We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Copey de Dota”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabinas las Manzanas
San Vito, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“When in Copey de Dota”
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Arguably the best coffee of Costa Rica comes from the Valle de los Santos just minutes away, and the names of most of them end in "Dota". Copey is much quieter than nearby Santa Maria de Dota. You go to Cabinas Las Manzanas if you want to rest, walk and see the roadside flora and fauna at high elevation. Olman Serrano and his wife Rosy, are humble, generous hosts. Rosy is willing to cook trout for your dinner if the only restaurant in town is closed. Olman will take you on a walk on his mountainside covered with apple, peach and avocado orchards. There are 12 varieties of avocados! Olman and Rosy don't speak English, but if you speak Spanish, they will enjoy communicating with you about the history of land use in the area and their own beautiful garden. The rooms (only 4) are solidly built and are very clean. The bed is comfortable. There is just one towel per person. There are reading lights, and Rosy will give you extra pillows without complaint. We loved the simplicity of the place. For only $40 a night, per couple, including breakfast, you can hardly go wrong. Copey is a beautiful place; we could imagine living there. May it stay as peaceful as it is. Why is it so charming and peaceful? Maybe because there is no high speed internet yet in Copey.

Room Tip: There are just four rooms attached to one another, all the same size. We were the only guests, so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Well, I've been a repeat traveler here for the past 5 years. I go there like once a year at least to wind down and relax. Trout fishing, bird watching, lots of countryside and the friendliest people you ever met. I really got to hand it to them, they really have that place nailed down. And you also go through the world's best coffee growing region worldwide. What's not to love? A must for anybody going on vacation or to watch the quetzal birds.

Room Tip: They don't have a pool or fitness center, but trust me you will not need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentín S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Cabaña Las Manzanas was a great experience for me. I travelled to Costa Rica as a teacher with a group of 10 students. I only have good things to say about Las Manzanas and Copey. In fact, it gives me goose bumps to think about it. The people were SO welcoming and nice! One morning, Don Olman took us up the mountain showing us the apple trees and other fruits on our way. The kids were fascinated (I was as well!). They said "It is so cool to have breakfast picking up fruits from the trees!". Doña Rosy (Don Olman´s wife) is an excellent cook. Oh my God, she will spoil you to the point you won´t want to go back home. Even though I was there with students, I could relax and enjoy the surroundings like a tourist. Overall, Las manzanas was an incredible and unforgettable experience. It is nature immersion at its best, hospitality, friendship, good food, and very safe. Definetely a must stop on your visit to the beautiful country of Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Rooms are very nice and clean. All of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

This past summer I volunteered as an English Teacher in the small mountain village of Copey de Dota in the Zona de los Santos (about 1.5 hours south of San Jose). I stayed with the wonderful Serrano family in their B&B, Las Cabinas las Manzanas. The Cabinas is an immaculately clean place, each room with private bath and breakfast included for $20 during low season. They can also provide lunch and dinner if so desired for and extra $6 each.

The property is tranquil and has a stunning garden frequently visited by hummingbirds. The owner, Olman Serrano who is also a fruit grower, can take you on a tour of his fruit orchard spanning the slope of the mountain behind the house. He has at least 12 avocado varieties in the orchard, as well as apples, plums, etc. Because they are so proud of their apples, (it's about the only place in Costa Rica where they can grow), many of the dishes prepared by Rosibel, the wife, feature apples like the delicious crepas de manzanas - soooo yummy for breakfast or dessert!!

Staying here was a dream. The surrounding mountains make for breathtaking walks, especially early in the morning where you might even catch a glimpse of the elusive quetzal, which are particularly common in this area. The Serranos were extremely kind, had a wonderful sense of humour, and were always so eager to make each and every day a beautiful one!! I highly recommend the place. If you can choose, go during their summer, December to March, to take in the beautiful fruit and coffee growing season, the place really comes alive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Copey
0.0 mi away
Toucanet Lodge
Toucanet Lodge
#1 of 3 in Copey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Suenos del Bosque
Suenos del Bosque
#3 of 11 in San Gerardo de Dota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cedrela Eco-Lodge
Cedrela Eco-Lodge
#3 of 3 in Copey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabinas las Manzanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinas las Manzanas

Property: Cabinas las Manzanas
Address: Este de la Iglesia de Copey de Dota 300m, Copey, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > Copey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Copey
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apples cabins are located in Copey de Dota Costa Rica surrounded by fruit trees, decorative plants much peace and quiet nature, at an altitude of 1800 m and only one hour drive from San Jose.1) RoomsThis place has four bedrooms each with bathroom and hot water.Our visitors can enjoy:2) Fruit Tour a tour (Tour of fruits), of our property that is 80% of the process of transition from conventional farming to organic farming, also depending on the time will taste a variety of fruits high. (Avocado, apple, plum, peach, Anona, Granadilla, figs and more.3) Bird watching(Quetzals, hummingbirds, woodpeckers, etc.) each in its time4) Very close to the rooms you will find:a) Beautiful scenery laden natureb) allowing beautiful icredible Mountainsc) as an example Pirris Rios born in the hill of death and its waters are cold and clear5) Trout Fishing:Just 100 meters from this place, you can fish the trout that will taste the same.6) also find places where you can enjoy delicious traditional foods and community ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing