We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel from hell!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Telemachos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Telemachos Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Dassia
England
1 review
“Hotel from hell!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

When we were sitting on the bus, we began travelling up this HUGE hill & thought to ourselves, oh no, this better not be our hotel aka the telemachos, & it was.
When we got there, we were told to wait in a room, only for about 5 minutes and then we began to book in, & they said, you could either stay in the old part, or pay 50 euro and get aircon & be upgraded to the new part and.
It may be a rip off, but if I were you I'd pay the 50 euro.
The old part is horrible, & the rooms are tiny, and we got talking to someone who was in the old part and he said, there were no wardrobes, there wasnt a proper bath or shower, the draws didnt work, the aircon didnt work so he had to RENT a fan for 18 euro for a week, and when the air con did get fixed they wanted 50 euro for it.
We got to our room and it was okay, nothing flash though.
We were there for a week & we seen them clean the pool ONCE.
There was actually a picture of a boat on the baby pool floor, and everyone said, they had never seen it before because the pool water was so unclean, we never seen the bottom of the main pool once while we were there.
People & little babies & children were getting throat and ear infections off the pool
People leave food & drinks around the pool so it therefore attracts LOADS of wasps.
The entertainment on a night time isnt very good, & dassia is very quiet.
We booked a trip which said, food and drinks were included.
We had to pay for all food and drinks we got, except one sandwich you get free.
& the whole week we were there, we seen the rep once.
& The sun lounges are dangerous, they tip over at the littlest movement and there arnt very many of them
AND THIS IS IMPORTANT IF YOU ARE GOING ALL INCLUSIVE.
The free drinks bar is horrible cheap drinks, and when i comes to the nighttime, it closes at 9:30 and you are only allowed to get two drinks at a time, EVEN if you are in a group of say 10 or more.
& the all inclusive food, is HORRIBLE.
& the staff are rude and horrible and miserable, but two of them are lovely.
& dont bother asking for a late check out because you wont get one, some people were waiting up to 14 hours with there suitcases because the room wasnt even SERCURE.
It was a little room with NO door on at all.
THIS HOTEL SHOULD BE ON HOLIDAYS FROM HELL.

  • Liked — Nothing.
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Cowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    187
    175
    147
    481
See reviews for
351
361
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

After a night flight into the island all we wanted was to crash on a nice comfy bed and decent shower and somewhere to hang up the clothes in the morning...we arrived at the hotel in very early hours of a tuesday morning and got put into a room in the old block, not so nice and comforting! The hotel however were quick to change things around when we went to collect our all inclusive bands at breakfast, they offered us a look at the rooms in the new block to which we grabbed with open arms, the AIR CONDITIONING is what you are paying for 'Hilda' made clear, but it was well worth the extra money. 'Hilda' is the receptionist, she is very straight and gets on with what needs to be done with no messing which isn;t as bad as it sounds. The food was okish! We stayed in the hotel full board for two weeks but ended up eating out for the last 4/5 days simply because of boredom with the lack of variety but all in all it was ok. The pool was FREEZING but very refreshing with the weather being so hot and everything, towards the end of the week they had a few troubles with the maintence so it ended up looking a bit like a pond :P only joking! but it just wasnt looking as clean as it was before...we had such a great holiday! The hill is a killer but a great work out for your [--], the beach is a walk away and their are some lovely restaurants on the beach front as well as the main town...make sure you take lots of walks and make the most of being able to walk and socialise outdoors!!! In the longhall, what im trying to say is, a holioday is what you make it, we met some lovely people on ours and were able to lagh off the imperfections of the hotel and facilities. Overall a GREAT holiday!!

  • Liked — It was made fun with some staff and was easy access to local areas
  • Disliked — THE FOOD!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charley7_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

just spend two weeks at the telemachahos, after reading the review's was'nt looking forward to the stay at all.the hotel is'nt no way as bad as the review's say .me my husband and 15 yr old daughter had a fantastic holiday. we stay in the new side which is nice with air con which we paid 95 euro's for which we new about before we went, food was ok did'nt go hungry . salads bar was lovely , main course cooked nicely and was given more than enough. entertaintment was'nt fantastic but ok . can't understand why people were moaning it's very good value for money. the hill hard going in the heat . what.i dont understand is people that expect 5stars when only paid 2 star prices . Dassia is a bit quite will agree with that, we meet some lovely people and really enjoyed hourselfs. your holidays is what you make of it , corrina from leicester

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corrinaLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2008

We booked this hotel as a late deal 8 wk before departure , It wasn't particulaly cheap costing £2600 for 1 bedroom apart and 2 studio for one week b+b . After a 2 hour wait on the coach in the airport we arrived at the Telemachos to rudely be shoved into a smokey crowded area and were told to sit and wait like naughty children until our names were called !.
We waited with 2 small children until next to last as the rude german lady called in order of list into reception , by this time tempers were frayed as we were all very tired and hungry having missed breakfast due to delay , Having got our keys i do have to say one gentelmen did carry our case up to the lift and show us our room , but the hospitality ended there and most of the staff were very offhand and rude to everyone who dared approach them .
I didn't expect the Hilton as its only a 2 star hotel and in general the hotel seemed to be of 2 star standard , However what was not expected was the state of the room ! We were given a room above reception which was large with a huge terrace but it had not seen a mop in weeks , the floor was filthy and the bathroom had not been cleaned as there was still dirty tissue in the bin next to the loo !!!
The patio doors did not even shut and were supposed to be locked with a small hook which was loose so we had to carry everything of value around with us all week .
The air con unit which cost 50 euro had leaked all over the floor leaving a huge puddle next to the bed when we went down and told them the german woman shouted at ME ??.
The shower/toilet was dirty with wire sticking out of the wall and the sink was not attatched to the wall very dangerous with children !
I don't know what rooms others have stayed in but our sheets / towels did not get changed once during our stay , the maids did come in every day and empty the bin and put a new loo roll on , and they moped our floor once on the day before we left ??
The childrens pool was disgusting we were there 4 days before it was cleaned and we realised there is a picture at the bottom as it was so dirty you couln't see it . All 3 of my girls cut themselves on the pool steps which are very sharp .
Drinks and food at the pool bar were ok a little expensive but the bar staff friendly , just glad we did not go all inclusive after talking to other guest .
The bar shut at 1 but noise could be heard well into 3am most of which came from the manager himself shouting his mouth off to guest who dare complain .
The hill that is stated is more like a mountain with children in the heat so we only ventured down in the evening but do beware as one day the truck came past that empties the sewage tanks and it spat sewage water all over us ! Nice !!
On day of departure we had to leave our room by 12 , but by 11.30 the german woman on reception was shouting at us and pointing at her watch .We were very dissapointed as we paid for 1 week holiday but only got our room for 6 days . At 1am we were waiting for our coach and was not alloud to sit in reception as apparently other guest complain so we were forced to sit on steps outside hotel by which point my 5yr old was very poorly with glandular fever which im sure she got in the filthy pool but hey !! One family did say something to the manager but from the mouthfull of abuse he gave them , i did not dare .
Lots more i could say but will leave it at would not go back EVER only gratefull to meet some fabulous friends who made the holiday from hell bearable !!

  • Liked — The weather
  • Disliked — everything else !
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeegerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dassia hotels

lancashire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

I booked this holiday as it was cheap, my son and his friend had a budget for two weeks so I wasn't expecting a 5 Star, and Just £435 for a fortnight all inclusive was good.

After reading the reviews I expected the worst of the rooms, however I asked for our room to have air conditioning for the 95 Euros for the 2 weeks even though it leaked and we had bins and towels behind the beds to soak up the water., the two lads weren't bothered, we were put in the old block which isn't as bad as some say, the room was what we would have expected as we've been to many greek resorts before, the linen was clean and changed very often something you don't get in other hotels and the towels were regularly changed too, the floors were a bit grubby with hairs and dust etc, but to be honest I think the hotel maids were doing their best considering the amount of people in the hotel, if anything they were short staffed... the all inclusive bar was manic so much so the poor lad behind the counter doing drinks and eats ended up with help in our second week, this is the main cause of the wasp dilemma as food and drinks left on the tables weren't cleared away so the wasps had a field day. The pool area was also manic not enought beds for 200 guests and hardly enough parasols the pool itself was like Pea Soup you couldn't see the bottom. The food bit.. we never ever went to breakfast my lads said it wasn't worth getting up for so we opted for a toastie round the pool, we ate one lunch which if you have kids has only water to drink at lunch unless you prefer to go hike over to the pool inclusive bar and bring your pop with you it was pretty basic all we did was two barbi que meals and two evening meals in the fortnight as said it was pretty basic so we chose to eat out 10 nights .... which comes to our main gripe
we met a couple with a young baby on bed & breakfast basis .. we spent every day down at the beach so never used the hotel until say around 4pm for a couple of drinks then went for a lie down, however one evening I ordered a hot dog which I couldn't eat and my husband gave it to the couple along with a plastic glass with 1/2 lager in it which they took with them to their room so the baby could sleep, within minutes the manager came over to myself my husband and my son and stated "you, you and you in reception NOw", I have never felt so humiliated in my life around a poolside, it was like being frogmarched into the hotel whereupon the owner railroaded us for giving the hotdog and a drink away, granted we did see his point of view but there should have been more diplomacy in addressing us not to mention he grabbed my arm and cut off my all inclusive band with a whopping pair of scisscors! by this time I was in tears as I wasnt' the one who gave the hot dog away, my husband was irate at the way he was shouting at us and after a heated few minutes the owner told me to go back in for thw wristband which I refused, the manager was more diplomatic and later in the evening asked if I was ok and to go for the band to be replaced which I did two days later on his insistance.

We spent 48 Euros the first night on whisky and the paying bar and went to bed stone cold sober so can only assume the drinks are not what they seem, we then opted to buy a bottle of grants whisky at the supermarket which was 11Euro and lasted us over a couple of nights!

Olympics brochure stated it was centrally located and on an incline THE TRUTH IS ITS ON CARDIAC HILL I am only in my 40's and in the heat it kills you getting round to the top walking.

Dassia itself is very quiet, we spent most of our time at the Chandris their pools are immaculate and the hotel staff a credit to them, they didn't mind us using their pool bar and snack bar either.

The plus side was the people we met there holidaying we met such a lovely crowd, bang on and rock and roll !!!

  • Liked — the airconditioning
  • Disliked — the pea and ham soup pool
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommi6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2008

Arrived at hotel early morning and was greeted by rude, bad mannered staff. We were ushered into a uninviting tv lounge until they sorted out our all inclusive band, and only then we got scammed into paying 59euros to have air conditioning to get into the new block, otherwise it would have been a stay in the awful quality old block which was more like a prison cell. You could hire a fan for a shocking 18euros a week, so i am pleased we took the air condition gamble to get into the new block, because the rumours circulating about the old block was unbelievable. The food was very basic and is buffet style which consisted of a salad bar, with a choice of three main meals, which wasnt self service, as you were only given a minumal amount and limited to one portion. The sweets were a jelly in a little plastic carton, and that is it! NOTHING ELSE! One day it was red jelly, next day it was green jelly. On one evening all you got was water melon! Which you then had to fight to get some, when they actually brought it out mid way through your meal. WOULDN'T recommend all inclusive to anybody because the food was rubbish! The children had to live on chips all week because there was nothing on for children. The pools were ok but you were lucky to get an excuse of a sunbed. Most were BROKEN, WELDED TOGETHER, SCREWS STICKING OUT THE SIDES! And you were lucky if they did not get tipped up, leaving you with your feet dangling in the air. There was only about 40 available and you had to wait till about 10:30am for the barman to bring out some parasols, about 20 in total, and have a mad dash to try and get one. The all inclusive consisted of cheap local drinks which were given in plastic cups and that only ran from 10am till 9:30pm. You had to go to, what can only be described as a poor standard hut for snacks and drinks, which only had one member of staff, running both. Always running out of stock. We felt like we were singled out getting free meals at school. As dinner was served between 7:30 and 9:00, by the time the got out of the dining room, you were in a race against time to get your drinks in before 9:30 closing time, and that was when the entertainment started. Any drinks after that had to be purchased from the main bar. Entertainment was VERY limited. I wish we had just booked self catoring, because that is basically what we did! I Feel sorry for any Brits who are going all inclusive to this hotel as they have just waisted their money. NOT AT ALL RECOMMENDED! WORST HOTEL WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN! Good luck to anybody that has to go!

  • Liked — Clean Room
  • Disliked — Overall Service
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobsonluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chef_dlc, Hotel Chef at Telemachos Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2010
The only reason the TV lounge could be regarded as uninviting in the early hours of the morning is because the television was not switched on! The seats are comfortable, and there are plenty of them. Pehaps guests would have preferred to be left standing or sitting on the outside steps, or standing about in the reception area?
No-one was scammed into anything. It was quite clearly stated on both the Holiday Company webite and in their brochure that, if guests wished to upgrade to rooms with air-conditioning, there was a charge to be paid locally. I cannot see anything shocking about the charge for the electric fan - apart from the fan itself being expensive, it uses a lot of electricity, especially as guests leave it running, on full power, even when they are out of the Hotel for the day. It also requires to be cleaned after use as well, especially if the guests who have been using it are smokers, or as others have done in the past, thrown drinks at it just to see what happens!
Rumours about parts of the Hotel guests did not personally stay in are just that. If you have no first hand knowledge of these rooms ie. if you have not personally stayed in them, then any comments you pass are purely hearsay, not fact, and not relevant.
The food served in the Hotel was not, and is not, rubbish. Breakfast consisted of fresh bread, butter, marmalade, honey, sliced ham and cheese, cereal, milk, orange juice, tea, coffee, bacon, eggs, sausage, and beans. A toasting machine is provided so that guests can make hot, fresh toast when they want it. Lunch and dinner each consist of a variety of salads, with a minimum of four, fresh bread, and butter, all of which is self-service, and six hot dishes, served by the Chef. For safety reasons alone, guests cannot be allowed to simply mill around a hot serving area, especially where children are concerned, even more so because parents with very young children seem to have no concern for their safety, allowing youngsters as young as two to try and carry plates of hot soup back to their tables, unsupervised. Wherever possible, the waiters will take the food for them!
Whether you recommend the food or not is irrelevant. The food most certainly is not rubbish. There are queues waiting at both lunchtime and dinnertime for the restaurant doors to be opened. Hardly what would be expected in an establishment where the food was rubbish!. If children have to live on chips for a whole week because there was nothing for them, then it says very little for the normal diet they are accustomed to! There are two meat dishes at both lunch and dinner, along with a vegetable dish, pastas, rice, and, yes, chips, but on some days, chips are replaced with mashed potato or greek-style oven roasted potatoes, a fact which frequently has resulted in guests approaching me asking why we don't have chips. As far as dessert is concerned, water-melon is a fruit, much appreciated throughout Greece. If you do not like Greek food, why come to Greece? If you had green jelly anywhere, it most certainly was not in the restaurant of the Telemachos Hotel. I make all the food for the Hotel, and have done so for a long time. I have never, at any time, made green jelly!
Plastic glasses around the bar area are much safer - especially where children are running around, mostly unsupervised. Normal glasses are used at the main bar, for adults. Guests are advised in the Holiday Company literature that drinks supplied under the all-inclusive scheme are local drinks - a fact common to all such establishments in Greece - and the all-inclusive bar times are similarly clearly advertised - BEFORE guests book to come!
Entertainment is varied, with Greek dancing, Karaoke, singers, bingo/quiz night etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2008

Telemachos Hotel in Dassia.
All inclusive program is poor, stops at 9.30pm on the dot.
Dining room has no aircon and gets very crowded at peak times making it unbearably hot and stuffy, with poor meal selection and hot meals usually warm and uninviting.
Rooms in the old block are tiny studios with little furniture and aircon costs 95 euros per 2 week stay.
Rooms in the new block are excellent but you can only stay in these if you buy the aircon at 95 euros, otherwise it's the old block with no aircon.
Fans can be hired for 18euros for 2 weeks or nip into town and buy one for 12 euros.
All meals are repetetive and nothing tasty for children, we found many guests with children ate out each night even if they were all inclusive.
The all inclusive drinks program stops at 9.30pm just as the entertainment starts and the bar staff will only serve 2 drinks per person and keep a very watchful eye on guests to prevent stockpiling of drinks on your table.
The entertainment is quite good and varied and usually goes on till midnight, not for kids though.
The hotel location in Dassia is good although it is approached by a fairly steep hill which can take the wind out of your sails if you try and rush it.
Dassia itself is a small, fairly quiet town but has a few good bars/restaurants within easy walking distance, as is the Dassia beach, but it is very stony and uncomfortable to walk on without shoes. Some excellent boats trips/excursions available but book direct in Dassia and not with the rep to keep costs down. Good local bus service into Corfu town for 1.3euros per person each way but the last bus back is 10.30pm and gets packed and if you miss it a Taxi back to Dassia will cost you a small fortune.
We would go back to Corfu again because of the climate and it is a lovely island, but not to Dassia and not to the Telemachos Hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Tiny cramped studios
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MrRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dassia
7.7 mi away
Alexandros
Alexandros
#8 of 9 in Perama
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
7.0 mi away
Royal Boutique Hotel
Royal Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kanoni
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
10.0 mi away
Mareblue Beach Resort
Mareblue Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Agios Spyridonas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dassia Beach
Dassia Beach
#6 of 16 in Dassia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Magna Graecia
Hotel Magna Graecia
#5 of 16 in Dassia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primavera
Primavera
#7 of 16 in Dassia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Telemachos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Telemachos Hotel

Property: Telemachos Hotel
Address: Dassia 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Dassia
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Dassia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Telemachos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Telemachos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telemachos Hotel Corfu/Dassia
Tilemachos Hotel Corfu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing