We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We paid 152€ for a night and I think it was worth it. We drove the bikes all day in the rain and heat so we tool the first available room and thought it would be one of those basic hotel rooms but instead we got this fully equiped absolutely awesome room.
Sauna, a dryer for the clothes, coffee machine, fridge, waterboiler... Everything you need to prepare for the next day.
Great room!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Mika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel with Thomson from the 1st - 4th of December 2013. We stayed in a log cabin which are of a good standard, very warm and suitable for your needs. They even have a sauna and a log fire.

The food was same old everyday though, however i wouldn't say the quality was bad at all.

The Finnish people are probably the nicest people you will ever meet, nothing is too much trouble for them. Staff at this hotel are great.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in this area. You must do trips with huskys/ice hotel as these were great. Some other taster trips are a half day out and are provided by Thomson.

Just remember its very cold and dark in December, we had about 5 hours of white light and temperatures dropped to -28c.

Very good holiday i would go back.

Room Tip: Log cabins are well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jamieholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Akas Hotel is great value for money, very well located, warm and comfortable. The staff were all very helpful, the food was tasty and plentiful. Bedrooms were spacious and well equipped for the price range. Pool area was well maintained and peaceful. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to others and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LisaBurton67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Akas Hotel has a choice of lodges, annex cabins or hotel rooms. It's a 10 minute walk from Akaslompolo which has all you need for entertainment and food. The Fins are welcoming and very accommodating and very understated. The staff at the hotel are friendly and service is good and efficient. Food choice is buffet style and highly varied every day. All you can eat to refuel after a long day on the hundreds of kilometres of Nordic Ski tracks right on the doorstep. Peaceful and well kitted out rooms in the annex kept us away from the Santa trips, which can get a bit too much. Best to avoid December if you don't want to run into Santa crazed loonies!! February/March is better and massively cheaper.

Room Tip: Go for the Cabins first and the Annexes second. Can't speak for the hotel rooms, never used them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We needed a place for one night. I called to hotel, and service was excellence. At the time we arrive to the hotel, service was still excellence. Lobby bar looks also nice.
I told to reception lady that we can't get breakfast cause we need leave so early. She said come
few hours later pick up something what can eat at morning. So we go few hours later... we were so surprised... we got all kind food!!! I never could imagine that what we get... so morning when we leave, we don't leave with empty tummy!!!
Place what we had, was cool... I mean there was tiny fireplace, 2 flat tv, one in bedroom... we had nice kitchen with everything, and also sauna.... and this was just 150 euro / night / 2 person!!!
I can recommed!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adolf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My husband, 4 year old daughter and I stayed at the Snow Elf from 22-26 December 2013. We had a really lovely Christmas staying at the Snow Elf. Although it is true to say the hotel is quite basic, it does feel homely. On two of the nights of our stay we had to go to the Snow Princess for our evening meal - dining there certainly made us glad we had chosen the Snow Elf.

We opted to stay in the hotel block which some reviewers have criticised as being small and basic. The room was big enough for the 3 of us - we didn't spend a huge amount of time in there. One advantage of staying in the hotel rooms is that your are very close to the dining area and bar which means you don't have to out your thermals suits on for meals. The rooms were very clean and warm. A very useful drying cabinet was also provided.

We have stayed in hotels where the food has been better however it can't really be compared to other holidays we have had in hotels in the Med, etc. at breakfast there was lots of choice. Lunch and dinner was a little more limited.

The Thomson reps were great and worked so hard to make the holiday special for the children. We found the taster sessions (huskies, reindeer ride, snow mobiles) were enough for our 4 year old so we didn't opt for any of the longer trips. We did try to book on to the Thomson trip to visit the Ice Hotel but it booked up very early. However, we booked a taxi and split the cost with another family which worked out really well - would definitely recommend this - so much cheaper.

The weather was quite mild whilst we were there - the coldest weather we saw was -12, however when dressed in the thermal suits and gear that was provided we were really warm. We also took the advice of previous reviewers and made sure we wore lots of layers.

We had a lovely Christmas in Lapland - lots of fun sledging and building snowmen! We were lucky enough to see Father Christmas on Christmas Day which was truly magical for our daughter. We all had a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nipperShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in logcabin for 4 nights. Cabin was small but enough room for the two of us. And we didnt spent much time in the cabin, we spent our holiday in skicenter, witch is not that far away for hotel. Breakfast is only thing that was not so good, not fresh. Restaurant and pirtus pizza are good. In pirtukirkko and pirtukellari you get to dancel. In Ylläs we were also at huskysafari, ramis huskies, i recommed that, great adventure! For all Ylläs is a great place for holiday and Äkäshotelli's logcabins are great place to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nelkku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akaslompolo
0.6 mi away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#3 of 5 in Akaslompolo
164 reviews
21.5 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
631 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Hotel Levi Panorama
0.8 mi away
Hotel YllasHumina
Hotel YllasHumina
#1 of 5 in Akaslompolo
115 reviews
22.7 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Akashotelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Akashotelli

Address: Aekaesentie 10, Akaslompolo 95970, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Akaslompolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Akaslompolo
Price Range: £94 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapland Hotel Akashotelli 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Lapland Hotel Akashotelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Akaslompolo
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli Finland - Akaslompolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing