We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DREADFUL”
Review of Oscar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oscar Hotel
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Dassia
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Arrived at this hotel early hours of Wednesday 11th September with brother and sister to be told no rooms available unless we moved down the road to another hotel or shared a family room .We agreed to look at family room, just a room with four beds no storage space for clothes ,a wardrobe with just 3 hangers. Bath was dirty as was toilet. Agreed to take the room for one night as we were all tired and not really up to moving Regretted this as room was right over the bar where music went on until 2 or 3 in the morning..Food was poor no variety at breakfast, just bread, cold boiled eggs, cheese and a type of spam, some days got yoghurt and tinned peaches. Evening meal on half board was very basic no choice at all, had pork in various ways for five meals, chicken legs for three and I'm not sure what the meat the other two days was . Swimming pool was dirty and uncared for ,spent most time at nearby Range Pool .Finally got one other room for my brother on Saturday . The only saving grace for this hotel were the restaurant ,bar staff and receptionist who were really lovely people ,

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazzak800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Arrived at Hotel Oscar 9th September 2013. Told hotel was overbooked and was moved to the Hotel Palma Beach which was opened up just for 12 of us. No air conditioning and had to walk to Oscar for our food. Moved to Oscar after 5 days.
Rooms basic, swimming pool unusable. Pool filthy and covered in debris. All people were using the pool next door at the Rose.
I booked this hotel after reading good reviews on this site. What these people are eating at home I don't know!! The food was absolutely atrocious. Breakfast was dried up bread with cheese and boiled egg. No toast.
Evening meal was worse. We were given one chicken leg with hardly any meat on 3 days out of 5. Other days was a slab of cold pork in oil. Dessert was melon nearly every night. Maybe one scoop of ice cream on the occasional night.
There is not much to do in Dassia itself. Bars and Beach. Not too bad for couples.
The area does not take debit cards at all.
At the end of 10 days couldn't wait to come home. Hadn't eaten much as food so awful.
This was the worst hotel I had ever stayed in. I complained about the food but nothing was done. You didn't have a choice of meals at dinner.
DON'T BOOK THIS HOTEL !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eve204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on the b&b board as I knew I would want to eat in various places.
The hosts and staff are fantastic and couldn't be more accomodating if they tried.
The room was turned down everyday without fail and it's a hotel where I felt safe my belongings would remain untouched (by the end of my stay, I didn't even lock anything away).
Safes are available if required, and the aircon is included (a lot of places will add a surcharge for this).
Added bonus (as was a B&B deal and primarily self catered on this experience) they provide a fridge in the room… perfect for you own drinks etc for the mid night drinks :)
Ideally located in the heart of Dassia a short walk to the beach and everything else you could want.
If your realistic with expectations this is right up your street. But please be realistic, you will not get England 5* here, this is Corfu and from previous stays in this country I can assure you it is worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozcole76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Enjoyed a good holiday break, very relaxing.

Our break was booked very last minute and the choice of Dassia and this hotel was based on proximity to airport and beach as well as cost (this was a bonus and unexpected break and we wanted minimal onward travel from the airport and in resort as well as working to a budget).

Dassia has clearly contracted due to the Greek financial situation (as has pretty much everywhere), yet had enough happening for our needs and I hope will be poised to benefit from an upturn as the situation improves.

The hotel was pretty much as described by others on TripAdvisor and presented good value for money - especially when compared (based on other Advisor comments) with the bigger resort hotels such as Chandris, just across the road. The hotel manager was warm and welcoming and we thank him for this and our one disappointment stemmed from the hotel pool and gardens. We chose not to use the pool as it didn't appear as clean as it should be and instead paid to use a pool down on the beach adjacent to and slightly to the north of hotel Chandris.

Where Opportunity Knocks is the pool and gardens could be fantastic and the rooms could also benefit from some updating. I would happily pay treble the current room rates when this is complete. Having spent time in the gardens, another opportunity would be to use some of the fresh fruit growing there (when available) at Breakfast to replace the tinned fruit offering - probably a cheaper option for the hotel.

When all said and done, we enjoyed a very relaxing, good value break and would recommend to others on that basis.

Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bladesboyforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This review is about the attached restaurant Kirki as I didnt stay in the Hotel Oscar. The restaurant I felt was the best in Dassia. The cost was a little more but the food easily justified an extra few euros. We ended up eating there every evening as the standard of food and the service was guaranteed. There were 2 staff that I felt did their job exceptionaly well. The lady was called Georgia and the chap whose name I cannot remember but he was married to a danish woman made that restaurant. They were great representatives of this business and made guests feel so welcome. An absolute assett to the restaurant and it would be a loss to the restaurant if they weren't there. . Every meal that we had was really enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dee220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed a week. Although we slept terribly the first night due to the loud bar/pub next door, we had a pleasurable experience whilst here. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and the Manager was very understanding when we explained our first night's sleep. They moved us to a room at the back of the hotel with a lovely view. The rooms are basic but serves all your needs - shower/bath (depending on the room), toilet, comfortable bed, clean and comfy bedding and towels and a lovely balcony. Our towels were changed regularly and the rooms were cleaned regularly. Overall, our experience of being in Corfu was made all the more better because of the friendly hotel staff. Also, the hotel staff offered advice on places to visit and modes of transportation. Highly recommended! Oh, and there's a lovely pool too!!

Room Tip: I would suggest picking rooms at the back of the hotel (if you can do this), as you can often be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JVoon27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed at the Oscar Hotel the first 2 weeks in June, we arrived late at night and were shown to our room by the very helpful night receptionist, the room we were allocated had a problem with the door so we were given the room next door which was on the back of the hotel, my first reaction was of great disappointment a very small dark room with little storage, draws missing from the dressing table, 3 big wardrobes but only 4 hangers the bathroom was also very small and dated. In the morning it all looked slightly better with a lovely view from the balcony over the pool and countryside.
We went down for breakfast it was the usual bread, eggs, jams, honey, ham, tomatoes, cucumber, cheese, cereals, tinned fruit, juice, tea & coffee, yogurt on 2 occasions all self service and plentiful, replenished by the lovely Marielle.
The manager Spiros came to our table and introduced himself and checked that everything was OK, we have traveled many times to Greece and other country's this is this first time this courtesy has ever been shown to us. We told him we would like a bigger room and 2 days later we moved to a front sea view room at no extra charge although the room was only slightly bigger it had a much nicer feel to it. All the rooms are very basic and dated but clean, linen and towels changed regularly. The free air con was brilliant, the TV only had one channel which was Greek. Hot water on tap at all times.
We booked half board as it was very good value for money, but for us this was a mistake we should have gone B & B which i would highly recommend. We like certain Greek dishes that were just not on the set menu for the half board guests even though we were told there were alternative meals if we didn't like what we were offered, when we tried to get an alternative it was met with a mixed reaction from the restaurant staff so we decided to just go with the flow but did not really enjoy most of the evening meals, four courses very nicely presented and filling but chicken legs, belly pork and beef burgers are not what we personally want on a Greek holiday. The food served to paying customers in the Kirki restaurant looked excellent.
All the staff were very nice and friendly including the owner Spiros who was there most of the time( Spiros is the most popular man's name in Corfu)
Dassia is only a small resort with no sandy beach but still very pleasant, not enough of a Greek feel to it for us thou.
The boat trip which leaves every day from the Corfu Chandris Hotel on the Asteras i would
recommend as a must do, also the coach trip Grand Island Tour which is of the north of the island.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and get the afternoon sun, rooms on the front have a great sea view bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kaz1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dassia hotels
0.6 mi away
Primavera
Primavera
#4 of 15 in Dassia
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corfu Palma Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Magna Graecia
Hotel Magna Graecia
#5 of 15 in Dassia
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dassia Beach
Dassia Beach
#6 of 15 in Dassia
199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Livadi Nafsika Hotel
Livadi Nafsika Hotel
#9 of 15 in Dassia
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elea Beach Hotel
Elea Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Dassia
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Hotel

Address: Korakiana, Dassia 490 83, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Dassia
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Dassia
Price Range: £42 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oscar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modest 3* Hotel, on the main road in Dassia, a mere 300m from the beach and 100m from the bus stop to Corfu Town (12Km), the Kirki restaurant with it's great selection Buffet Menu & A la Carte choices will fill your appetite, while the Viva Bar with it's smooth music and wonderful Cocktails will quench your thirst. Refresh yourselves in the sweet water swimming pool at the back of the hotel, whilst getting a good tan in the surounding garden area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oscar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Corfu/Dassia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing