We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stella di Mare Grand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
El Jabal Sokhna Hotel(Ain Sukhna)(Great Value!)
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Stella Di Mare Golf Hotel, Ain Sukhna(Ain Sukhna)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Ocean Sokhna Hotel and Resort(Ain Sukhna)(Great Value!)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Teda Swiss Inn Plaza Hotel Ain Soukhna(Ain Sukhna)(Great Value!)
US$55
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elite Residence Tulip Ain Soukhna(Ain Sukhna)(Great Value!)
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Porto South Beach(Ain Sukhna)(Great Value!)
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
855 results
Traveller rating
370
207
131
55
92
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
370
207
131
55
92
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstella di mareanimation teamrelaxing vacationgarden viewain sokhnabreakfast and dinnerprivate beachmain restaurantclean beachhalf boardvery nice hotelkids clubopen buffetdelicious foodspecial thanksnice pooldana
Filter
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 855 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2010

The Stella Di Mare is simply the best hotel experience I have ever had. The staff, management, location, facilities, rooms, and food are all outstanding... if in any doubt- Trust me, this is one holiday you will remember forever for all the right reasons.....BOOK IT NOW!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sixhappyholidayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

After a bad trip in Cairo I found this hotel through Trip Advisor. Tucked away away behind a gated community of upper class condos and villas is a really wonderful resort, three resorts actually. The Pool was amazing it is made to look like a lagoon and they did a great job. It is large and has shallow ends for the kids.

The food was great, breakfast and dinner were included and they had a buffet of different foods each morning and night. You won't go hungry.

The hotel offers different restaurants on the resort and we ate lunch at the Beach Club a few times. It was priced very reasonably.

The rooms were roomy and the bathrooms were large and clean.

The staff were very helpful and service was prompt. The A/C was really noisy when we got there but they called maintance and it was fixed within 20 minutes.

The have all sorts of activities for young and old and a 5 Star PADI dive Center on site that has a variety of courses for kids through to adults and Pro Courses as well.

My 10 year old daughter took the DSD course through them and worked with Ahmed. He was really great with her, paitent and you can tell he is passionate about what he does by the effort he puts into it. She first went for a two hour lesson in the test pool at the sister Beach Club and in the afternoon was checked out in the sea on Dolphin Reef. I went with her and it was the ultimate Mother/Daughter expereince. Thanks Ahmed!

The staff at the dive center are all really great and of course the Dive Center Manager, I called him Mr. Italia, but his name is Maurice speaks, English, Italian and French so no worries about language problems. The equipment is in great shape and they have a very nice and organized equipment room. All being run very smoothly!

I missed the beach, awesome white sand, lots of umbrellas and the staff are not holding out there hand all the time for a tip! They will bring your chair cushion to where your sitting and make sure your comfortable. They have an activity staff that are all multi lingual and will ask and not push you to particiapte in a whole lot of great activities.

There are no flags on the beach to tell you if it is ok to swim because you can walk out along way before it get's deep. So don't worry about asking the staff if it is ok to swim. LOL

When low tide has arrived you can walk all over and look for shells and see jelly fish and other small marine life.

Not much more I can say....it was great!

Well Done Staff of Stella Grand Hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennx604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

After plenty of researching and use of this website, I decided to go ahead and book this hotel (through Virgin Holidays). It seemed to be a way of combining the sightseeing of the pyramids whilst being able to relax on a beech in a resort, which is what we wanted. The resort is about 1.5 to 2 hours from the airport in Cairo but this journey was not too bad since airport transfers were included as part of the package.

We had a pool view room on the top floor from which you could also see the sea. The rooms were decent in size and we had no complaints. The landscaped swimming pool is huge and was great to lounge by as well as going for a dip. Though a word of warning on sharp rock edges to the pool where the water is suddenly very shallow and you can find yourself grazing your knees as my wife did (even though I warned just before she did it!!).

On to the beach - if you want to chill out, with not that many people crammed onto a beach, then this is the place. There are hundreds of sun beds for you to take your pick. The water is warm and you have to walk out quite far before it starts to get deeper. there are no negatives to this and if you aren't a confident swimmer then its ideal for you. For those who want to dive in swim about, it just means you have to walk out a little further than usual. Occasionally there is music (all types) playing on the beach. It didnt bother us, but if it does bother you, then you have the option of just moving further down the beach away from the music.

Breakfast was good, consisting of a large buffet style arrangement with plenty of choice. We were on the half board, so dinner was also catered for. There is a beach side snack bar where you can get chips, burgers etc for a reasonable price. There are two other resturants, which are not included on the half board - an italian resturant next to the pool and a fish resturant on the beach if you want to try somethign different. We didnt manage to go to the Italian but the fish resturant was excellent.

One of my favourite features of the hotel is the Shisha corner towards the front of the hotel which opens in the evenings. a great place just to chill out under the stars while having your beer or smoking your pipe or both :) The staff were attentative most of the time, sometimes you have to repeat yourself as they can forget what you asked them for but hey its not big deal. I have read some of the negative reviews on this place regarding the staff and all i can say is those people need to get a life if all it took was a mis-communication to upset you. English is not their first language and as long as you understand that then you shouldnt have a problem.

We booked an excursion though the hotel to go to Cairo and see pyramids etc. this is not cheap but then you shoudnt expect an excursion to a place that is 2 hours away to be cheap either. It was a reasonable cost and is definitley much much cheaper than booking through the tour operators. We crammed everything into one day, left the hotel at 9:30 in a taxi with a driver we had for the day(included as part of excursion), arrived at Cairo for 11:00 where we met with our personal tour guide Muhammad, who was simply excellent - if only i had his details i would pass them on to you all!! The hotel had various excursions but surprisingly there was not one which combined the tour of the Giza pyramids and the Museum - i guess this was a ploy to make you book two separate excursions. Bearing in mind it was 2 hours from resort, we did not want to come out twice. We sacrificed the Museum, only for our tour guide to offer taking us there anyway, because he thought other parts of the hotel excursion were too repetative and due to the fact that is was 45degC that day, he thought it be best to be in the air conditioned musuem. this was a great result for us beacuse we got what we wanted and it probably suited him better to.

The pyramids are simply amazing, quite a humbling experience. After that we did the museum, which beacuse it was off peak season (summer) was not as packed as usual which was good. The knowledge of our tour guide was bewildering and made the tour much much more enjoyable. The museum is soo big, its a must in my view to have a tour guide who can show you the best bits.

Lunch was included as part of the tour. We ended our day ,with an evening cruise on the nile which included a buffet meal and live entertainment. This again was excellent, but heres where the one negative of his whole holiday came into play. It was the first day of eating away from the resort, and yes i got sick! luckly it was a 24hr thing but it still put a slight dampner on things all the same. I can only suggest that you dont eat meat outside of the resort no matter how tempting it is!!

I have written an essay without realising! i hope i have got all key points across. Although it was a very tiring. long day in Cairo, my personel opinion is that is the best way to do it. Cairo is far too busy, overpopulated, hot, dusty, dangerous (driving that is) for my liking. One day there was more than enough more me as the pyramids were the main reason for going there. Final tip - bargaining with locals is essential, beware of people outside tourist attractions who trying selling you thigns, just walk away and ignore. If you do speak to them, be firm.

Summarisng, the hotel is great, less touristy than the likes of Sharm El Sheik, better during the weekdays when there are less people about. On weekends, it seems a place where families from Cairo come down for a weekend break, which didnt affect us. All in all, a great first trip to Egypt!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sab187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

we had 5 nights at the hotel, the staff were very helpful, food was excellent. Our room was in the south arm of the hotel near the beach looking south.It gets busy on the Thursday/Fridays - only 2 hours from Cairo.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

Great Hotel, very high quality with helpful staff all done to a very high standard. One of the best house reefs I have ever seen (even a 3 metre Manta at the jetty one day!) Fantastically professional and well equipped Dive centres for ALL skill levels with great staff. Normally we would not have engaged with "animators" but the skill with which they knew to either leave you alone or gently include people was a lesson in people skills. The only minor downsides was that the singers that came on at 7pm on the outdoor stage were so loud, you could not have a conversation - a shame as we were there when the temperatures were perfect for sitting outside, but we ended up sitting inside to chat! And we did get the Taba belly - and we did not eat outside of the hotel so.......the ice was fine but we stopped the fruit and salad - again a shame as it was so tasty, but got better for the latter week.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diver1460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews