We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fun With Santa

The cabin cosy in winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cabin cosy in winter
Back of the cabin - ideal for sitting out on with a hot coco & watching the skiers go by in winter!! Fully equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
The cabin cosy in winter
Back of the cabin - ideal for sitting out on with a hot coco & watching the skiers go by in winter!!
Fully equipped kitchen
Downstairs twin bedroom
Upstairs bedroom
Dining lounge - cosy on those winter evenings
Getting around the village - Ylläs is for the young at heart as well
Ready for the cold - getting dressed up at Sami's reindeer farm
Cafe on the top of Ylläs 718
Skiing - view from the top of Ylläs 718
The Poro Restaurant - this restaurant is close by the cabin (short walk)
Akas Hotel - live music and dancing
2009 Children in Need trip - Angellica Bell & Michael Underwood at Sami's reindeer farm
2009 Children in Need trip - Angellica and Michael visiting Santa
snowmobile safari
Feeding the reindeer at Sami's reindeer farm
Trekking in Lapland, beautiful views and fresh clean air
Reindeer wandering the village
Nothing beats fresh fish
Assisted Skiing
2009 Children in Need - Lapland Trip - Reindeer safari at Sami's
View from the top of Ylläs 718 - you can walk up or take the gondola
Husky Safari
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Akaslompolo, Lapland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Familytra...
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peaceful!”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed in the Dasher cabin for 5 nights in December 2013. The weather was mild by local standards, but we found it really cold - it ranged from minus 1 to minus 20 degrees while we were there. The cabin is very comfy and well equipped. A good range of books, dvds and games. The starter pack was helpful especially since our flight was delayed and we arrived quite late. The kitchen also has a good basic larder - pasta, oil, couscous, cocoa, condiments etc. Jane organised various activities and I'll list these below. This ran like clockwork from the airport transfers to accommodating our little boy who struggled somewhat with very cold feet.

Day 1 - we explored the little village and did some grocery shopping. There is a great selection of craft shops and sports shops and quite an impressive supermarket. There is also a village bakery which does scrummy local pastries, coffees and hot chocolate. We had dinner at the Poro restaurant which serves Lappish dishes. The service was pleasant and the food was delicious, we would recommend it. They have a nice children's menu too.

Day 2 - we visited Santa by snowmobile in Levi. This was a terribly long journey in the back of the snowmobile for my 4 year old and I. It was by far the coldest day and the journey felt very long. When we arrived we were sheparded into Santa's cabin with the other family on the trip. It was all very rushed. He said hello to the children and showed them the letters they had sent. Then it was time for an exilerating sleigh ride around a small circuit - that was great fun. We spent the afternoon exploring Levi which has good skiing and a hotel spa complex including a good indoor play area for little ones.

Day 3 - we visited Hannuu's reindeer farm. This was a 3km sled ride that was so peaceful and beautiful. We then sat in a Lappish tipee, drank hot berry juice ate home baked treats and enjoyed humerous stories around a camp fire. It was a lovely day.

Day 4 - we visited Husky Point and went for a longer than expected husky sled ride. We so enjoyed it. My hubby loved driving the sled and my son and I were cosy in the little sled. The scenery is beautiful and serene. Take some ski goggles or sun glasses if it is snowing as the dogs kick up a lot of snow. There were four gorgeous puppies. After the ride we enjoyed hot berry juice and ginger bread and learnt more about the huskies and racing them. It was a great day.

All in all, this is a magical, once in a lifetime sort of experience. I'm sure those who love to ski would enjoy the ski slopes too. Thanks very much to Jane for all the behind the scenes coordination and advice that made this holiday seem so seamless.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LaetitiaS...
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic all round”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had an awesome experience in our little mokki for the week... Our two children are 7 and 2, and they loved it just as much as us. The kitchen and lounge overlook a beautiful forest and we were lucky enough to spot reindeers, rabbits and squirrels. The size of the kitchen is perfect for a holiday place and was well equipped, but not enough to fill a dishwasher, which we didn't use. The washing machine was working very well and we dried our clothes in a dryer cupboard. However, the mezzanine upstairs was very hot by evening, so we would put the children in bed downstairs and would play musical beds in the night... We had a hire car, and I know you can do without but it really is worth it getting one. We saw awesome spots during our week and have gone home with wonderful memories, as well as our own bilberry jam made on the last day, yum!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property's decor and its tasteful decoration
Liked least: There was no kick sled
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy comfortable cabin.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicestershire
Reviewed 18 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cabin, trips and snow
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing