We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astoria
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I liked this hotel, because I like in general the hotels with their own charm. We have stayed there for three nights in August - and everything was exellent! I just have read the negative reviews here and was a little bit astonished. For example - my room was rather big, light, comfortable, high ceiling, very clean, modern and nice. The balcony had a tennis court view - but there were no any discomfort due to this fact at all- no music, etc. The breakfast was very varied - everything you wish. The cyclysts are everywhere in this land - so it is obvious that we can ask to rent a bike (free of charge). We have had very nice bike promenade around the lake - bikeways are everywhere, nice views. Also we rented a boat (Pedalo) for the lake promenade (free too). The pool was really small, and nobody swam in it. The area around the pool is very agreable and relaxing, as well as the area of the private beach. Overall it was the very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    18
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

The Astoria is situated on the Lake..it stands out not only because of it's old style architecture , also because it's PINK, very Pink. Staying there for four weeks was revitalizing. The Hotel has it's own Boot Haus (boat house ) café, which catered for lunch, dinners and anything in-between. The hotel provided a wide range of food for breakfast ... excellent service also. Attached to the boat house was your own private sun deck, lay and soak up the sun (which at 39 to 40 c temperatures) was hard not to do, although slipping into the cool, clear, clean lake water was refreshing. The Hotel provided anything you needed for a day of water activities to the privacy you need in your rooms. The best of all is the location, a 2 min walk and you are in the main street of Portschach where there is shopping and many Summer events (concerts, art, motorbike meets, vintage cars, lake side concerts ). A perfect spot for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: A good room would be a full view of the Lake on the 3rd floor. You can view the sun rise and set ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mloborec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel, more for the charm and location than anything else, right in the heart, walking distance to everything (but does have a large car park on site). Breakfast was good, beautiful to eat on the terrace in summer. Rooms very clean and modern, well furnished and comfortable. This hotel being as pretty as it is attracts a lot of bus tours. It appears to be there bread and butter and they get the best rooms. Tour operators are repeat business, I got the feeling other guest are perceived one offs. Big mistake. We were there for the tennis, Yes the tennis courts are right next door.( Loud speaker from the courts a little to loud for breakfast).word of mouth recommendations are highly regarded in the tennis community.
Having just so many tennis courts right next door which has numerous tournaments each year should encourage this hotel to look after people who are more than likely to return for these events.
Hospitality and in this location is very competitive, its attitude is to just churn people over.
Because this hotel is so very different to others it has a unique opportunity to lift its game and shine.
We will choose another hotel for our next three trips to this region in the coming months.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melb50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

we just came back from a vacation in astoria hotel, we were very disappointed of the hotel because of the following:
1.the rooms are very small with very tiny beds, located just next to a tennis stadium so you wake up every early morning on the sounds of either tennis balls or a very high music from the stadium, moreover there is no aircondition so you cannot just close the window.
2.the swimming pool is just tiny, with extremely small beach packed with people most of the time and no service whatsoever on the beach. if u are lucky and manage to get a place on the beach there is no privacy at all.
3.the hotel is markedly undrstaffed and extremely kiotic and they nearly do not give u any information, we accidentally discovred on our last day that there is available bikes at the hotel.
4. they close the door at midnigth, it is very common scene to find people blocked outside the entrance because they were not informed, i had to open the door twice for blocked guests outside.
5.the reception is really kiotic, the lady at reception seemed to be very confused about the billing system, she was figthing with one guest about the bill because she could not pass the information properly, even with my bill she was confused wether it was charged at the time of booking or not yet.
6.very difficult to retrieve information from the reception specially most of the info is written in german, if u ask the reception i do think you will recieve the accurate info, in addition they are compltely not friendly, nothing personal, but general attitude.
7. the breakfast is much less than aaverage with very very limited choice.
8.the computer at reception is horrible with a mouse almost not working.

Room Tip: very noisy rooms due to the tennis stadium and five tennis courts, try to be as much as possible fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmed s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

beautiful old building with amazing boat house restaurant, full of character , much nicer looking than the modern hotels surrounding it. Hallway doesn't do it justice as furnishings and ornaments a bit of a mish mash of styles. bedrooms nicely refurbished but photos on web don't do them justice and curtains a little too flowery and makes it look dated on the photos which it isn't. ideally located right on the lakeside with its own bathing area which is a must as it is like Italy with private payable beaches. neat garden area which could have done with a few more flowers but well kept. waiting on staff friendly , breakfast good, only negative is would have liked a better selection of fresh fruit. Ate in the boat house restaurant a couple of evenings, service one night was extremely slow but food good and huge portions. Would have had lunch there but they didn't do snacks only main meals so went next door to the pruller hotel for a snack. They are missing out there as I watched quite a few look for a snack menu but on finding there wasn't one do the same as us and go next door. Great having free bike hire and rowing boat and pedalo hire. There was an old computer to use free of charge in the hallway, but extremely slow if it would work at all. The modern customer is looking for wifi . Receptionist with dark hair no good with directions so better to follow the GPS. Towels not changed all week . All in all a good stay I would recommend it, just needs a little attention to details in one or two areas but nothing major.

Room Tip: We had one on the 2nd floor with 2 balconies , one a huge one over looking the tennis courts ( which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archiem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Beautiful very modern room and bathroom. Great location on the lake, near the lake boat station, near restauants. Portschack is a very upscale town on the lake and so is the hotel. Must have a view room to truly enjoy this location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlkarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

Old building adapted for a hotel - hence narrow ways, awkward tiny rooms. Totally ugly double beds - just two beds put together so you inevitably fall in between.
Nice location at the sea promenade
Nice breakfast
Parking
Nice shower in the room

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portschach am Worther See hotels
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Poertschach
Parkhotel Poertschach
#3 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Schloss Seefels Hotel
Schloss Seefels Hotel
#1 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake's - my lake hotel & spa
Lake's - my lake hotel & spa
#5 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
#2 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Balance
Hotel Balance
#9 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dermuth Hotels – Hotel Dermuth
Dermuth Hotels – Hotel Dermuth
#7 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria

Property: Astoria
Address: Annastrasse 43, Portschach am Worther See 9210, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Portschach am Worther See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portschach am Worther See
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portschach am Worther See
#4 Luxury Hotel in Portschach am Worther See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Austria/Portschach Am Worther See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing