We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The word majestic is invented here to describe olden and oldendalen”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olden

Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Stryn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The word majestic is invented here to describe olden and oldendalen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This place is absolutely beautiful, when you are here, take a few deep breathes and enjoy all of this and think about how all this is created and how lucky we are to live on a planet with nature beautiful like this!

Helpful?
3 Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    64
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Scenic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Most of its share of visitors comes from many of the docked ships but you could also visit the place on your own with a bus tour. Getting there can be a bit difficult but is totally worth it for the scenic beauty and the whole authentic nature out there for a refreshingly pleasant memory. It’s a small village with traditional houses and Spartan life still intact and as long as the commercialization does not reach and they maintain the current allure, It is a place not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Inna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Breathtaking scenery, serene setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our cruise ship docked in pretty Olden. From there we took a ship excursion to see the Kjenndalen Glacier. Most of the other passengers went yo see the larger Briksdal glacier, but I had read that this one was both closer, far easier to walk up to, and more scenic. We do not hike anymore, and we needed a fairly easy road to navigate.

The boat ride down Lovatnet Lake was just so breathtakingly beautiful! The water was crystal clear and smooth as glass. All along the glide on both sides were huge snow-capped mountains, waterfalls, small houses and tiny villages. As we sailed to our destination we were given the sad story of how rockfalls had decimated the area when they triggered tsunamis.

After this serene ride, we docked at a restaurant. Picture perfect, this red painted restaurant served us the most delicious waffles with a cream and strawberry compote accompaniment with coffee. Honestly, I would go back JUST for those waffles! They kept making more and both the smell and taste was incredible. They served us outside on long picnic tables and I strolled all sling the grounds taking beautiful photos.

Inside the restaurant are very clean bathrooms and they also sell some very unique, cute trolls (which I did not see in ANY other port!) I bought a pair for a souvenir and they are just adorable. I would have been happy if this was the entire day...but there was more...the glacier!

We got on a bus and it took us to the foot of the glacier. You see the peak teasing you as you drive around, getting higher and closer. Once the bus bus parks in the lot, it really is an easy uphill stroll to the top where you stand at the base of this mammoth block of ancient ice and look up at its face.

Pieces of age-old glacial turquoise blue peak out, surrounded by white and blackened ice and snow. The glacier fills the cavity of two mountain peaks and it is amazing to see. I got great photos.

I must add, the walk both up and back from the glacier from the parking lot is scenic by itself. Wild flowers bloom all along both sides of the pebbled path, and you walk beside rushing water streams, and view waterfalls up close. The entire path is wonderful. BTW: there are two porta-potties in the parking lot, (if you get desperate.)

On the way back, look out for houses with grass growing on the roof. We stopped on the road to get a closer look at three of them that were a perfect example of how they insulated and covered homes with thick grasses. Also check out the color of the water of the lake you pass across the road near these homes. It is the clear, deep turquoise of the Caribbean waters. Just gorgeous!

Don't miss this. It was an absolutely perfect day that I will always remember and one of the many highlights of fabulous Norway!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank nycruisequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Kjenndalen glacier and Lovatnet Lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Cruise ship docked in Olden which is an attractive small town, we took an excursion to see more than the fjords.
Kjenndalenglacier is not as popular as the nearby Briksdal glacier; it is more accessible for the less adventurous. We traveled by coach from Olden along a fertile valley with winding roads giving spectacular views of mountains, waterfalls and Lovatnet lake. We walked along a gentle gravel path adjacent to the glacial stream to take photographs of the glacier. We didn't get too close to the glacier as large chunks of ice were breaking off.
The path was lined with small trees and wonderful flowers. There was plenty of bird life within the trees.
We had coffee and delicious waffles with local strawberry jam in a cabin by the lake prior to taking a boat trip on the lake.
The lake is surround by high mountains which in the 20th century had three major rockfalls triggering tsunami, two of which killed many inhabitants. The last rockfall fell on previous fallen rock and caused a smaller wave.
It was a lovely relaxing excursion from Olden.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
269 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This village is set in a beautiful fjord and I guess there’s not a lot of activity unless a cruise ship is docked, when there are readily available tour buses and a ‘noddy’ train. The village is set about 700 metres/10 minute walk from the quayside. There is a Tourist Office located on the quayside (open mid-June to Mid-August), where a walking map is available showing various routes to viewpoints (between 1.5 and 3 hours each). It's worth a road trip to Briksdal glacier from here; some 20Km away through yet more stunning scenery. A helicopter trip can also be booked here to fly over the fjords and glaciers.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank mikesierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olden also viewed

 
Olden, Stryn Municipality
 

Been to Olden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing