We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joyful hospitality, very good food, amazing place for a relaxing holiday!”

Stryn Hostel & Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stryn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stryn Hostel & Motel
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Geo and Bruno, the hosts, take a special care for their guests. I spent a few days with my family, our hosts treated us as if we were a part of their family, we ate appetising meals cooked by Geo and Bruno, we visited the breathless landscape and we had relaxing time at the Hostel. I do suggest the Stryn Hostel & Motel for those who are looking for a very good time!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Stryn Hostel & Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Frankly we booked the Styrn Hostel because we were having trouble finding other accommodations in the area, so as such we were not expecting much. The hostel was easy enough to find on a quiet residential street and had a good view of the town below. We rented the double bed room with a private bathroom - the room was small, basic but clean - nothing out of the ordinary for hostel type accommodations.

Where the hostel really exceeded our expectations was the staff. At the time we stayed, there were three young people working (from Spain, Greece and Portugal) at the hostel and they were very friendly and helpful. They asked us if we wanted to have supper at the hostel (150 NOK per person for 2 courses including beverage) and while we had apprehensions we really had no other place to go as we did not know Styrn well. We chanced it and were very pleasantly surprised - it was well prepared food with great presentation - real home cooking but with a gourmet element to it. Well worth the money. In addition, since we were leaving early the next morning and could not attend the breakfast they packed us a lunch to take on the road.

So, if you are wondering where to stay in Styrn and a basic hostel/motel is acceptable then I would not hesitate to recommend this place and can highly recommend the restaurant. One of our the best meals we had in Norway.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chad-Sexington-IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

A nice place to be, to start trips in the surroundings, very forthcoming staff. We stayed six nights. Our hosts made sure that we were comfortable, that we had a room for ourselves as a family, even though they had to close a dormitory for us. They competently and patiently answered all our questions, gave us good advice for things to do in the area. We enjoyed breakfast in a very cosy dining room. Everything was very clean. We recommend the hostel to anyone who wants to visit the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doro_unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I brought a group of 14 relatives and friends to the Stryn Hostel on June 18, 2013. We had been traveling through Scandinavia for two weeks, and this was absolutely the friendliest, most gracious place we stayed. And the meal cooked by Sergio was the best meal we had on the trip, with a doubt! That included my birthday cake made by Georgia which was a delicious and unexpected gift of the management! This new management is doing wonders! The building still needs some work, but it is sparkling clean, and they are working steadily to upgrade everything. The hospitality and food are positively worth a side trip to Stryn. Love you Bruno, Georgia and Sergio! Thanks for the delicious cake! Good look with the business. You're doing all the right things! Blessings to you!

Room Tip: WE had 7 double rooms, all with shower. A good price, and wonderful rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm, but was the only one the first night! Very friendly staff. They know everything for hiking or biking opportunities. Breakfast is very nice. Rooms are clean. Guest kitchen was nice and the common room had a lot to offer. Most beautiful of all are the surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AC3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The hosts, Georgia and Bruno, are very hospitable and their hostel has a great view of Stryn. We were welcomed with a warm smile and a friendly cup of tea. The room was very comfortable and clean. We ordered the salmon for dinner and it was absolutely delicious and it was followed by a tasty dessert and good coffee. The breakfast was a generous serving and set us up for the day. We would definitely have stayed longer if we didn't have to head north. If you stay in Stryn, make sure you come to this place.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mdscarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I stayed in a 6 beds dorm. I am the only occupier. yeah! :-)
You have to walk about 30 mins from the bus stop to the hostel........
Staffs are friendly and helpful. The shower room is very simple. The common kitchen is ......dirty. No detergent for washing dish until I asked for it. The common room is big and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iFung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stryn
0.6 mi away
Stryn Hotel
Stryn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stryn
73 reviews
7.6 mi away
First Hotel Raftevold
First Hotel Raftevold
#1 of 1 in Hornindal
125 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Visnes
Villa Visnes
#4 of 4 in Stryn
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Visnes Hotel Stryn
Visnes Hotel Stryn
#2 of 4 in Stryn
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Folven Camping
Folven Camping
#6 of 9 in Stryn
15 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sande Camping
Sande Camping
#1 of 3 in Loen
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stryn Hostel & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stryn Hostel & Motel

Address: Geilevegen 14, Stryn 6783, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Stryn Municipality > Stryn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Stryn
Price Range: £75 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing