We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sad to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Armas Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Akaslompolo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Armas Cabins
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sad to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2009

I booked this through lastminute for there 10th birthday at £97 each inc flight and hotel, although the deal was not to be sniffed at, I was dubious of living conditions...we arrived on 12th January for a weeks stay with a total of 6 people.

I have to say, I and my traveling compadres were more than pleasantly surprised with the entire package, more so, the cabin.

It was definitely spacious (whoever said it wasn't must have been traveling with a herd of elephants), It was clean fairly modern and had a great selection of cooking utensils and utilities.

I agree with other reviews I have read, that you might not need to light the log fire although with our temperatures of -35, it was occasionally needed.

The TV had great reception for those wishing to watch it but only a few channels in English (take some cards or games - pass the bomb is recommended)

The XC ski track was right outside our door as was the frozen lake we walked on to watch the Northern Lights.

Hotel Akas is 2 minutes up the road and is a good meeting point they are also willing to assist with the cabins, holding keys etc.

The ONLY downer for me was the pillows being slightly flat, no big deal though as most places provide a basic pillow.


Recommended activities are the Ice Fishing with Inghams/Destination Lapland, Snowboarding/Ski-ing (of course), go on a LONG trek into the forests (but be mindful of thin ice on frozen lakes).

All in all I have been blown away with this holiday, it was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone, I have to give Inghams, LastMinute and Villa Armas Cabins a big thumbs up.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BaggsTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BLUJEASHFLY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2008

Luxurious and spacious are not words I would use to describe these cabins..BUT they are a great base to enjoy your holiday from in a fantastic location close to both the village centre, the Akas hotel with all its facilities, the medical centre and the bus stop for excursions and the ski centre.

On arrival I was a little disappointed as they were more basic than the pictures lead you to believe in the brochure and ironically we were in no. 35 - the same cabin as another reviewer here who was unimpressed. It would seem though that perhaps their criticisms were listened to, as the cabin was clean and everything in working order with plenty of cutlery and crockery. The shower managed 5 pretty long hot blasts a day, and with two littlies the washing machine and dryer were well used also with no problems!

My one moan would be that the beds were unmade on arrival which was unreasonable after an arrival time of almost 11pm and the bed linen definately needs updating.

Also with little ones watch out for the steep, narrow interior stairs..but there is a kind of stair gate at the top which was reassuring at night.

If you are thinking of sharing with friends or perhaps grandparents, as we did, also bear in mind that whoever is sleeping on the mezzanine level will be disturbed by those early risers as it is literally right above the kitchen and lounge area and with the cabin quite cosy and bijou already.. lie ins are not frequent!!

That said, it's a wonderful holiday and we were rarely in the cabins with all the excursions and great skiing facilities.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed linen - needs replacing and the beds should be made on arrival!!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank blueashfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2008

We booked a 6 berth cabin for 4 adults with Inghams via their website and it looked nothing like the picture on the outside. They are terraced brick built buildings, nothing cabin like at all.

We arrived at our cabin (35) Villa Armas in the middle of the night after a 7 hour flight delay to find that the accommodation was of a poor standard. The rooms were thick with dust and generally unclean. The beds were unmade which is not ideal when you are absolutely shattered. There was only enough linen for 1 1/2 beds so not a great start. The sauna didn't work, then we found out that there was only enough hot water for 2 peple to have a 3 minute shower together every day, then had to wait several hours to heat up. This was great after a full day skiing! There was not enough crockery in the self catering chalet and we even had to purchase a sharp knife and a tin opener.

To top it all, we complained to the Inghams reps each day but we were completely ignored and nothing was done even though we were promised by 2 of the reps that they would sort it out as our situation was far from ideal.

Be very aware that Inghams are not good value for money when it comes to their excursions. We saved ourselves (4 adults) a fortune by using Lapland Safaris and the excursions can be tailormade for more enjoyment if you wish. The people here are extremely friendly and we had a fantastic experience for half the price of what Inghams were charging.

Finland and in particular Lapland is a fantastc place to go with some of the best people in the world but on talking to others who have experienced problems in the past I would not use Inghams again.

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — It was just rubbish!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank myboyromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2008

We returned to Akaslompolo in Yllas for the second time over the xmas season of 2007.
We stayed in the Villa Armas Cabins.
These semi detached wooden cabins are situated behind the Akas Hotel aka Snow Elf, and you have cross country ski tracks at your door, only 5 mins from the Akas Hotel where you can catch the 718 ski bus to the slopes, 10 mins from the supermarket and approx 25 mins from Lapp Village (home of Santa).
The cabins are very spacious and modern. Wood and pine on the interior with bright rugs on the floor. Blinds up at the window, and very warm temperatures inside too.
As you open the front door you walk into a big open plan area. There is a spacious hall area where you can store jackets and ski boots etc, at the end of the hall area is the washing machine and a huge drying closet (looks like a massive fridge) which nicely warms up your clothes, hats,gloves etc.
To the right as you enter is a good sized twin bedroom with 2 wardrobes. A bit further right was a lovely wet room with 2 power showers and off of here was a glass door which housed the sauna in a small area. Comfortably seat 4 of you.
There was also a cloakroom with loo and wash basin opposite the wet room.
To the left as you enter is the open plan living/dining/kitchen. A comfy L shaped sofa ran round the wall, a dining table for 6 and a good equipped kitchen with dishwasher, fridge freezer, kettle, toaster, coffee maker, oven & hob and all the utensils and crockery. In the lounge area is a wood burning stove (wood is kept outside by your front door). Make sure your damper is open when you light the fire otherwise the cabin fills with smoke!!
There was a combi tv/vcr wall mounted (take your videos wih you).
A wooden spiral staircase takes you to the spacious mezzanine where a double bed is neatly tucked away, and then there is an additional twin bedroom with dressing table and wardrobe and another cloakroom with loo and washbasin.
Plenty big enough for the 4 of us, and once our xmas tree was in, santa stockings hung up and candles lit, it was very homely.
Linen and towels were provided, though you have to make up your beds on arrival. There is no maid service and you don't get fresh towels or linen throughout your stay, so if that's what you like when you are holidaying....these cabins are not for you!

Having already visited Yllas in Dec 2006 we knew where everything was and our visit was for skiing and family time.
We would catch the 718 bus up to the slopes every afternoon and ski until 5pm. We progressed onto blue runs which we were thrilled about as we all only learnt to ski there last year!

On boxing day we took a 2.5 hour snowmobiling trip with snowfun safaris. For the 4 of us it was 158 euros in total for 2 snowmobiles and the kids (7&9) were allowed to sit on the back of them.

We ate at Julli's a couple of times which was as good as ever, highly recommend it.

We went down to Lapp Village too.
They have kids snowmobiles here which you can hire out for 8 euros for 10 minutes. The kids loved the fact they could ride their own!!

Weather was a good temperature throughout the week, Varied from 0 to -9. Snow fell for 2 days which was very magical.
We really like the Finnish people, they are friendly and helpful wherever you go.

Skiing is great, for the complete beginner the resort offers excellent tuition and slopes. The cafe situated on the slopes is usually busy and a bit pricey. Not many lockers available but we like everyone else would leave our stuff somewhere and always come back to it. If you don't want to carry your skis back and forth there is a big blue container where you can store them overnight. The slopes are having building work done to create a bigger area but there is no disruption from what we saw.

Before we went we tried to source a xmas tree but no luck, however when we got there on xmas eve a local guy was selling them for 30euros. He is situated just before the supermarket at a place called yllaksen jopuu cottages. He will deliver them to your accomodation if you wish, but it was much more festive trudging it back on a sledge through the snow!!

Met some other tripadvisor memebers when we were there, and just had a fab week....did'nt want to come home.

This review is for the Villa Armas Cabins they are different to Yllas Log Cabins, but have been unable to post this review elsewhere (tried 3 times)!!!!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank bluebell101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akaslompolo
0.0 mi away
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
#2 of 5 in Akaslompolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#3 of 5 in Akaslompolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 9 in Levi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel YllasHumina
Hotel YllasHumina
#1 of 5 in Akaslompolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Club Saariselka
Holiday Club Saariselka
#4 of 6 in Saariselka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Davvi Arctic Lodge
Davvi Arctic Lodge
#1 of 1 in Karesuvanto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Armas Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Armas Cabins

Property: Villa Armas Cabins
Address: Akaslompolo, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Akaslompolo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Akaslompolo
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Armas Cabins 4.5*
Also Known As:
Villa Armas Cabins Lapland, Finland - Akaslompolo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing