We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
16
5
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
5
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carvings ice reception snow reindeer children sauna
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful hotel to stay in whilst in Finland.
The rooms and food were lovely, had a sauna to use in the main area if so desired!
Drinks at the bar were quite expensive €8 for a small glass of wine.
Visited reindeer, Father Christmas and sledge dogs ( all reasonably priced )
To top the holiday off we had a firework show from the
' Northern Lights '
- stunning and beautiful, this was our 4th holiday in Finnish Lapland.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank susie1717m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

A one-off experience sleeping in a room made of ice and snow. The sleeping bags they give you are really warm and if my sleep was disturbed it was more by getting tangled up in the bag than by the cold. There is a nice Lap teepee where you can sit by the fire before retiring and there is a warm living room with toilets showers and cooking facilities you can use as you wish- a few people gave up on their snow rooms and bunked down on one of the couches in there. Take minimal luggage as everything that's going to be in the room with you overnight will need to go in your sleeping bag or it gets wet. Lockers are provided in reception for the rest of your stuff but you can't get at it overnight- you can leave nonvaluable possessions such as wash kit in the warm room. If you wear glasses bring a case to put them in on the side of the bed. I would recommend a simple room over a suite - the only difference is the artwork and you get to look around before bedtime anyway and as the lights stay on all night the more dimly lit simple rooms are preferable. You can eat and drink either in the ice restaurant or a warm one which is where breakfast (which is excellent)is served.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KEJ1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Really amazing, cold and exciting day at the snow village. Enjoyed the set menu of Lappish delicacies in the restaurant and Schnapps and hot chocolate in the ice bar. Amazing bedrooms. Incredible art. Thankyou especially Rikka for helping us arrange wonderful day out.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank D_n_K_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

We booked a 1 night stay here as part of our honeymoon package. It is absolutely stunning, out of this world! The ice sculptures and whole building changes every year, as it melts and is then rebuilt.

The rooms are all individual and completely silent as you sleep, which is weird as you can hear your heart beating. The sleeping bags provided are very warm and there is a hidden warm room which you can pop to for a hot drink or quick toilet break!

This is a must, an unforgettable experience, and we have the certificate to say we survived the night as proof!

Date of stay: December 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Suzi_Q_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Clearly the highlight of staying in such a place is sleeping in rooms made of snow and ice and eating in the ice restaurant and drinking at the ice bar. We did do all of those things and it was a good experience. The sleeping bags they give you do keep you sufficiently warm (don't worry!) even though I had my doubts and we did get a good night's sleep surprisingly.

The part I wasn't expecting is that it is rather like camping (and not very well organised camping) including having to walk through the snow OUTSIDE (open air) the ice hotel to get to a toilet in the middle of the night. The snow part actually joins onto the main hotel reception, warm restaurant and has a set of toilets and lockers. These are all closed off during the night and instead you need to walk outside in the snow (-20 degrees) to another building called the "warm place" which has one (!) toilet for men and one (!) toilet for women.

The lack of toilets during the night is less of an issue, but noting that everyone gets woken up at the same time of the morning, you can have up to 30 people in the warm place waiting for toilets and showers. Seems there has been some lack of planning in that the women's toilet is combined with the only women's shower, so if someone is using the shower, nobody can use the toilet. There is only a total of 3 showers at the "warm place" to share between many guests. It seemed many people did not bother with a shower as it was all too hard.

The included breakfast was tragic considering the price, though dinner (not included) was reasonably priced (not dissimilar to prices in Levi centre) and good, including wine and drinks.

Overall an interesting experience, just seems there are some things they really could have done better which would have made a big difference.

Room tip: The suites are more spacious and have more ice decoration. The standard double is really a small igloo room with a square ice bed. The sleeping experience is the same and note that until people go to sleep, you are free to wonder through the suites and take photos and lie on the beds anyway.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Brancar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews