We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paradise So Close to Cairo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella di Mare Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stella di Mare Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Ain Sukhna
Veghel, Holland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise So Close to Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

After a bad trip in Cairo I found this hotel through Trip Advisor. Tucked away away behind a gated community of upper class condos and villas is a really wonderful resort, three resorts actually. The Pool was amazing it is made to look like a lagoon and they did a great job. It is large and has shallow ends for the kids.

The food was great, breakfast and dinner were included and they had a buffet of different foods each morning and night. You won't go hungry.

The hotel offers different restaurants on the resort and we ate lunch at the Beach Club a few times. It was priced very reasonably.

The rooms were roomy and the bathrooms were large and clean.

The staff were very helpful and service was prompt. The A/C was really noisy when we got there but they called maintance and it was fixed within 20 minutes.

The have all sorts of activities for young and old and a 5 Star PADI dive Center on site that has a variety of courses for kids through to adults and Pro Courses as well.

My 10 year old daughter took the DSD course through them and worked with Ahmed. He was really great with her, paitent and you can tell he is passionate about what he does by the effort he puts into it. She first went for a two hour lesson in the test pool at the sister Beach Club and in the afternoon was checked out in the sea on Dolphin Reef. I went with her and it was the ultimate Mother/Daughter expereince. Thanks Ahmed!

The staff at the dive center are all really great and of course the Dive Center Manager, I called him Mr. Italia, but his name is Maurice speaks, English, Italian and French so no worries about language problems. The equipment is in great shape and they have a very nice and organized equipment room. All being run very smoothly!

I missed the beach, awesome white sand, lots of umbrellas and the staff are not holding out there hand all the time for a tip! They will bring your chair cushion to where your sitting and make sure your comfortable. They have an activity staff that are all multi lingual and will ask and not push you to particiapte in a whole lot of great activities.

There are no flags on the beach to tell you if it is ok to swim because you can walk out along way before it get's deep. So don't worry about asking the staff if it is ok to swim. LOL

When low tide has arrived you can walk all over and look for shells and see jelly fish and other small marine life.

Not much more I can say....it was great!

Well Done Staff of Stella Grand Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennx604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    169
    100
    47
    63
See reviews for
283
120
10
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

After plenty of researching and use of this website, I decided to go ahead and book this hotel (through Virgin Holidays). It seemed to be a way of combining the sightseeing of the pyramids whilst being able to relax on a beech in a resort, which is what we wanted. The resort is about 1.5 to 2 hours from the airport in Cairo but this journey was not too bad since airport transfers were included as part of the package.

We had a pool view room on the top floor from which you could also see the sea. The rooms were decent in size and we had no complaints. The landscaped swimming pool is huge and was great to lounge by as well as going for a dip. Though a word of warning on sharp rock edges to the pool where the water is suddenly very shallow and you can find yourself grazing your knees as my wife did (even though I warned just before she did it!!).

On to the beach - if you want to chill out, with not that many people crammed onto a beach, then this is the place. There are hundreds of sun beds for you to take your pick. The water is warm and you have to walk out quite far before it starts to get deeper. there are no negatives to this and if you aren't a confident swimmer then its ideal for you. For those who want to dive in swim about, it just means you have to walk out a little further than usual. Occasionally there is music (all types) playing on the beach. It didnt bother us, but if it does bother you, then you have the option of just moving further down the beach away from the music.

Breakfast was good, consisting of a large buffet style arrangement with plenty of choice. We were on the half board, so dinner was also catered for. There is a beach side snack bar where you can get chips, burgers etc for a reasonable price. There are two other resturants, which are not included on the half board - an italian resturant next to the pool and a fish resturant on the beach if you want to try somethign different. We didnt manage to go to the Italian but the fish resturant was excellent.

One of my favourite features of the hotel is the Shisha corner towards the front of the hotel which opens in the evenings. a great place just to chill out under the stars while having your beer or smoking your pipe or both :) The staff were attentative most of the time, sometimes you have to repeat yourself as they can forget what you asked them for but hey its not big deal. I have read some of the negative reviews on this place regarding the staff and all i can say is those people need to get a life if all it took was a mis-communication to upset you. English is not their first language and as long as you understand that then you shouldnt have a problem.

We booked an excursion though the hotel to go to Cairo and see pyramids etc. this is not cheap but then you shoudnt expect an excursion to a place that is 2 hours away to be cheap either. It was a reasonable cost and is definitley much much cheaper than booking through the tour operators. We crammed everything into one day, left the hotel at 9:30 in a taxi with a driver we had for the day(included as part of excursion), arrived at Cairo for 11:00 where we met with our personal tour guide Muhammad, who was simply excellent - if only i had his details i would pass them on to you all!! The hotel had various excursions but surprisingly there was not one which combined the tour of the Giza pyramids and the Museum - i guess this was a ploy to make you book two separate excursions. Bearing in mind it was 2 hours from resort, we did not want to come out twice. We sacrificed the Museum, only for our tour guide to offer taking us there anyway, because he thought other parts of the hotel excursion were too repetative and due to the fact that is was 45degC that day, he thought it be best to be in the air conditioned musuem. this was a great result for us beacuse we got what we wanted and it probably suited him better to.

The pyramids are simply amazing, quite a humbling experience. After that we did the museum, which beacuse it was off peak season (summer) was not as packed as usual which was good. The knowledge of our tour guide was bewildering and made the tour much much more enjoyable. The museum is soo big, its a must in my view to have a tour guide who can show you the best bits.

Lunch was included as part of the tour. We ended our day ,with an evening cruise on the nile which included a buffet meal and live entertainment. This again was excellent, but heres where the one negative of his whole holiday came into play. It was the first day of eating away from the resort, and yes i got sick! luckly it was a 24hr thing but it still put a slight dampner on things all the same. I can only suggest that you dont eat meat outside of the resort no matter how tempting it is!!

I have written an essay without realising! i hope i have got all key points across. Although it was a very tiring. long day in Cairo, my personel opinion is that is the best way to do it. Cairo is far too busy, overpopulated, hot, dusty, dangerous (driving that is) for my liking. One day there was more than enough more me as the pyramids were the main reason for going there. Final tip - bargaining with locals is essential, beware of people outside tourist attractions who trying selling you thigns, just walk away and ignore. If you do speak to them, be firm.

Summarisng, the hotel is great, less touristy than the likes of Sharm El Sheik, better during the weekdays when there are less people about. On weekends, it seems a place where families from Cairo come down for a weekend break, which didnt affect us. All in all, a great first trip to Egypt!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sab187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

we had 5 nights at the hotel, the staff were very helpful, food was excellent. Our room was in the south arm of the hotel near the beach looking south.It gets busy on the Thursday/Fridays - only 2 hours from Cairo.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Great Hotel, very high quality with helpful staff all done to a very high standard. One of the best house reefs I have ever seen (even a 3 metre Manta at the jetty one day!) Fantastically professional and well equipped Dive centres for ALL skill levels with great staff. Normally we would not have engaged with "animators" but the skill with which they knew to either leave you alone or gently include people was a lesson in people skills. The only minor downsides was that the singers that came on at 7pm on the outdoor stage were so loud, you could not have a conversation - a shame as we were there when the temperatures were perfect for sitting outside, but we ended up sitting inside to chat! And we did get the Taba belly - and we did not eat outside of the hotel so.......the ice was fine but we stopped the fruit and salad - again a shame as it was so tasty, but got better for the latter week.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diver1460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We are just back from a weeks stay at the Stella Di Mare and had a great time. The staff are very friendly and most of them can speak good English. The Restaurant Manager Ashif deserves a special mention he will go out of his way to help and would check with us every day if we had any problems.
I have read some of the reviews already on here and feel people are being unfair. This hotel is an Egyptian 5 star not a European 5 star so think people have just ben expecting too much. Virgin rate it as a 3.5 which i think is very fair and if the hotel improve a few little details this could easily become a 4.
The rooms are large with air con which can get a little noisy at night but if you put it on low it's fine. The rooms are cleaned every day and you get fresh linen and towels every day as well, if i was being picky they could mop a little more and pay more attention to the corners but this is me being picky.
The hotel is popular with locals on a thursday - saturday, was quiet the rest of the time.
The buffet restaurant had a good selection of food altho if you have picky children you may struggle. Only thing that could be improved on is the tempreture of the food it was usual just warm not hot, we got the impresion this is how the egyptians like it so left a comment with the manager that Europeans prefer piping hot food.
Location is quiet and in the middle of no where but that suited us just fine, transfer to Cairo is 1hr in a taxi, 2 hours with travel company bus.
The entertainment team deserve a mention as they do try but wasn't to our cup of tea. Daytime activities were good but evening no so much.
The pool side bar serve food at lunch time and it's lovely, average price for a meal was 30 egyptian pounds, soft drinks were 8 and a beer was 10.50.
There is no where to buy snacks so take your own but we have suggested it to them so with any luck this will change.
A visit to the Spa is a must it's great.
We hope to holiday here again

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandmrsrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We spent four days at the Stella di Mare at the end of our holiday and enjoyed every second of it. Our room had a huge king sized bed and a balcony overlooking the gardens and was spotless. (We had swans and flower petals on our bed after the cleaner had been!)
I have to admit it was busy there on the Firday and Saturday with the locals from Cairo there, but it wasn't so packed you couldn't find a place by the pool or the beach. The pool itself is amazing.
The food was lovely. My husband says the Italian reataurant served the best steak he's ever had!!
I would definitely return to this hotel if I was in need of dome R&R.

Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesTraveller247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Every thing was perfect, the food,the service,the location,the view,the animation team and finally the weather was good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hany_Gouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ain Sukhna hotels
0.2 mi away
Stella Di Mare Sea Club Hotel, Ain Sukhna
30.6 mi away
Cancun Beach Resort
Cancun Beach Resort
#16 of 23 in Ain Sukhna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
17.5 mi away
Porto Sokhna Resort & Spa
Porto Sokhna Resort & Spa
#21 of 23 in Ain Sukhna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Golf Hotel, Ain Sukhna
3.7 mi away
Jaz Little Venice Golf Resort
2.7 mi away
Teda Swiss Inn Plaza Hotel Ain Soukhna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella di Mare Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella di Mare Grand Hotel

Property: Stella di Mare Grand Hotel
Address: Km 46 Suez-Hurgada Road | Red Sea, Ain Sukhna 351, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Ain Sukhna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ain Sukhna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ain Sukhna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Stella di Mare Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 293
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect destination for leisure and conventions, the resort is nestled within beautiful surroundings and close to many historic sites.It enjoys the benefit of an extensive private beach and pristine calm water, ideal for sun-bathing or water-sports.Experience our restaurants and bars , a large wonderfully landscaped swimming pool and Thalasso Spa center.We have an 18 holes golf course, tennis courts, diving center,Squash courts and for the little ones a daily kids club run by our professional animation team.Life entertainment every night .......and much much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stella di Mare Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stella Di Mare Grand Hotel Egypt/Ain Sukhna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing