We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Briksdal Glacier (Briksdalbreen)
from US$64.41
More Info
from US$840.01
More Info
Reviews (864)
Filter reviews
864 results
Traveller rating
609
199
46
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
609
199
46
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews troll car the bus briksdal glacier walk up cruise ship gift shop global warming worth the effort cakes blue ice return trip beautiful scenery parking lot mobility issues up hill amazing sight glacial water
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 864 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Beautiful even though it was a very wet day. Did the climb to the glacier, got soaked to the skin but it was well worth. A totally amazing sight. The troll car would definitely be the easy way up but I would say take your time and do the walk - it can be steep but worth the effort.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

A stunning piece of nature surrounded by amazing scenery. The glacier is reducing in size but still awesome to see. Take a troll car up as quite a steep walk, no good if you have mobility issues. Only negative feedback is that the whole place by 1pm was swarming with cruise ship passengers which was a shame, the Fiords are sadly being taken over by these huge monstrosities, should be banned over a certain size.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank caz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

My wife and I visited the Briksdal Glacier in July. It's out in the middle of nowhere. Parking is available but is not free. Followed by a short, steep walk up to the gift shop, dining area and the path to the glacier viewing. Troll cars (UTVs) were expensive but in my opinion well worth the money. Instead of hiking up to the glacier you take a 10 minute ride in a UTV that saves a ton of time and energy. You also get the ride back down! The whole thing took an hour or two. Nice day trip if you are in the area.

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Briksdal Glacier is an excursion that everyone should do if in the area. We did it with our 6 years old son. Park the car and pay for it. At first you go up to a steep road, but is a small one. Then it is easy to walk for an hour (we did it in 1,5 hour due to our toddler). If you cannot walk, take the troll car. At the end of the road for the troll cars there are kiosks for lunch and clean toilets. Then you walk for 10 minutes and here you are! We went there at 24/08 and the glacier was not so long, as previous pictures show, but it was really nice.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank ArgyroAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Has to be one of the most beautiful places I’ve visited in my life . The walk from the caffe isn’t hard for a normal person but if disabled there is transport available to book . It’s about a 45 minute walk to the Glacier it’s self and along the way is nothing but breath taking views. There is a large waterfall you pass when over the bridge and the spray can get you slightly wet but not allot . There are steps and there is a small loo half way . The caffe on return has a souvenir shop

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank MRJC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews