We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good One Day Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stella di Mare Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Ain Sukhna
Giza
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good One Day Getaway”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I took my mom for an overnight trip to Sokhna for Mother's Day. First thing I noticed is that the sign pointing to Stella on the main road, is located after the entrance which made me drive backwards to enter. The next thing was that the security at the hotel door was so rude and wouldn't let me in with my mom's wrapped present without taking it out of the wrap because he needs to see what's in it for security reasons. These were mainly the two major downsides of the hotel. The price was a little bit on the pricey side but beverages and food outside of the package were quite good value for money. The place is quite good for a one day or an overnight stay, but I don't think I can do with longer time there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yattiyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSDM, Manager at Stella di Mare Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Valued Customer,

many thanks for your positive comments and for your useful tips.

In reference of security issue procedures are dictated from the ministry .

Hoping to see you here soon.

Best regards

Francesco Fontana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    176
    116
    51
    77
See reviews for
325
130
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Giza, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I went with my friends for 2 days . the resort is large and 90 minutes from Cairo . the rooms are small and old fashioned but clean and well equipped . the beach is large but infrequent activities . the pool is large and smart but cannot be heated in case of cold weather.the food is good and healthy but not 5 stars standared . we enjoyed Thalasso spa especially large pool with sea water , partially outdoor, with wonderful Jakouse . we felt that no care about gust satisfaction .generally , the resort is good for short vacations but without much expectations .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_laimoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSDM, Manager at Stella di Mare Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for you positive comments although let me apologize if you did not fell pampered by our staff which are trained to keep the Hotel atmosphere friendly and at the same time reserved.

Hoping to see you soon.

Best regards

Francesco Fontana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We hit to this hotel after a terrible experience in Porto Sokhna and we were amazed with the great hospitality , amazing atmosphere , really it's the place you can relax an forget everything.
Breakfast was average but dinner was lovely as I found lots of yummy Sushi :) me & my family decided to plan for another short trip very soon as my kids enjoyed all the beach activities ,, I can't wait till the coming trip,,,,

Room Tip: Suit no 3087 nice view and great furniture with spacious space . U will find great privacy with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loka04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSDM, Manager at Stella di Mare Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

many thanks for your positive comment it is our pleasure to have satisfy you self and your dear family.

Warmest regards

Freancesco Fontana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Read as many reviews here and Expedia also before you come here
It took me 100 min drive from Cairo door to door which is the main advantage of this hotel. The hotel is right on the beach and it has a nice large pool. They also have very nice spa. But..
The rooms are small and getting old. The hotel is U shape and the pool is inside. Only the edges on the U are the "real" see view. The rooms on the outside of the U are garden/partial sea view. The rooms on the inside of the U are pool/partial sea view. We decided to spend more money so we took the largest suite at the edge of the U. It was $550 half-board for 4 persons which is OK, but not certainly not cheap for Egypt.

Beach/Pool
Most of the clientele are rather conservative Egyptians which makes any lady in bikini feel uncomfortable. Service is OK but not great. You need to fight for a table for breakfast and dinner. The food is OK but certainly not 5* standard. The beach has enough capacity, but you need to find the guy who guard the precious cushions, same for towels. The beach has some annoying flies during morning time. The gardens has mosquitos in the evening. They do spray the whole hotel every evening to repel mosquitos.

Rooms
The hotel would not be rated 5 stars in any country..I would agree with some other reviews below. This should be rated 3/4. The rooms are rather tight, That's why I paid for the suite. The furniture is old and the cheaper type. No wired or wireless internet in this hotel.

There is nothing outside the hotel within 10 miles. You have to eat all your meals in the same restaurant in the hotel. They don't allow any food or drinks from outside, including water. They do actually search any larger ladies handbags looking for food !!

It is nice and peaceful place. I think I may come again. I will try first the nearby Movenpick. This hotel cater for the people living in Cairo. There are much better choices if you are willing to drive longer or fly to Sharm or Hughada.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSDM, Manager at Stella di Mare Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

many thanks for your comments which are of vital importance for us to improve more and more.

See you soon at Stella Grand.

Best regards

Francesco Fontana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The hotel is very nice. I went there more than 3 times and I go every christmas and I went once during summertime. They have fantastic food, lovely entertainment and the best animation team ever. Everytime I go there, I make new friends from that team. As a 14 year old, I really enjoy the hotel. The only downside is the rules concerning the pool. I understand very well why a 5-star hotel would ban people from swimming with their clothes on. But, I do not understand why they would ban long swimming suits. We were swimming with my mother who is veiled when this man came and told her to get out along with other veiled women. For a second, she kept asking why and tried to explain to that man that she is wearing a swimming suit made of the exact same material as the others. There was even a Swiss woman that stood by mom's side and compared her swimsuit to my mom's. Refusing to lose her dignity, mom got out respectfully out of the water and asked to get an appointment with the hotel manager. The hotel manager, Mr Fransesco Fontana if I'm not wrong, simply explained this rule by saying that people choose to swim with their clothes which is not sanitary whatsoever so to make it easier for them they decided to ban all long swimsuits and similar things such as wetsuits and so on. She explained to him again that her swimming suit was made of actual swimming suit fabric. So the manager nonchalantly replied by saying that they do not have an expert to determine that therefore long swimming suits are banned. She then told him ok, but that they only escort veiled women from the pool and not people in wetsuits or clothes. He gave her his email and told her to send him pictures of people who were doing so and she accepted. He told her to go to the beach instead. She did send him the pictures. And surprisingly, when we went to the beach only to find that among the beach rules it is written " No long swimming suits" yet no one said anything so it was ok. Other than this issue, the hotel is wonderful. But it would be great if they warm the pool during the winter. And the pool floor is very harsh.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with view on the beach and pool, they're wonderful. If you pick a triple room, be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jaz Hotels and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ranashaalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSDM, Manager at Stella di Mare Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

many thanks for your positive comments and feedback , we always strive to deliver the best services ever.

See you soon at Stella Grand.

Best regards

Francesco Fontana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

It is a wonderful place, causy atmosphere, great hospitality, excellent housekeeping, waiters are so cooperative and friendly - A BIG THANK YOU for all the team.

I just have one concern; it is so weird and inconvenient to have to pay separate fees to have access to the spa facility ! this is the only dis-satisfactory aspect there.

Room Tip: Each and every room has a great taste,, ones have wonderful view, others are really quiet, but all o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSDM, Manager at Stella di Mare Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

many thanks for your positive comments.

See you soon at Stella Grand.

Best regards

Francesco Fontana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suez, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stella is the most valuable Hotel in Sukhna , and it's a very good place for a family vacation ,you will find peace and quiet specially in winter , but I believe that it's not a good value for money and also the stuff need to be more friendly specially the reception guys

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monem84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMSDM, Manager at Stella di Mare Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

thanks for your favorable comments and apologies if we gave you the impression that we are to serious however a professional behavior it is a must from our staff.

Thanks again for choosing us for your leisure time , hoping to see you soon.

Best regards

Francesco Fontana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ain Sukhna hotels
0.2 mi away
Stella Di Mare Sea Club Hotel, Ain Sukhna
2.7 mi away
Teda Swiss Inn Plaza Hotel Ain Soukhna
0.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Golf Hotel, Ain Sukhna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Jaz Little Venice Golf Resort
30.6 mi away
Cancun Sokhna Beach Resort Managed by Accorhotels
26.2 mi away
Porto South Beach
Porto South Beach
#2 of 26 in Ain Sukhna
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella di Mare Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella di Mare Grand Hotel

Property: Stella di Mare Grand Hotel
Address: Km 46 Suez-Hurgada Road | Red Sea, Ain Sukhna 351, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Ain Sukhna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ain Sukhna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ain Sukhna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella di Mare Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect destination for leisure and conventions, the resort is nestled within beautiful surroundings and close to many historic sites.It enjoys the benefit of an extensive private beach and pristine calm water, ideal for sun-bathing or water-sports.Experience our restaurants and bars , a large wonderfully landscaped swimming pool and Thalasso Spa center.We have an 18 holes golf course, tennis courts, diving center,Squash courts and for the little ones a daily kids club run by our professional animation team.Life entertainment every night .......and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Stella di Mare Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Di Mare Grand Hotel Egypt/Ain Sukhna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing