We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in the world!”

Stryn Hostel & Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stryn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stryn Hostel & Motel
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place in the world!”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I just loved it! the atmoshpere, the people working there, the excellent food!!
It is for sure the best hostel i have ever been in Norway. Very friendly people, funny, smiling all the time and willing to help you with everything. Very clean.Very well prepared breakfast and the dinner is just amazing! i will come again for sure. Thank you Bruno and Geo.

Room Tip: all the rooms have amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amersfoort, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The room was small and basic and the bathroom was not so clean and had a smell that penetrated the whole room. Also the sprinkler tubes on the ceiling where very ugly and made the room look cheap! But's for an Hostel it's still acceptable.

Breakfast and the service level where just ok!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Geo and Bruno, the hosts, take a special care for their guests. I spent a few days with my family, our hosts treated us as if we were a part of their family, we ate appetising meals cooked by Geo and Bruno, we visited the breathless landscape and we had relaxing time at the Hostel. I do suggest the Stryn Hostel & Motel for those who are looking for a very good time!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matteo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Frankly we booked the Styrn Hostel because we were having trouble finding other accommodations in the area, so as such we were not expecting much. The hostel was easy enough to find on a quiet residential street and had a good view of the town below. We rented the double bed room with a private bathroom - the room was small, basic but clean - nothing out of the ordinary for hostel type accommodations.

Where the hostel really exceeded our expectations was the staff. At the time we stayed, there were three young people working (from Spain, Greece and Portugal) at the hostel and they were very friendly and helpful. They asked us if we wanted to have supper at the hostel (150 NOK per person for 2 courses including beverage) and while we had apprehensions we really had no other place to go as we did not know Styrn well. We chanced it and were very pleasantly surprised - it was well prepared food with great presentation - real home cooking but with a gourmet element to it. Well worth the money. In addition, since we were leaving early the next morning and could not attend the breakfast they packed us a lunch to take on the road.

So, if you are wondering where to stay in Styrn and a basic hostel/motel is acceptable then I would not hesitate to recommend this place and can highly recommend the restaurant. One of our the best meals we had in Norway.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad-Sexington-IV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

A nice place to be, to start trips in the surroundings, very forthcoming staff. We stayed six nights. Our hosts made sure that we were comfortable, that we had a room for ourselves as a family, even though they had to close a dormitory for us. They competently and patiently answered all our questions, gave us good advice for things to do in the area. We enjoyed breakfast in a very cosy dining room. Everything was very clean. We recommend the hostel to anyone who wants to visit the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doro_unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I brought a group of 14 relatives and friends to the Stryn Hostel on June 18, 2013. We had been traveling through Scandinavia for two weeks, and this was absolutely the friendliest, most gracious place we stayed. And the meal cooked by Sergio was the best meal we had on the trip, with a doubt! That included my birthday cake made by Georgia which was a delicious and unexpected gift of the management! This new management is doing wonders! The building still needs some work, but it is sparkling clean, and they are working steadily to upgrade everything. The hospitality and food are positively worth a side trip to Stryn. Love you Bruno, Georgia and Sergio! Thanks for the delicious cake! Good look with the business. You're doing all the right things! Blessings to you!

Room Tip: WE had 7 double rooms, all with shower. A good price, and wonderful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed in a 6 bed dorm, but was the only one the first night! Very friendly staff. They know everything for hiking or biking opportunities. Breakfast is very nice. Rooms are clean. Guest kitchen was nice and the common room had a lot to offer. Most beautiful of all are the surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AC3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stryn
7.6 mi away
First Hotel Raftevold
First Hotel Raftevold
#1 of 1 in Hornindal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Stryn Hotel
Stryn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stryn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Visnes Hotel Stryn
Visnes Hotel Stryn
#2 of 4 in Stryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Visnes
Villa Visnes
#4 of 4 in Stryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hjelle Hotel
Hjelle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Stryn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stryn Hostel & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stryn Hostel & Motel

Property: Stryn Hostel & Motel
Address: Geilevegen 14, Stryn 6783, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Stryn Municipality > Stryn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Stryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing