We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Wonderful!”
Review of Videseter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Videseter Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stryn
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were on our way up north when we came across this hotel located in the mountains just where you're about to drive off the the old Strynefjells road. When we drove into the parking lot, a very nice and smiling lady came out to greet us, and gave us a tour inside the hotel area. The location was absolutely stunning with a breathtaking valley view and the waterfall next to the building. The hotel itself was very impressive, with lots of stuffed animals, norwegian folk music and norwegian cabin decor. The staff was helpful and friendly, and both the Salmon and pork we had for dinner was very tasteful. The rooms has newly been refurbished, with wooden floors and impressive rose painted beds, panorama windows. Couldn't have been any better!

Room Tip: If you don't mind falling asleep to the sound of the waterfall, we would really recommend to boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reiselysten101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

The postive feature of this hotel is the veiw. The view can be enjoyed from the restaurant, which is more than I can say for the meal. The rooms are clean but dismal.
Practical tips , this part of Norway is beautiful, and most of the travellers will be driving. Driving up from Stryn you will find Videseter at the begining of National Tourist road - Gamle Stynefjellsvegen. I can recommend the drive across but if in need of accommodtion; stay at Grotli or carry on to Geiranger, or turn back to Stryn and even a bit further on, past Stryn, to Loen Fjord. I can not reccommend a stay at Videseter.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank That-was-then
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tt1190502, Leder  at Videseter Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Nice try, but you never staid here. Next time remember to pay your parking fee and don´t let your harme take you away at internet .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

After driving through spectacular Norwegian scenery from Aurland to Stryn, we spotted the hotel perched high above us from the valley floor. After climbing up the mountain road (highway 15), we arrived at the Hotel Videseter, which is a modern building with lots of glass, but the best part was stepping in the hotel and seeing the nicely appointed lobby and reception area, and restaurant...and then the unbelievable view of the valley below. No doubt about it, we were in Norway! After checking in, we found we had the same incredible view from our room. Per Garen, the general manager, is about a helpful and friendly as you can get. He gladly helped us plan our schedule and drive to Geirangerfjord the next day. The restaurant was very good and Per has a very nice gift shop. All 4 couples highly recommend the hotel, and would love to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittlePilgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

This hotel was a bit removed from Stryn center, but well worth the 25-minute drive. Most of the rooms and the restaurant overlook the mountains, and a short walk takes you to a beautiful waterfall. A real treat, overall.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julesfredrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres côté montagne sont plus intéressantes niveau vue (on voit le vide)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flutelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stryn
18.2 mi away
Stryn Hotel
Stryn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stryn
73 reviews
11 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
600 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotell Utsikten
Hotell Utsikten
#4 of 4 in Geiranger
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
350 reviews
24.3 mi away
First Hotel Raftevold
First Hotel Raftevold
#1 of 1 in Hornindal
128 reviews
21.7 mi away
Petrines Guesthouse
Petrines Guesthouse
#2 of 2 in Norddal Municipality
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Videseter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Videseter Hotel

Address: Stryn 6798, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Stryn Municipality > Stryn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Stryn
Price Range: £136 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Videseter Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Videseter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing