscript of the same era shows the Catalan court gathered under the first known depiction of the distinctive yellow and red Catalan flag. This was the era when Europe was moving from medieval feudalism to a modern state, and Mediterranean Europe was reinventing itself after the Great Plague. While Italy was making the High Renaissance, Catalonia was a rising maritime power with a global awareness. Its 14th century mapmakers led all of Europe in charting the seas and far-flung lands of the world. A Catalan Atlas dating from 1375—only 25 years after Mas Garganta’s first stones went down—delineated of Asia and Africa more accurately than any map known up to that time. It set a standard that lasted a century, till the discovery of a new land called America turned the attentions of cartography to a different hemisphere. As you enjoy a cup of tea overlooking the rich valley below, squint your eyes a little and you can visualise the multitude of others who have sat in this same spot across a span of six and a half centuries. Then pause to appreciate the fact that Ms. Inés Puigdeval, the owner, is as far-sighted as her ancestors. She has spent a good portion of her life establishing a Waldorf School in the white buildings you see near the entrance. Her own son attends this school. With people like Ms. Puigdeval, the world is a safer, more cultivated place. When you stay at Mas Garganta, centuries flow in and out of every passing moment.

Room Tip: Room No. 8 has its own outside terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garroxta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

We spent 3 nights here and loved the place. If you want to get away from the crowds, then Mas Garganta is perfect. The rooms are simply furnished but with very comfortable beds. Breakfast is excellent - local ham, cheese, bread and superb coffee, all served on a covered terrace with wonderful views over the countryside. We also had dinner on our last night, a Friday, and enjoyed a traditional Catalan meal - it was perfect. The views from Mas Garganta are fabulous - glimpses of old medieval villages amongst the wooded hillsides. The local donkey does sometimes bray during the night but it adds to the rural feel! The area is excellent for walking or cycling with lots of tracks which are well signposted. There are also some amazing villages within driving distance. Check out Besalu which is a very pretty medieval town and Castellfollit which is perched on top of a sheer basalt hillface. All in all, Mas Garganta is great as a base for exploring this part of Catalonia. Finally, the owner Ines and all her staff offered a service beyond anything you could wish for. We will be returning for sure. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The local town Olot is about 10 minutes drive away
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malojakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2011

"Beautiful" "Great evening meal" "Great destination.The welcome was wonderful and it was great to have the run of the house". " The food was fabulous and the host and her staff were a delight" "we liked it the most"

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosadesantjordi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olot
4.3 mi away
Hotel Vall de Bas
Hotel Vall de Bas
#2 of 2 in Joanetes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.3 mi away
Can Blanc
Can Blanc
#2 of 6 in Olot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Olot
Hotel Riu Olot
#3 of 6 in Olot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Finca El Ventos
Finca El Ventos
#1 of 1 in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.4 mi away
Les Cols Pavellons
1.1 mi away
Volcanic Rural Resort Mas La Garrinada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas Garganta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Garganta

Property: Mas Garganta
Address: Crta. de la Pinya, s/n | La Vall d'en Bas- La Pinya, 17179, Olot, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Olot
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Olot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas Garganta, THE RURAL ROUGH LUXURY B&B FOR COHERENT & NATURAL TRAVELLERSMas Garganta, a restored rural house dated in the s. XIV, rests on the Valley d'en Bas, offering the tranquility of a diaphanous landscape in the Pyrenees, inside the Natural Park of the volcanic region called La Garrotxa (Girona).Mas Garganta preserves the memory of the passage of time manifested in the decoration full of warmth, charm and authenticity, being, at the same time very comfortable.In Mas Garganta breakfasts and dinners are elaborated with fresh products grown in the area, and from the own garden. Meals are served on the veranda, which is involved in the stillness of the landscape.Mas Garganta is located just 2 km from the historic town of Olot and 45 minutes’ drive from Girona airport. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing