We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it!”
Review of Kitty B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kitty B&B
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed at Haus Kitty for 2 nights during Woerthersee Halbmarathon. Located just 3 minutes walking to the train station and more or less 5 minutes to city centre, it was absolutely ok. Room was big and clean, with a balcony over the beautiful garden. Jill, the owner, was very helpful: on Sunday, because of the race, I had to wake up very early to eat, and, though breakfast was from 8, she prepared only for me a breakfast at 6.30!
Keep in mind that this B&B is located just behind the railway, so, if you are a lightsleeper (not our case!!!) you can have problems at night. But also keep in mind that both railway and motorway divide the town in two, so most of the hotels are next to motorway or railway.
We enjoyed it, Jill was very kind and helpful. We will be sure back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angi1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2009

We booked the Guesthouse Kitty B&B for a week in June 2009 for 32 Euros per person per night, bed and breakfast, after reading about it on Owner’s Direct. It is an attractive, semi-detached guesthouse with a large garden and small dining room. The rooms are basic but clean, with a fridge and tea making facilities. Breakfast was continental and there was no evening meal available, however, this might change, as the Guesthouse Kitty is under new management. Our room had a large balcony that overlooked the neighbours’ gardens, as did the other 5 rooms.

Owner’s Direct state that it is in a prime location and a 5 minute walk from Lake Worthersee. This is not true. It is situated in the same road as Portschach train station and to walk to Lake Worthersee, you have to cross the railway line and the main road through Portschach.

We particularly chose this guesthouse because it was run by an English couple (we speak very little German), it had several good reviews on the internet and Owners Direct said that it was suitable for ‘a relaxing break’. However, these reviews omitted to mention that the Austrian International train line runs past the bottom of the garden. The owner Barry, who had just sold The Kitty Guesthouse to another English couple, told us that 200+ trains go past every day/night. The train noise was particularly bad around 4 am every morning when 4 consecutive freight trains woke us up, even with our windows closed. At times, when sitting in the garden, the noise from the trains was so bad that we couldn’t hear each other speak. There was also a lot of noise from the neighbour’s children, which is not surprising, as the Kitty Guesthouse is situated next to residential houses. We went to Austria for peace and quiet and I am amazed that none of the reviews we read mentioned how noisy it was at the Kitty Guesthouse.

As we had arranged to settle our bill at Kitty b&b at the end of our stay, we were fortunate enough to be able to check out after several days and move to the 3* Hotel - Restaurant Diana, a short walk inland from the Kitty Guesthouse at Fronweg 30. This hotel was recommended to us by Barry for our evening meals.

The Hotel Diana charged 34 Euros per person per night with breakfast or 42 Euros person per night half board and couldn’t have been happier, especially as Ernst, the owner, spoke very good English. We booked half board. The Hotel Diana had lovely traditional Austrian rooms with digital TV and an excellent breakfast and impressive 3 course evening meal. It was a pleasure to relax in the lounge bar, the patio area or the very large gardens, depending on the weather and chat with an after dinner drink.

Like most hotels in this area, the Hotel Diana also gave us a free Worthersee/Kärnten card, saving us 42 Euros per person and they booked us on a free 3-country trip to Lake Bled in Slovenia and Tarvis in Italy, using this card. This card was not supplied by the Kitty Guesthouse and guests there paid 35 Euros each for the basic Kärnten Card, which they bought at the information office, situated next door to the post office in Portschach. The staff spoke very good English at the information office. It has free internet access and a display of available hotels and apartments in the area .

We are going back to Portschach shortly. It is a very beautiful, unspoilt area and Ryanair flights to Klagenfurt are very cheap. We have booked to stay at the Helios Apartments, 34 Fronweg, next to the hotel Diana, and run by Paul Hopkins from England and his Austrian wife Iris. The Helios Apartments are completely private, beautifully furnished and fantastic value for money. The downstairs one bedroom apartment is 60 Euros a night with terrace and the upstairs 2 bedroom apartment, with a huge lounge, full kitchen and huge balcony with beautiful views of Lake Worthersee and the mountains, is 90 Euros a night. This gives us the option of cooking our own meals, (which we couldn't do at the Kitty Guesthouse), especially as there are several supermarkets in Portschach, or walking next door and having dinner at the Hotel Diana.

It has been written that the Kitty Guesthouse is a cheap place to stay in Portschach, but we didn’t find this to be the case. We found that 3* hotels and apartments in this area give much better value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank domidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensionKitty, Owner at Kitty B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2010

We would like to respond to this review as the new owners of Pension Kitty. We took over Pension Kitty last year and have been investing in the service and quality of our accommodation, including new satelite flat screen TVs. We now also offer a halfboard option in addition to an evening menu for our in house guests.

Our guests have found the location of Pension Kitty to be very convenient - we are just 8 walking minutes from the centre of Pörtschach and 150m from the free swimming area of Lake Wörthersee. This convenience of location and accommodation is offered at very reasonable rates.

In regards to the comments re trains it is a fact that the main line runs through the entire town of Pörtschach. The town has both the railway and the motorway - not an uncommon situation in Austria given we are not far from the Karawanken mountains and the need for public transport to run through the mountain passes. Our location has just the train - and is on the whole a peaceful location when compared with the traffic noise from the motorway and High Street. We do have some trains that run during the night and yes, if you are a light sleeper, may disturb your sleep. Since taking over the ownership of Pension Kitty we have had only a few comments re the trains -many of our guests in fact have booked a return visit.

Should you be looking for complete peace then we would recommend a Pension away from the Lake and up towards Moosburg or of course a more expensive room in one of the Hotels direct on the lakeshore.

We appreciate your concerns and comments and wish you well on your next visit to Lake Wörthersee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirekCh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank PeterGouwentak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016
3  Thank Anneke366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fernandezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank PeterGouwentak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portschach am Worther See hotels
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Poertschach
Parkhotel Poertschach
#1 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Balance
Hotel Balance
#6 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
114 reviews
1.5 mi away
Schloss Seefels Hotel
Schloss Seefels Hotel
#2 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seehotel Porcia
Seehotel Porcia
#9 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
#3 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
121 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astoria
Astoria
#10 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kitty B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kitty B&B

Address: 10.-Oktober-Strasse 74a, Portschach am Worther See 9210, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Portschach am Worther See
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portschach am Worther See
Price Range: £67 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House Kitty is an ideal place to stay. We are located very close to the centre of Pörtschach where bars, restaurants and shops are to be found as well as the warm waters of the Lake Worthersee, one of the most beautiful and famous of the Austrian Lakes. The region is ideal for those who enjoy relaxing, walking, swimming, bike riding in additional to exploring the nearby mountains, castles and beautiful churches! A boat service operates throughout the summer allowing the lake-side towns and villages to be explored at a leisurely pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kitty B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kitty B&B Austria/Portschach Am Worther See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing