We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Portschach”
Review of Pension Ria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Ria
Certificate of Excellence
NY
1 review
“The best place to stay in Portschach”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I spent about a week at Pension Ria. The owners are very friendly and the place is spotless clean! It is very close to the lake and any local attractions. They have great breakfast with fresh local bread, fruit, and many other good things. You will always feel welcome and want to come back for sure! I am not surprised that they have so many regulars coming back every year to stay at Pension Ria.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela9274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    20
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
50
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I spent 4 nights in this Pension and found the service very good indeed. Friendly, warm, helpful staff and lodging is comfortable. Unexpected bonuses: I was able to borrow a bicycle free of charge and an umbrella for the sudden showers. Less than 5 minutes walk to the lake. Overall, a winner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This pension is a little gem. The rooms are quite average and bathrooms small and simple, but Christine, the owner of the hotel, makes up for all of that. The is very kind and service-minded. She will go out of her way to help you feel comfortable and provide you with tips for the area. You feel like you stay in a family home. The pension is situated a little distance from the lake, but in 5 minutes walk you are right at the shore. Breakfast is served on a nice terasse, and they will lend you cutlery and glasses if you buy your own lunch or take-out pizzas. I cannot recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: The small doubles are quite small, so if you are average height don't take those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkcsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

As a fellow guest commented when I remarked on the superb breakfasts; 'I think they get it just right'. Guests are given a warm welcome and the staff are helpful in all sorts of ways. A comfortable, relaxing experience, which I would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GILLIAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2013

On your arrival you are greeted warmly by christine who speaks excellent English too. Pension Ria is such a find. Fantastic location off the main road close to shops, restaurants and lake .Great for walking and cycling too! The accommodation is second to none. Clean, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. An excellent example to all hoteliers. We would definitely recommend Pension Ria to friends and would stay there again .

Room Tip: Christine will help you select a room suitable to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David s c C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stinchcombe hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Guest houses like this one I believe, are a rare find these days and when you do you almost don't want to tell anyone and keep it a secret BUT I have been asked to spread the word!!

Traditional,welcoming ,friendly,helpful and caring are all the words which spring to mind when I think of Pension Ria. A family run bed and breakfast with that extra personal touch which is sometimes lacking in todays society. Try it for yourself..you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karinshipman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I would just like to share my experience staying at this gorgeous guest house. The rooms are sumptuous and comfortable not what you would expect from a normal guest house. The breakfast is outstanding and the choice is amazing. Christine and Stuart the hosts are so friendly and helpful and any problem you have whatever it may be is solved to the best of their ability, Situated a short walk from the lake this is the perfect place to stay and I cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portschach am Worther See hotels
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Poertschach
Parkhotel Poertschach
#3 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Schloss Seefels Hotel
Schloss Seefels Hotel
#1 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria
Astoria
#4 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lake's - my lake hotel & spa
Lake's - my lake hotel & spa
#6 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
#2 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schloss Leonstain
Hotel Schloss Leonstain
#10 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Ria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Ria

Property: Pension Ria
Address: Koschatweg 2, Portschach am Worther See 9210, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Portschach am Worther See
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portschach am Worther See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension RIA*** We simply love having guests! RIA is an exceptional, smart and affordable bed and breakfast in the center of Pörtschach, very close to the beautiful Wörthersee, next door to the Congress Center Wörthersee, the Werzer Tennis Arena, shops, bars, restaurants.Service is our credo, individuality first, different, fair deal. You will love it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pension Ria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Ria Austria/Portschach Am Worther See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing