We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Control Lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daphnila Bay Thalasso
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Dassia
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality Control Lacking”
Reviewed 23 July 2007

We stayed at Daphnila Bay in July 2007. The beach was wonderful - clean, sandy, lots of shade, perfect for small children. The beach restaurant with its dinner service - superb. Traditional Greek food was served and it was delicious - especially the lamb. The swimming pools at the hotel were nice, clean, never too full even though it was the high season. The main restaurant had plenty of food but as it goes with buffet self service, the quality will suffer a bit. By no means was the food not good, just not as good as at the restaurant at the beach. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room is where I felt the hotel was lacking. The shower head was broken and needed replacing, the TV was not working, the remote control was not working - all of which was fixed when we requested it. The final let-down was a "clean" towel with a chewing gum stuck to it. I felt a 4 star hotel should be more careful about the room maintenance and qualty control.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anaya1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    106
    36
    13
    6
See reviews for
190
75
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

Our family of four stayed at the hotel for one week in the middle of June. The hotel was in beautiful place, food was good and the staff was more than friendly. It is more than reasonable to say that the hotel was exactly what was promised on the hotel web.sites. The only thing of which we were able to complain was the weather (which was certainly not the fault of the hotel), +35C - +40C everyday was quite heavy for us even though on the beach there were plenty of room for people and it was easy to find a shadowy place to rest under a tree.
We simply recommend Daphnila Bay hotel to all those who like to spend peaceful time in a good all-inclusive hotel In Corfu.
JR

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AEROTRAVELLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2007

Went last september (booked flights and hotel separately and made way from airport by taxi - all so much easier). Fairly impressed upon arrival, quick check in, decent room in the main building (didnt have a sea view which i think is a must as the view is outstanding!) which was clean and in good condition.

Immediately unpacked and made way to beach, bit of a walk, downhill, and i cant say it was worth it.......the beach itself isnt the largest and it was very busy. walked back up, exhausting!, and got some beds around the pool areas. nice pools but after 2pm there is no sun! it's such a shame - a lovely big pool but you cant sunbath next to it!!!

food - average to good, both in the restaurant and down at the beach. although we were all inclusive we generally only have the breakfast, the odd lunch but plenty of early evening cocktails - particularly nice if you've just got back from a long day in the sun elsewhere on the island and travelled back on a scooter. we tend to go out for dinner if we can. recommend taverna agni for a special night out.

overall........good hotel for us to have a few creature comforts while we explore, land and sea, an island that we cant keep away from. this will be our 4th consequetive year.

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank reevo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2006

We went to this hotel in Sept 06 as a group of 12 after having been on the Emerald cruise ship for a week.
We were placed in the bungalows in the grounds with a limited sea view. They were fabulous , very spacious with large marble bathrooms, massive king sized beds, good balconys that kept you dry when it was raining and air con at the touch of a button. Immaculately clean.
The food was plentiful , sometimes not topped up as fast as some would like ,but the choice was unbelieavable, meats and fish of every variety with several choices of potato and veg, pasta station, theme nights including Asian with sushi. Deserts to die for like creme brulee and all the fresh fruit you could want. The food was sometime on the lukewarm side but keeping a buffet hot cannot be easy to suit everyones taste. The hotel is all inclusive and the dining room has every drink imaginable with large glass fronted fridges full of bottles of wine to help yourself to.
The setting was exquisite with fabulous panaormaic views of the bay and the infinity pool was very clean with a perfect cool temperature. Could have done with some nice thck mattresses on the sun loungers though for the days when you do not move from the comfort of your lounger. They were very uncomfortable by the end of the day. Unfotunatley due to all the rain we encountered we were not on the sunbeds very many days
The only let down was the entertaiment. We were a group of 12 and there were only another 3 english couples ,all the rest of the clients were German, French and Russian with the odd Finn chucked in for good measure. The entertainment was mostly in German and very sporadic. Because the hotel was in a remote hillside position the only escape was a taxi ride into Gouvia ( 8 euros ) as Dassia was also quiet. We love mixing with other people and the Finns were great but the other nationalites did not want to converse or be friendly. However this did not spoil our stay. The hotel has a great beach and a great kids club with loads of entertainement for them. Unfortunatley we were all childless.
Our greatest thanks to Lefteris Fragulis who organised our rooms together and Alexandros Louis who was the perfect host, well managed by Antonios Gonianakis, the staff here are amazing.
Due to it's remote hilly location and lack of entertainment we would perhaps not return to this specific hotel but if all the Grecotels are of this standard then no-one should hestitate to book with this company.

  • Liked — food / staff/ panarama
  • Disliked — entertainment
  • Tips/Secrets — be prepared for some hill walking
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gatesheadgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2006

We stayed at the grecohotel daphnila bay in august. Yes the previous correspondent was right - everything is tailored for the Germans and there were only about a dozen Brits in the hotel.
The evening entertainment is virually non existent and what is is in German(even the quiz)
However - the hotel is beautiful with comfortable rooms and the scenery from the hotel window breathtaking. There are lots of water sports availableand the staff and service was excellent as was the food.
So if you just want to chill and are not fussy about being entertained in the evening this hotel is very nice, but if you want entretainment dont touch it.

Graham Essex England

Helpful?
5 Thank GrahamEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2006

This hotel does not cater for English guests. All evening entertainment is in German. The hot food in the main restaurant and taverna is (mostly uncovered) outside and eaten by the birds before the guests which is not acceptable. The birds were sitting on the serving counter and eating the food from the serving spoons. The accommodation is mainly located in bungalows which are away from the main hotel facilities and accessable uphill. The bar service was very slow and the bar staff surley and unhelpful. A mini bus runs between the area of bungalows and main hotel at 30 minute intervals but only from 11.30am to 7.30pm.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank CruiserDurhamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
88 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2005

We stayed at the hotel for a long weekend in May. At first we booked the normal bungalow for 175 euro (low season price, much higher in peak season), but when we saw the room with its very old-looking furniture and not so impresive garden view, we quickly asked for an upgrade to the deluxe bungalow, and paid 80 euro extra. It was worth it because not only was the bungalow very nicely decorated in a modern fashion, we had a small terrace with full view of the sea.

Corfu is a nice island to explore by car. We definitely recommend renting a car and exploring the different small towns. The old city center is beautiful with the fortress and the nice restaurants. The weather in May is touch and go, if you want warm weather, better go a bit later in June or July.

Helpful?
18 Thank Family-C-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dassia
0.3 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,289 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
11.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Aeolos Beach Resort
10.3 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
2,005 reviews
0.8 mi away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daphnila Bay Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daphnila Bay Thalasso

Property: Daphnila Bay Thalasso
Address: Dassia GR-491 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Dassia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Dassia
#1 Spa Hotel in Dassia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dassia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Daphnila Bay Thalasso 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Daphnila Bay Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Daphnila Bay Thalasso Hotel Dassia
Grecotel Daphnila Bay Thalassso Dassia
Daphnila Bay Thalasso Corfu/Dassia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing