We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lapland Hotel Akashotelli and Apartments/Log Cabins......BEWARE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Having just come back from "a once in a life time" trip to Lapland..... the clue is in the sentence....
ONCE and never again.....Take plenty of money....you'll need it.
Santa Clause......
We have seen a better Santa clause in Dobbies at Southport and I'm not joking,
Accommodation......
Having been on trip advisor before we left for our holidays, id been reading someone's review of the akas and it was described as a '70's youth hostel' which was spot on...! Having said that we was going to stay in the log cabins and on the off chance prior to the holiday decided to call the hotel to ask the proximity of the cabins to the hotel as we were booking half board at the hotel....that turned out to be the best phone call i ever made...!...ask Kev & Gail & family.....lol....!
the log cabins are situated in the wilderness which are all in different directions from the hotel....it all sounds romantic and secluded which it is however its a 15/20 minute hike in sub zero conditions (ice and snow) in darkness......If your half board that's 4 trips a day everyday with all the family... it can be dangerous if you fall..on the second day one of the parents slipped and had to go to hospital with broken bones.
We stayed in the apartments which are only 25 metres away from the hotel which is more like it, don't get me wrong the apartments and log cabins are all brand new and you cant fault this accommodation however the hotel rooms need updating asap...do not stay in the hotel if you are staying here choose the apartments and if you like danger hiking then choose the log cabins,
Food
the food is poor or satisfactory at best...yes its true there is plenty of it however its warm/cold and tasteless...and the drinks are expensive so take plenty of money... 4 soft drinks in the hotel was 14 euros
Hotel Staff
Cant fault them, friendly and helpful
Ingham s Staff
Cant fault them, friendly and helpful
Snow suits/boots
very warm and really good quality get them cause you'll need them or if your taking your own make sure that they are designed for sub zero conditions....
If your taking the children its advisable to take some kind of flashing L.E.D's that you can attach to them...for safety...its dark the majority of the time in Lapland...we had L.E.D head torches which were ideal for the kids and great for being seen..
My advise is to stay in LEVI as we went here on one day to go to a Santa trip and it looked a much livelier place and everything was in close proximity to each other....
I hope this helps....
regards
Mr lee

Room Tip: If your staying here stay in the apartments...forgot to tell you there is a gym under the apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at the Snow Elf Hotel last new year, would highly recommend the new year package as there was so many trips included in the price, you couldn’t afford to do all of these things if you had to pay separately. I would say that the extra trips are very expensive, we spent an extra £700 on 2 trips- night-time snowmobiling and the reindeer ride (2 adults) but felt we had to do it as we may never come back. But we will definitely go back, it was a great experience!

The hotel itself was fine, the food was o.k as I am a fussy eater anyway but there was always something there to eat.

Would highly recommend the week stay as it was not much dearer to stay for a week (and have so much included) as it was to go for a couple of days.

PS. the rep Liam was fab and really went out of his way to keep make us happy and enjoy our holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RhianVaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I had a fantastic time in Akaslompolo and i'd put that down mainly to making the right decision in staying in the hub of the centre, this very hotel.

It had:

Comfortable warm rooms
Really good choice of options for buffet breakfast & evening meals (which were free)
Free bus service to the ski resort for guests of the hotel
Prices at the bar were about the same as in other pubs in the area
Warm friendly bar staff

I'm struggling to think of a negative.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jiglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of December. We booked B/B online all that worked out ok.

We arrived by car from Kittilia airport and no problem checking in at once. Free car parking is available very close to the room.

Our room was close to the reception. The room was basic (as in most parts of Lapland) and somewhat small but when the temperature is -20C one worries more about the heating than the size of the room :-)

Breakfast was good and included a large selection. The dining room has a great Lapland atmosphere.

The staff and service were friendly.

Just outside the hotel is a regular bus transport to the ski slopes.
From a few minutes drive from the hotel we took a Husky and a Reindeer safaries which were very exiting!

We also visitied Santa’s House and got to have an interesting talk with him...

All in all the hotel is recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacks1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We stayed for a week in February 2011 in the Yllas Log Cabins ( Yllasniesta ) but took the half board option at Akas Hotel. So glad we did as not many other places to eat out nearby. We found the Akas staff very friendly and the whole place had a very relaxed feel. The food very excellent, hot and plenty of it, just help yourself. Lots of choice at breakfast and evening meal. We especially liked the waffles in the morning with berrys and yogurt. Inghams reps also at hotel on a regular basis if you need them. In all 100% happy with the whole experience, log cabins, food at hotel, resort, trips etc. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Please note - check temperatures before you travel as when we were there, temps were between -20 and -38. We had hired thermal suits and boots and would recommend these as normal clothing would not have been enough.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidayreviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Basically it's about the service - it's horrible. On check-in at least one of two apartments missed the following: towels, firewood, "welcome" gift, some tableware. They are not doing the cleaning. We were told to put gargbage bags outside near the door, but they were there for almost a week! Reception refused to help in some minor things we needed from hotel. Bad, bad, bad.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Stayed a week with FirstChoice - in one the apartments. The apartments are generously proportioned, very well kitted out and designed, the wood burner and sauna were both lovely indulgences (apartment was toasty anyway, so the fire was pure luxury).
Hotel food was buffet style, but good quality, tasty, varied and abundant, we felt very well looked after.
Improvements? Hotel could provide more information in the rooms (eg where to stock up on more logs for the burner - answer the wood shed in the car park, supermarket times, local maps, etc etc) and other top tips, but finding things out added to the adventure. The staff at reception were very helpful when asked though.
Can recommend sledging home from the nearby ski area - much laughter.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellowleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akaslompolo
0.6 mi away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#3 of 5 in Akaslompolo
164 reviews
21.5 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
631 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
0.8 mi away
Hotel YllasHumina
Hotel YllasHumina
#1 of 5 in Akaslompolo
115 reviews
22.7 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Akashotelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Akashotelli

Address: Aekaesentie 10, Akaslompolo 95970, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Akaslompolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Price Range: £94 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapland Hotel Akashotelli 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lapland Hotel Akashotelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Akaslompolo
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli Finland - Akaslompolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing