We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disapointed hotel who is cutting cost like hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Porto Sokhna Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Ain Sukhna
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“disapointed hotel who is cutting cost like hell”
Reviewed 16 April 2011

well today is 16 april and i m still in porto sukhna hotel , first of all i reserved a room in the hotel when i arrived i discovered it has turned to be an appartement with the same rate without notify me at alll before i came and the funny thing that before my arrival with 2 days they called me to notify me taht all the elevator in the hotels are down and maybe they will not be fixed so they would llike to transfer me to another hotel ( i refused and i knew it was a game due they are overbooking because does not amke sense taht all teh elevator down in the same moment and they can not fix them in 2 days ) , si finally i arrived and i accepted the apartement , first foods are terrible no choice at all it is suppose to be open buffet but u stuck with no variaty and u wait for refill when food is finish and it is long queue and no place tp stay in teh restaurant and all the people are complaing that the plates are dirty and the meat is so cheap quality to make it short they are deducting cost llike hell , second thing most of the lighting beside the pools are shut down to save cost so no lighting u walk in the dark , third thinng from every 3 elevator 1 is used only in the building the other 2 is closed to deduct cost , thirs thing the comic thing that room service has came at 8 o'clock at night to make the apartement and gues what he does not have soap nor towels nor klinex , so how come???? and the funny thing that he has took the soap and the towels from our apartement and when we complain he said this is teh rules that he must take the unclean towel and teh used soap but he does not have any of them to replace , soo we must wach our hand with water and put them in the sun to dry , comic really comic things i amm seeing in a hotel suppose to be rated 5 stars , what else to sayy of course there is no customers at all in it and he is making promotion like hell to attrack people but without use , guest represenet only 20% of his capacity and the most weird thing that when was reserving the room in the beging they said sorry we are fully booked and i stayed in waiting queue after 3 days they found a room , i dont know really what is going on with this hotel , if you got a promotio rate go ahead the normal rate doe snot deserveand not worth to stay at all and be prepare for any things like i faced it

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egyptmmx2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    111
    98
    61
    133
See reviews for
332
68
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I went there with my mother, she had a business conference over there, which was ok.

about the hotel:
1. Rooms: there are 2 types of rooms, either on one floor of long stretch over the building with the lobby overlooking the beach, that was where we stayed, rooms are really nice, comfy and really spacious, but they could be noisy if you keep the window open, and has an AMAZING bathroom with a bathtub and a shower unit, with a hair dryer. The other rooms are in the main building which is really HUGE, but to be honest I don't know about those rooms, they overlook the pool, and I think the high floor ones could see the beach.

2. The restaurants: There's a main restaurant in the hotel where we had dinner. It's small, The food was ok, had an omlette station in breakfast buffet and pasta station in dinner's. but there was a huge problem in both days on dinner, we stood there for like 15 minutes waiting for waiters to bring empty plates for the buffet. People started getting really annoyed and we were seriously thinking of not eating there the next day but it was already paid for.
I think they didn't care enough for the hotel's restaurant because there's a number of famous restaurants and cafes on the hotel's stretch, unfortunately, we were not aware of that fact when we went there, we could have used it.

3. Shopping: There's a hyper market right next to the hotel which includes almost EVERYTHING, because the hotel has residential units. and there are a number of stores, clothing, pharmacy, furniture, and music.

4. Pools: There are about 4 or 5 pools in the resort, There's a very big one and a number of smaller ones. however FYI vieled women (islamic bathing suit) are not allowed except in one of them. There's a kids playground right next the main pool.

5. Beach: There's a bridge connecting the hotel to the beach, because there's the highway between them, however when we were there, the bridge was not yet completed, and the beach looked deserted, I don't think it was open back then.

Overall, this hotel is great for 2 nights maximum, however it could be more fun if you had a group, you could spend time together playing or so. The rooms are definitely the best thing about that hotel. But to be honest, I won't go there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hi_there2080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

Just been Back from Porto Sokhna resort, the hotel is very nice,rooms are clean and organized food is really nice and the best thing I found is the staff.

Every team member was smiling, frindly and very welcoming...we can not mention one name as all of them were more thann great.

We will shortly be back

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KHSH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dalton, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Great experience to visit Porto ,With my family we enjoyed the place
it is nice views and good place to relax

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aradwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6October
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Please find the following sugeestions that need to be implemented there:
1. Staff Training to get the serve btter, not only to say Sorry.
2. Need at least one warm swimming pool in winter.
3. Need to improve also the kitchen meals and stuffs.

My trip was very neared to be spoiled before meeting Mr. Essam (Facility Manager) whol really did his best to make me satisfied with this trip, I recommend him to be P.R. Manager also

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaa6October
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

Booked a day-use to get away from Cairo noise and pollution, extremely disappointing. Was told that day-use cabins are on the ground floor and walk out to the pool. That of course was not the case. Were given a room on the second level where construction workers are still working on this floor. No beach access. Tried to order a drink, and was informed that the hotel is 100% dry !!! where is that mentioned on the website??!! Ordered lunch it too 1 hr 45 minutes to have two sandwiches. Will never go back or recommend to anyone. No beach access

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hasman3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ain Sukhna hotels

Cairo
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2010

It was a great experience to go to Ain EL Sokhna, which is actually a place to relax, Porto Sokhna has a good thing, that you can have either a marvelous place to relax with the nice views, or you can have a good booming night at the nice varieties of the cafes and restaurants.. really they were a memorable days.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nada2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ain Sukhna hotels
9.0 mi away
Porto South Beach
Porto South Beach
#3 of 26 in Ain Sukhna
485 reviews
13.2 mi away
Cancun Sokhna Beach Resort Managed by Accorhotels
18.7 mi away
Teda Swiss Inn Plaza Hotel Ain Soukhna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Jaz Little Venice Golf Resort
17.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Sea Club Hotel, Ain Sukhna
301.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort El Sokhna
Movenpick Resort El Sokhna
#2 of 26 in Ain Sukhna
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Sokhna Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Sokhna Beach Resort

Property: Porto Sokhna Beach Resort
Address: Zafarana Road, Ain Sukhna, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Ain Sukhna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ain Sukhna
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ain Sukhna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Sokhna Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Service apartments are managed by Porto world Hotels & Resorts. Any other apartments rented through 3rd parties are not under the hotel liability and responsibility ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Porto Sokhna Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Sokhna Resort And Spa
Porto Sokhna Hotel Ain Sukhna
Porto Sokhna Beach Resort Egypt/Ain Sukhna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing