We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical holiday”
Review of Hotel Yllasrinne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Yllasrinne
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yllasjarvi
IOM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Magical holiday”
Reviewed 25 December 2008

Just returned from a four night stay at Hotel Yllasrinne Lapland. 13-17 Dec. Wow what an amazing time we had. Had expectations of what it would be like but these didnt even come close to how fantastic it was. My 7 year old son loved it, from sledging down the hill, to dancing with the reps, to burying himself in all the snow. Optional excursions are a must even if a little expensive!! Driving a snowmobile and leading a husky team was something else. Fantastic Cosmos reps who were very helpful and fun throughout. A truly magical trip to see Santa which we'll never forget.

K and J Isle of Man

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IomLotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    7
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Hotelli Yllasrinne, with our two children aged 3 and 8. We booked in January, so had been looking forward to this trip for months. The trip was booked through Cosmos and we travelled via Gatwick. The fun began at the airport with Rudi and Hal, the friendly reindeer and husky who were waiting at checkig to greet us.The fun continued on the flight with chrismas singing to get everyone into the festive spirit. As we landed our daughter exclaimed that this was the best holiday that she had ever been on. The landscape was awesome. Neither of our girls had seen snow before, apart from the odd flutter. Our snow suits were collected at the airport, and the system was fast and efficient. The hotel is isolated. For us this added to the attraction. You drive deep into the forest to reach the hotel and the journey is magical.The hotel is quite traditional and small, but very homely and friendly. It was beautifully warm and comfortable. The rooms were of an adequate size with 2 beds accessed by what can only be described as a glorified ladder. Our 8 year old loved the loft, but it wasn't suitable for the 3 year old. The other two beds were on the ground level.The room had a fridge which we didn,t use and also a t.v. which we didn't watch. The bathroom had a shower (no bath) and a hair dryer. Generally the rooms were very quiet considering the number of children that were staing at the hotel. Every room had a fantastic view of the forest, it really was a winter wonderland. Some rooms had a balcony, but we didn't get one.

The food at the hotel was good. We are luckier than some parents because our girls will eat almost anything. The meals were a buffet afair. There was always a vegetarian option at dinner, plenty of salad, and hot meat and vegetables. Soup, bread and of course chips were also always on the menu. Breakfast was a continental affair, but also had either bacon or scrambled eggs. A 3 course lunch was also provided at the hotel every day. So no-one went hungry. The were also unlimited soft drinks at mealtimes. The bar was always available for snacks and drinks if you needed it. The prices were reasonable too.e.g. 3 euro for a toasted sandwich and side salad. Drinks were more expensive, arounf 5 euro for a glass of wine and slightly more for a beer.

All the cosmos staff worked very hard. They were sticklers for time, but that meant everything ran smoothly.The days were action packed. Every one has the opportunity to have a reindeer and husky ride, as well as snow mobiling, and tobogganing. All these were run within easy walking distance of the hotel and again the rides were all within the magical forest, absolutely beautiful!! There was some travelling to Santas village, which was near Kittila. They do have a web site that is worth a look. There are lots of souveniers available, but most of them were availble cheaper in the souvenier shop and and supermarket in Yllas, which they stop off at on one of the days. Hot berry juice and ginger bread is included on all the excursions.

Be warned to take enough cash with you as you are in a remote area. The hotel will exchange it for you, but the rate isn't very competitive.

Santa made quite and entrance at the last night feast, but I won't spoil that surprise. Our only one disappointment is that we didn't get to see the northern lights as the conditions weren't right. It was relatively warm during our stay (the temp didn't fall below -3 and we did have some heavy snow fall) apparently it needs to be much colder with clear skies

All in all this was a magical holiday and well worth the money. I do have to make a special mention about Charlotte, or Lotty to her friends. She along with all the other reps worked so hard to make this trip rememberable. Our kids were in tears leaving her at the airport (and I am sure she won't mind me mentioning, so was she) So once again a very heart felt thanks to Lotty for all her hard work. We'll definately be back again and I wouldn't change a thing, except maybe the chance to see the northern lights.

  • Liked — Warm, comfortable and friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Whilst we heard great reviews of the log cabins here in Ylassrinne 'village', the hotel was not as great. We stayed in December 2007 which we knew would be busy with kids etc (who ran wild most of the time!). We did want to stay in the log cabins but you need to get in early and pay some sharp prices for one. The hotel was basic and def not a 4 star as we had been told. However, the rooms, whilst not big, were comfy and clean. The biggest let down was the food though and as a fully inclusive four star you'd expect to get some choice and good food. Unfortunately it was just mass produced one meal (or cheap kids meal) 'slop'. It is expensive here as you could imagine and a long way from anywhere. The only other places to eat are in the ski-village (about 45 mins walk) or in Yllas town (though its tiny!) - (about 30 mins walk) where they are pretty expensive but have burgers/pizzas etc. The trips run by the operators are v expensive too but great fun. We'd recommend you try the little office in the complex gounds though and book direct through them if you fancy doing anything like husky-sledding, ski-do riding etc. There is a public bus every now and again which will take you up to the ski-slope if skiing is your thing.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank guitarslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights in a Log cabin just before chirstmas 2007 with a 3 and 5 year old. It is a wonderful place, I was a bit worried that the trip would be a bit tacky and false but it wasnt at all, think this resort helped as it was really quiet. Couldnt fault the Log cabin for 4 of us but it may have been a different story if more of us were staying in the cabin as you have to use a ladder to get to the top floor, think my 3 year old would have struggled with this and I would have been worried if they got up in the middle of the night. We went with Cosmos and I couldnt fault the tour reps at all, the whole operation was very slick and professional. My only major gripe was the food, the adult food was OK, but the kids food was a bit limited and we did struggle to find things that they liked, basically chips and chicken nuggets, pizza that kind of thing. All I can say is thank god for Cucumber, but it was only for 3 days and I havent heard of anybody starving in 3 days. All in all this was a lovely place to stay, a magical experience and everything that I wanted out of a christmas lapland break, Oh and the Father Christmas was a lovely Father Christmas, the traditional type. The activities were good, we didnt actually pay to do anything else, we were just happy playing in the snow. They did seem quite expensive. I would have no problem recommending the Log cabins to stay in, only word of warning was the food, not bad but could have been better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

I have always dreamed of visiting Lapland and in December 2007 I finally got to do it! We have an 8 year old son and decided that this would probably be our last chance to take him so that he could experience the magic of visiting Father Christmas in his home country. We saved and saved and saved up to do this and we were absolutely NOT disappointed. It was the most magical experience in the world and I would recommend everyone tries it.

We booked our experience through Cosmos as following a lot of research I discovered that they have an excellent reputation for this type of holiday as they have been in the market for quite a long time. The holiday from start to finish, the reps, hotel, activities, organisation was first rate and I can't praise it highly enough.

Cosmos have 3 locations to experience Christmas in Lapland and we chose the one we thought would best suit our needs - Yllasjarvi. The photos in the brochure and the description of the area and the hotel seemed perfect for us - quiet, beautiful and lots of snow!! The other main resort in Finnish Lapland is Levi and we did get a look at that one first hand - I was very glad we chose Yllasjarvi - Levi was a bit like Blackpool with snow, our resort was more like Paradise with snow. Only 2 shops and they were a 40 minute walk away, which none of us braved. It was peaceful and idyllic.

The moment you arrive at Gatwick airport check-in you are treated like royalty. There was a red carpet with 'Welcome' written on it at check-in, along with Elves bearing chocolates (at 5am!!), Rudolph the Reindeer, Hal the Husky and a Jester entertained the kids in the queue to check in. The kids were absolutely mesmerized, it was brilliant! All the kids got santa hats and badges and the fun and games continued at the gate (and more chocolate!) - Rudolph and Hal even saw all the kids onto the plane and wished them a happy holiday.

The Cosmos reps were there to meet us at the airport and we were all kitted out for the Arctic weather. We sang christmas songs and played games on the 40 minute transfer to the hotel and the kids even got a quick glimpse of Santa in the forest from the coach - a fantastic and memorable moment.

On arrival at the hotel we were checked in very smoothly. Ok now for the details on the hotel:

Reception & Bar area - small, but very efficient. Drinks were very expensive, but this is normal in Finland wherever you stay.

Rooms - very clean, quite basic and small but we didn't spend that much time in the room, so it really didn't matter. The beds were incredibly comfortable, but I think I could have slept on a washing line as we were so tired at the end of enjoying every day there. We had a small fridge and a television that we were able to watch as they get English speaking programmes/films with Finnish subtitles - result! Only 2 negative comments I would make are that there is insufficient storage considering how much stuff you have to bring with you to keep warm outside, so we didn't even bother unpacking, and you had to be quick with the hot water as it ran out. There were 3 of us and if you got the last shower it ran cold if you weren't quick enough!

Food - we were full board and you get 3 good meals a day. It wasn't that imaginative but we definitely didn't go hungry. The Christmas Gala Feast on the last night was an improvement - a lovely buffet and a proper Christmas dinner - yummy!!

The most fantastic things about the hotel were the breathtaking views from whichever window you happened to look out of and the fact that it was really warm, friendly and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel also has log cabins that you can book instead of the hotel rooms - if I ever go back I would definitely go for one of those. They are larger than the rooms and have a drying room (very useful!), a sauna and a lounge/dining area.

All the activities we enjoyed during this trip were of a high standard and it was just fantastic to watch the children's faces throughout. If any of them went there having doubts about Father Christmas' existence - they went home firm believers. I was even starting to believe it myself it was all so well done.

To finish my review I would say that this is a very expensive 4 day holiday but worth every single penny. I would also recommend Cosmos as their reps are out of this world - special thanks to Jamie (we were in Jamie's Jingles!!) - he was totally brilliant and worked so hard to make sure we enjoyed every moment. The rest of the Cosmos team in resort were fantastic too - thank you all for giving us a holiday and an experience that we will cherish and remember forever.

  • Liked — The warm and friendly atmosphere and the spectacular views all around
  • Disliked — Small rooms with inadequate storage
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank How2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yllasjarvi
5.6 mi away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#3 of 5 in Akaslompolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
#2 of 5 in Akaslompolo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
23.7 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel YllasHumina
Hotel YllasHumina
#1 of 5 in Akaslompolo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
24.4 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
1.5 mi away
Lapland Hotel Saaga
Lapland Hotel Saaga
#1 of 3 in Yllasjarvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Yllasrinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Yllasrinne

Property: Hotel Yllasrinne
Address: Hotellintie 6, Yllasjarvi 95980, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Yllasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Yllasjarvi
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Yllasrinne 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Yllasrinne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yllasrinne Hotel Yllasjarvi
Hotel Yllasrinne Lapland, Finland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing