We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic old fashion hotel”
Review of Hjelle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hjelle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Stryn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Halden, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic old fashion hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a fantastic, old fashion family hotell in beautiful surroundings. Close to the mountain road "gamle strynefjellsvei" which lead to Geiranger.
The room was simple, but the view was great. Simple, but good breakfast. Room was cheap too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Øivind F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    38
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
58
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We missed the turnoff for this hotel and had to come back. It's not in Stryn, it's well before Stryn.It's all by itself in a beautiful setting in a very old hotel. It was pouring rain when we got there. We got a lovely room at the end of the hall. It didn't have a water view but it had a wonderful sitting room with couch and table and the lighting was very good. We sat there a lot to read our guidebooks and use our computers. There was a booklet in the room describing several walks. When the rain subsided we took one to a roaring waterfall. It was a very nice walk. The only place to have dinner is in the hotel and we opted for that. No food in Norway is cheap, the meal was quite acceptable, about $60 each if I remember right. There was a nice breakfast too.
The people were very friendly, there is a cute little shop next door for snacks and handicrafts. It closed shortly after we arrived at 5PM so we didn't get to see it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindyhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mykonos, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel which is located at the eastern end of a large lake. Somewhat off the beaten path, it is well-worth seeking this gem out. The hotel is quite old but in excellent condition, and our room was very comfortable. The hotel requires a two night minimum stay, but it can serve as your base of operations in the fjord region. We ate dinner at the hotel both nights and enjoyed two great three course prix fixe meals. The appetizer and dessert are set but you have a choice of two entrees, typically one meat dish and one fish dish. The dining room overlooks the lake with great views. Our room was very comfortable with en suite bath. The owners are very accommodating and go out of their way to ensure an enjoyable visit.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We have stayed here twice and were really pleased both times. This year we had two days here and had also dinner at the hotel. The owners are very friendly and service minded. The hotel is full of history and the views from the terrace and rooms are just breathtaking. We stayed in a romantic room which was very nice, but the best was the view. From your bed you can enjoy the wild mountains surrounding Hjelle. Food was very good, both dinner and breakfast. We will come back here for sure. Perfect location for skiing at Strynefjellet summer ski or randonee trips to the nearby mountains.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katrine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Sobrante, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

In the town of Hjelle there Hotel Hjelle...run by the Hjelle family. Sensing a pattern here? This family has been playing the hospitality game for generations and they still do it right. You can feel the 100 years of "grand tour" history around you but note things have been maintained here, upgraded there. Things are certainly worn, but not worn out. Norwegian food is a bit bland but it's served well here and the wine selection was quite good. Good people, quick with a pleasant smile or a helpful tip. The new tunnel has taken main traffic off the road through Hjelle and made it a quieter town than it might have been in the past. Enjoy the peace and the amazing fjord just outside the door. Easily a good place for a day trip or two. Certainly capable of doing mid-sized wedding if you are thinking about it.

Room Tip: We opted for the rooms in the "old" part of the hotel. We were not disappointed, my wife f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmacleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel was run by the fourth generation of the same family. It was friendly, comfortable and the location was amazing.
We had the romantic rooms and the views in the old hotel which had balconies. It was well worth the money paid. The views from our balconies were magnificent. Just wonderful.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank kyamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

This hotel is WAY off the beaten path - we drove 440 KM from Bergen to get there, but it was soooo worth it. The host/owners (Emma and Lorentz Hjelle) are really pleasant and helpful. The hotel itself is pretty basic -- charming almost like a US Park Service lodge. You'll have to eat at the hotel, as the nearest town (Stryn) is about 40 minutes away, but the dinners were surprisingly good; and the hearty breakfast was a great way to gear up for hiking.
View from the hotel is spectacular - across the lake (only a pinch in the waterway at Stryn precludes this from being a fjord). Within easy walk or drive are 10+ hikes into the mountains -- the hotel is great, but you'll want to spend a lot of your time in the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stryn
14.1 mi away
Grande Fjord Hotel
Grande Fjord Hotel
#1 of 4 in Geiranger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Union Geiranger
Hotel Union Geiranger
#2 of 4 in Geiranger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Geiranger
Hotel Geiranger
#3 of 4 in Geiranger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
First Hotel Raftevold
First Hotel Raftevold
#1 of 1 in Hornindal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
18.2 mi away
Grotli Hoyfjellshotell
13.0 mi away
Stryn Hotel
Stryn Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stryn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hjelle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hjelle Hotel

Property: Hjelle Hotel
Address: Hjelle, Stryn 6798, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Stryn Municipality > Stryn
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Stryn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hjelle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well kept hotel at Hjelle with view over Strynevatnet lake, built in 1896. Restaurant. Sauna. Rowing boats. Bicycle hire. Fjord pass at motel. 34 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Hjelle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing