We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet But Nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alcazaba Mar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alcazaba Mar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Retamar
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Quiet But Nice”
Reviewed 31 October 2008

WE booked this hotel as a very late last minute deal .It was OK for what we needed, a complete relaxing chill out. The weather was fantastic sunny every day averaging 28deg.The first part of our week was very quiet especially around the pool (only one was open as it was low season). There were loads of Spanish retired folk on their freebee holidays and they never use the pools or sun beds. At the weekend the hotel filled up with long weekender's so was rather loud and raucous as there were a lot of Children.

The staff were lovely very helpful at reception, very good service at the bars and restaurant.
The drinks were served in dreadful bendy polythene tumblers if you wanted to sit out side on the terrace. I can understand this in the daytime in case you take them around the pool but not at night.

The Rooms were good, very clean every thing you needed but lacking a fridge. The safe is extra they take 20 euros deposit charge 2 euros a night then give you back your change when you check out.

The food was very good always loads of choice and nicely cooked. Sometimes it was a little cool but there was a microwave if you needed it warmer. There was always loads of salad and fruit to choose from and lovely fresh bread and rolls.

The entertainment at night was dire. Bingo and the Conga and a guy who was always dressing up as a woman and running about all over the place!!!! it didn’t bother us out on the Terrace though.

The hotel is in a very quiet but nice area. The bus stops on the main road out side the hotel .It is less than 1 euro into Almeria and takes about 30 minutes. It’s a nice town to walk around.

If you don’t speak Spanish you will need a phrase book as it’s a very Spanish area and not many people speak any English at all, not even in the banks. If you need to change sterling cash you have to take your passport with you to the bank.
The Taxi from the airport was 16 euros each way.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maudie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    83
    93
    56
    124
See reviews for
245
55
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2008

My sister in law and I stayed in this hotel for a 4 night short break , the hotel was great, friendly staff, and food good . Not much entertainment as it was early season and the hotel had less than 40 guest. Rooms and public areas were spotless. It could do with a fridge in the room. We stayed all inclusive and had plenty of choice of food and drink . Not much of a resort only a handful of bars and 1 supermarket , but as a quick cheap get away i would not hesitate to book this hotel again.

  • Liked — Near to airport
  • Disliked — resort
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ragdoll38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2008

We arrived at this newly built hotel and resort to find a clean and bright reception, The receptionist spoke english and was very happy and helpfull. We were upgraded to a junior suite, which was large and very bright with 2 balconies, heating and air con.
All the public areas were spotless.
As it was out of season there were only a few of us staying in the hotel so understandibly the entertainment and extras such as snacks were not put on but three meals a day were served in the restaurant which i felt let the hotel down, it was clean and staff efficient and friendly the food was good and varied if a little cold but here is a microwave to warm the food up to your prefered heat, this is not fault of the hotel but the way the spanish eat their food. what i didnt like about the restaurant was its canteen style all square tables set out in lines, paper table cloths on top of cotton.
The swimming pool is large and a good number of free sunbeds.
In the summer when the water games are in place they have a seperate sports pool and a snack bar. There are toilet facilities around the pool all clean and tidy.
we wanted a peace and quiet holiday and that is what we got out off the hotel there is a beach and 1 street of cafes and bars, a bus stop to take you to Almeria for less that a euro each way but little else.
WE WILL GO BACK TO THIS HOTEL

  • Liked — peace and quiet
  • Disliked — REASTAURANT
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SHAZNMAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

We were looking for a quiet break for a week and we had never been to this part of spain before, the resort itself is very spanish hardly any british there, only 3 or 4 bars 1 supermarket and 5 hotels, the golf course is new and there is a lot of develpoement going on around it so it will be a lot bigger is few year's time.

The hotel was on an all inclusive basis a great selection of drinks from 10.30am to midnight, the meals were buffet style with a wide selection to choose from, you would have to be a really fussy eater if you couldn't find something you liked. In between meals there was always a selection of snacks eg, sandwiches pastries hamburgers hotdogs at the pool bar which also had a help yourself bar! During the evenings drinks were served at the lobby bar and the reception area is very grand with fountains and very comfy sofa's to lounge on. There was entertainment on most nights but always in spainish, but this was the main nationality staying at the hotel.

The staff dont speak very good english but were friendly and helpful, our room was large and modern with a big bathroom and we had a nice view from our balcony overlooking the golf course.

The hotel has 2 pools and a large sunbathing area and you never struggled to get a bed at anytime of the day.

There is a local bus stop just down the road from the hotel which you can catch to the city of Almeria it takes about 30 minutes and is well worth a visit either day or night.

Overall this was a lovely hotel with good facillities and service and if you want a relaxing week we would definately recomend it.

  • Liked — Good 4*star comfortable relaxing hotel
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_BearWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We stayed at the Alcazabar Mar on an All-Inclusive Basis and were not disappointed.
We booked a standard room for 2 adults and 9 years-old child but were upgraded to a Junior Suite. The room was massive with TWO excellent balconies and it overlooked the golf course.
Good air conditioning and ceiling fan.
The Hotel is mainly used by Spanish families as is the resort itself but we found two English families also staying in the Hotel and it was nice to have some company.
Meals at the Hotel are average to good,all buffet-style, mainly salads, and the 'show cooking' is not the best i've sampled. Could do with better quality steaks,prawns etc.. but always found something i could eat.
Snacks during the day are basically chips,hot dogs,burgers etc.. not much choice but with breakfast/lunch and evening meal i came home 10 lbs heavier !!
Drinks are good. Help yourself all day to beer,wine,soft drinks,excellent choice. Drinks after evening meal are served in the Bar which closes at 12 midnight. Again good service and choice,spirits are 'house' brands but are very nice.
Entertainment is geared entirely to the Spanish which is understandable so we didn't bother.
Reception staff are very obliging and let us stay in our room until we left for the airport late afternoon: very good.
Hotel Manager was always available and spoke good English and again he was very obliging.
Overall a good place to stay. A hire car is advisable as there are only a few shops in El Toyo. We found a place called San Jose and it is superb. White-washed Spanish houses around a lovely bay,good beach.Gets busy on a weekend with a market there on a Sunday.
Hotel is only a 10 minute drive from Almeria airport and resort is up and coming. Apartments being built around golf course.Lovely promenade for an evening stroll.
We will definitely go back but might try a hotel in San Jose just for a change but if there was a good deal to be had at the Alcazabar I wouldn't hesitate to take it.

  • Liked — clean,spacious,good all-inclusive package
  • Disliked — melas could be improved slightly
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reedyDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Retamar
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
Barcelo Cabo de Gata
#1 of 4 in El Toyo
1,899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ohtels Cabogata
Ohtels Cabogata
#2 of 4 in El Toyo
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabogata Mar Garden Hotel Club & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SunConnect Cabogata Garden
18.7 mi away
Playacapricho Hotel
Playacapricho Hotel
#6 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,467 reviews
17.7 mi away
Evenia Zoraida Park
Evenia Zoraida Park
#3 of 34 in Roquetas de Mar
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcazaba Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcazaba Mar Hotel

Property: Alcazaba Mar Hotel
Address: Juegos del Argel, Urbanizacion El Toyo | near Cabo de Gata, 04131 Retamar, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Retamar
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Retamar
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Alcazaba Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alcazaba Mar
Alcazaba Mar Retamar
Alcazaba Mar Hotel Retamar, Almeria, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing