We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely campsite with great staff”
Review of Clippesby Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clippesby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Clippesby Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely campsite with great staff”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a great campsite with really good facilities and staff. The children had plenty to do on site to keep them entertained from running around in the woods to swimming in the outdoor pool or playing mini golf. Although there are plenty of facilities for the children the site does not feel at all crowded. The toilet and shower facilities were excellent with plenty of hot water and regularly cleaned. The staff on the site were excellent, there was a warm and friendly welcome at check in and every time we visited either the shop or the cafe. During the stay our children had an archery session which they absolutely loved and was great value for money with a very friendly and supportive instructor. I am sure that we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    46
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
130
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Good range of facilities for the children, mini golf, open air swimming pool, places to ride bikes etc. Not too large and crowded so it has a nice feel to it. Pub on site that provides food at a reasonable price, with a great children's disco on a Saturday night which my children found fun. Would recommend for a stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Edmundsbury_Gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My family stayed here the last week of July this year(2014). There were 8 of us all together(3 adults and 5 children from 3 years old to 9 years old). I had booked the Moray Cottage which sleeps 8 and it was very spacious. clean and comfortable.

This holiday park is fantastic and you can tell it is a 5 star park because of the facilities, customer service etc. The staff are all lovely and will help with anything. I never came across any grumpy staff which is unusual as wherever we have been there has always been one.lol

The adventure playground is superb with the zip wires. The children queued for the zip wires really nicely and never waited long at all for a go. There is also another park next to the swimming pool with swings, sand pit, climbing net and football pitch. The pool is small but refreshing in the heat. All the children enjoyed jumping in. The crazy golf was ok but the same obstacles all the way around but at only £3 you can't really grumble. The tennis courts were lovely and I often had a game of tennis or badminton with the children, my husband or sister.

Another thing I did was to hire bikes for 2 of the children and they really enjoyed riding through the woodland bike trail and to the shop.

Even though I stayed in a cottage I had a look around at the tent pitches and toilet blocks. The tent pitches are very spacious and the toilet blocks were spotless. All the different areas for camping were beautiful so if you want to camp then Clippesby Hall is perfect.

We went to 2 beaches which were Scratby and Winterton which are sand and stone beaches so hurt your feet when paddling. There are small sand dunes on the way down to the shore which are nice for little ones to run down. We also went to Great Yarmouth Pleasure Beach and the kids went on lots of rides. I bought 30 tokens for £25. Small rides1 token and big rides 3 tokens.

The only 2 negative things I can think of were that there was no free WIFI in the cottage which I think there should be for the amount of money I paid and also the double mattress downstairs had basically had it. I did not tell anyone about the mattress until departure day and the chap in reception said if I had told him on day 1 he would have sent a new mattress on day 1 so my fault my husband and I had slept on a lumpy mattress. Anyway the mattress will be changed now reception know. You can get WIFI at The Muskett Arms Pub so that is where I went to look on the internet about day trips, restaurants etc as the signal is very poor anywhere else.

Overall a fab holiday and I would recommend to my friends/family. We are hoping to go back next year but to camp as that is what my children want to do.

Room Tip: Cedar lawn is a good camping area if you want to be close to the Zip Wires. If you don't want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petals1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, Herts, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The site is nicely laid out with many formal gravel woodland and field pitches. Virtually the whole site is surrounded by trees so is generally shielded from the worst winds.
The shower blocks are cleaned regularly, visitors are also encouraged to use a mop to clean I between times.
The staff are all so friendly they great you like your friends rather than customers. Lots to do on site and in the local area too. Thus is out third trip and not our last. The pub on site is great, shame it's not open at lunch times in the day, book early for meals as it's popular!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a lovely time camping at Clippesby.. the staff were all friendly and welcoming.. the kids loved the crazy golf, archery and playing football with the other kids. Winterton is close by so that is a great little excursion to do too!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank zulujock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wonderful, well run and reasonably priced! My first venture to Clippesby Hall after a recommendation from friends and I wasn't disappointed. The place is spacious, well maintained and managed by the look and feel of things, with people who care about service delivery and quality, which is afar cry from havens where we have been in the past. The areas in which you are pitched are spacious and afford a really nice area for all the kids to play in and meet each other which takes the pressure of us parents as they find things and friends to keep themselves busy, whilst safe in the knowledge they aren't too far away and can be found easily.

The washrooms (3 in total for the site) were never too busy and always had hot water, event at 9pm in the evening, in addition to being well spaced out so they were never too far away.

They seem to have made an effort to cater for families as the grounds hosts some nice open areas for the kids to play, with climbing frames, a football pitch, tree zip wires and tennis courts available. The cafe and pub restaurant is reasonably priced with good fare on offer, including a fresh bread/croissant service if you book them the evening before.

Hemsby beach is only 5 miles away too if you are looking for a beach to go to with other attractions within a short drive such as Bewilderwood and Dinoworld (if that's your bag?).

Make sure you have a decent length of electric hook up as you might find yourself a little way from the outlet. They also do not allow camp toilets so be aware - you have to take a walk in the night if you need to go!

earplugs are a must as the resident flock of wood pigeons which are everywhere coo and beat around the trees an awful lot ensuring you are up early every morning. They are pretty tame too so have no issues with close flybys!

there is no wifi on the pitches or near anywhere, likewise the only signal you can get here is GPRS - no edge or 3/4G anywhere close so organize yourself before going as it a comms black spot (although you'll get 2-3 bars on your phone).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CityGuy1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Large pitches, loads for the children to do, play grounds, swimming pool, zip wires, crazy golf. Great café and restaurant for when you are too relaxed to do anything. We had a wonderful three night stay. The staff are helpful kind and friendly. Not noisy. Clean toilets, shower room could be bigger, too much juggling when using with a small chld.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Liz498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clippesby
6.9 mi away
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
Premier Inn Great Yarmouth Hotel
#2 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
10.3 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
10.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Beechwood Hotel
Beechwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Walsham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
8.0 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
13.7 mi away
Waveney River Centre
Waveney River Centre
#1 of 1 in Burgh St Peter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clippesby Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clippesby Hall

Property: Clippesby Hall
Address: Clippesby Hall Hall Road | Clippesby, Clippesby NR29 3BL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Clippesby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Clippesby
Hotel Class:5 star — Clippesby Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clippesby Hall offers a selection of accommodation options, including cool camping, family touring and self-catering in one of our cottages, lodges (with private hot tubs) or apartments. Facilities on the park include a swimming pool, tennis courts, mini golf, cycle hire, childrens play area, coffee shop, bar and restaurant. Combined with the coveted '5 pennants' awarded by the AA, the 5 star award from the Tourist Board and a gold award for conservation from David Bellamy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clippesby Hall Hotel Clippesby
Clippesby Hall Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing