We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (312)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveller rating
135
124
35
11
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
124
35
11
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews akas hotel log cabin gala dinner frozen lake ski bus ice hotel northern lights half board christmas day meet santa fresh bread husky ride winter wonderland cross country skiing tour operator santa break last night
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 312 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

We had the New Year’s Eve gala banquet which was a little disappointing given the title. A nice meal but not great, especially given the price. However, the staff were very friendly and helpful though.

Stayed: December 2017
2  Thank Lizs0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

Clean,with a nice atmosphere. I would rate this hotel 3*. Was happy I booked a room in the hotel as we were close for meals. Room was basic but comfortable and beds were comfy enough. Liked that radiator worked all night through. It was -32 when we were there so I wouldn’t have enjoyed a 5-10 min walk from a lodge for meals and pick ups. Check in was chaotic with half the bus having to wait outside and could have been better organised had a rep been about ie instructed half to leave cases and go for lunch. We had to do this anyway as our room wasn’t ready. Sledging was fun near reception but people to take the communal sledges back to their rooms so there’s limited availability. I was told by reception to walk the lower floor of the room blocks and found one there. Food was basic also. Being a vegetarian I struggled. Would be good if they had soy sauce, vinegar etc available on show to help with the blandness. Drinks were very expensive. A bottle of Pepsi is 4euros and alcohol prices were high. We enjoyed the evening kids club which was in basement of hotel from 7.40-9pm. The tui taster sessions were fine and enough for us. I was glad I hadn’t booked full sleigh, snow mobile rides as it was a 50 min ride from the hotel and freezing. Many children were crying because of the cold. It was apparently the coldest it had been all season. Santa could be briefed better ie child’s name and a hobby for instance. My son wasn’t impressed as a previous Santa he saw knew his name and that he loved football so he branded Lapland Santa a fake... THE Santa/ taster experience was lovely in some ways as very unspoilt but I feel a cafe/ shop would be of benefit. The Gala evening was fine and reps pantomime was decent. Widow Twanky and Princess Jasmine stood out. I found some reps very good and others not so much. One rep was quite rude and to our designated Elf - Dazzle ( who was Lovely) People had questions regarding the excursions which the elf was told to take by the rep come get the answer then relay back to the passengers as the rep clearly couldn’t be bothered to get up and answer herself. All in all was glad it is something myself and my son have experienced.

Room Tip: There is a walk involved with lodges. I loved the convenience of the rooms in blocks near the hotel amenities
Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Asdavies78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Visited for two days, hotel/staff were fantastic,food was good and the whole santa clause experience was perfect .. only problem was tui booked me a standard room and not a lag cabin (which i paid for) and there was no log cabins available.. did put a dampener on things and really upset our 7yr ... felt let down by tui

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Terryleah74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

I visited the hotel for 4 days the hotel room was basic but everything you needed the dryer in the bathroom was brilliant the holiday was so stress free everything was organised by the tui staff at the hotel. The hotel was clean food was lovely but only two choices to choose from for your main meal the hotel swimming pool was nice but cold but nice to sit and relax with the built in jet spa then after by a lovely sauna hotel also has free Wi-Fi which is a big thing for alot of people the location is good only 10 minute walk to the local supermarket really enjoyed our time in lapland such a magical place and would recommend to anyone. We couldn't knock anything the break was amazing couldnt of been more special for us.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Byranc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2017 via mobile

Just got back from a 4 night break with partner and kids (11 & 8).
Booked this through Tui almost a year ago and wasn’t cheap but always wanted take kids. The transfer from airport was less than an hour and scenery was amazing.
Told on bus apartment may not be ready till 4 but luckily it was ready straight away.
Second day was taster sessions ( huskies and reindeer) and was a 3 min walk from hotel.
These were both a little disappointing, it was very busy as other people were ferried in from other hotels for same tasters and when you finally had your go it was literally 3-5 mins max. Also there wasn’t many husky looking dogs mostly just normal dogs.
Next we get to the food, we were full board and it was never overly busy at any meal times. There wasn’t masses choice but still adequate. Water and coffee were free with all meals.
Our accommodation was block near reception. Modern but pretty basic, always very warm as had underfloor heating and had a great sauna just off the bathroom.
We didn’t book any excursions through as they were almost double what you could pay by booking yourself direct. We had lovely 20km snowmobile safari with Snowmobile each for just over €220 whilst Tiu wanted almost £500.
We fancied trying skiing just up road but reps didn’t really have much knowledge prices etc so we took the ski bus up from the hotel (€5 each) and sorted ourselves.
On 4th day we had the Santa visit, was about 30mins coach drive to a lovely little village where you got to toboggan, make decorations and biscuits, taster session on snowmobile and finally meet Santa at alotted time. You get around 4/5mins where he asks kids what want and gives them small gift.
Return back hotel where you have hand in all your thermal gear then not long after get picked up take you gala dinner.
This was one worst bits about holiday, don’t expect lovely Xmas dinner it’s just another buffet with long queues and drinks where over priced €11 rum/coke .
The reps where trying best entertain with singing and panto but just wasn’t our cuppa tea. And we were stranded there till pick up near 11pm.
Last morning was pick up and back airport.
Airport was manic and lots flights delayed.

To sum it up it was an amazing experience and would consider doing it again just not via Tiu as you are paying a premium cos they put Santa in their title and then try overcharge for excursions.
Lovely hotel and location though.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank peco1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews