We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired castle,but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Schloss Leonstain
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hotel needs renovation for sure, after that it can be rightfully called 4* schloss hotel. Cant be compared to other schloss hotels at this location, its more like cold monastery,castle. Room was smelly, typical smell of old buildings, mouldering joist(woodworm?) loosing wooden pieces right on white blanket. But expect for that it was clean and spacious, missed minibar to chill some drinks. The wedding parties at courtyard are really a big problem. Old windows arent soundproof at all and even if the group of noisy people moves inside, it doesnt help at all. Disco woke me up at 3 a.m. and lasted at least to 4 a.m.. Weddings are for sure very profitable for the hotel, so nobody would tell them to switch the music off and go sleep.
Hotel beach and pier is very nice, but unfortunatelly weather wasnt good enough to enjoy it properly.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter, but only in case of NO wedding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeggyBrno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph N, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Schloss Leonstain, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Dear Meggy,

first of all we are pretty sorry, that you 2 did not get what you have expected.
Please allow us to show you a second view:

Of course we do offer weddings, partys and so on but we inform all other guest in the minute we get their inquiry so they can choose either to come or not. In your case you had a special offer, because there was a wedding planned and via reservation email and confirmation email we informed again about the wedding.

Of course our castle is old, but we do renovate regularly and our staff is instructed to clean every room properly, but you still might have a smell of history.

Of course, we´d love to change weather conditions, but unfortunately we can not...yet.

Last but not least we like to let you know that we love to make all our guests as happy as possible, so it is much easier to tell us things right away because just then we can change things. We can offer you alternativs only when we know it right away.

All the best your Team Leonstain Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2010

If Austria prides itself for well-trained hospitality people and exceeding service quality, it was must passed over this property. It felt more like 50 years back....with a rather cold welcome and a grumpy bell-boy, followed by clueless service.
Considering the prime amount of money that is charged, it is most definitely not worth it. Especially disappointing is the "pre-fixed rules & regulations" if you want to eat in the restaurant (being a houseguest). Not knowing about the menu or the style of cuisine might hold you back from a pre-booking (which has some wicked cancellation paragraphs, that already make it too hard to even consider). At check-in we were advised (by a lady who clearly was disturbed by customers turning up, and was very busy on the phone and attending to other guest inquiries instead of speeding up our check-in) that we need to book a table for dinner. Well - fair enough. We wanted to unload the luggage & check in and - as a next step - take care of the dinner bookings. But - Too late - the last table!! had just been sold to non-house-guests. After a small discussion, which clearly didn't go down too well, I was rewarded with a table for 2. but ONLY if we can be there at 7.00pm. The restaurant, has to be mentioned, is a gault-milliau rated 2-Hauben-Restaurant, however, nowhere is mentioned, who is actually the chef there. Is it still the guy who earned the award?!? Showing up at 7 for dinner, we didn't experience any rush or even full house until we left at around 9.45 - surprise - as it was "sold out to the last table". - 3 tables (1x4, 2x2) remained empty the whole evening; other 2 cleared out early and where not re-booked. And, the back-section of the restaurant, with easily another 10 tables in side, was not even set-up for dinner. So where again was the trouble with getting my booking? Or is it part of the "we are so important, we want to be recognized to be an important restaurant/hotel" attitude, that came on to me? The only blessing was a young waitress, who did not only know her service attitude to the finest, she was also highly knowledgable about wine recommendations and was making friendly small talk when suitable. A true star and hopefully she'll get out of there soon and end up in a place that deserves her qualities. the other waiters were dressed in disgusting uniforms. 2-Hauben or not - if I dine at a restaurant of that rate, even with a modern touch, i do NOT want to see waiters in jeans, t-shirt and sneakers. What happened to proper uniforms of some kind? was that all washed away by "new age"?! The Chef never came out to check on the customers, not that we would have known who was the chef. As per the Gault Milliau write-up, the initial one had left a while ago. So - are the prices still justified?! The food was good, but not exceedingly good. Nothing, that you wouldn't get in any well-rated restaurant. Their pet-policy is also quite interesting, as it is clearly mentioned in their pages of R&R's that pets aren't allowed in the restaurant. Though, another table happily brought a very big dog in ?!? The check-out next morning was even "colder" (attitude) than the check-in, and happily we made our way. The property looks nice, but needs a lot of TLC - some investment in fixing clearly visible flaws and get some good staff, might help. The rooms are nice, yet, heartless - the bathroom has a beautiful big tub over the corner, yet, no warm and comfy feeling - more like a hospital bathroom. So, the money spent there - not worth at all, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam7506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Our wedding at Leonstain will be remembered by family, our guests and ourselves as a fine celebration, still laid back, and finally, a great party.
Carinthia was new to most of our friends from abroad. And after coming to the region, the build up of positive experiences on this weekend to the great time we had at the wedding was already a good start. The sourroundings of lake Woerth were appreciated by all guests. The beach club provides a relaxed atmosphere for everybody to hang out together while the food and drink was very good. Service is very personal and the team caters to the individual needs. The actual reception and dinner was carefully plannned with us (maybe a bit overplanned...), and it all turned out the way we wanted... if have to say,,, even a bit better... our guests even congratulated us to the choice of venue before the party was over... no further explanations to give...
the brunch in the courtyard of the hotel next morning ensured a relaxed finale and off we went on honeymon... hope we will be back for drinks or dinner soon... thanks to the team again!!! B&J

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakobforstnig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

This hotel could be excellent. In spite of its unprepossessing location on a modest area of land between the main road and a railway line the old building is lovely and there is a great central courtyard to sit in. But the hotel appears to be managed by some very young people whose tastes require constant ibiza style "buddha bar" music in the central area. The music is on so loud that there is no escape from it in the bedrooms. The central courtyard is also used as a restaurant and even for weddings, one night we had to tolerate a disco until 2.30 am.

I would only recommend this place if you want to party until late. If you are looking for peace and relaxation, I would avoid it.

The place seems to have undergone some sort of "trendy" makeover in the public rooms in recent years (bright pink poodle candles and notices advertising cosmetics telling you to "pimp yourself"?!). On the other hand, our bedroom had not been renovated and was looking rather "tired".

On a separate note, the food in the restaurant was very good and it is a good place for a meal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WDPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

It's an amazing place to spend modern times in place you feel like a princess 100 years ago...

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metajuliane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We first realised the leonstain by its fantastic homepage. Wow, a really young hotel in the - lets face it - quite old fashioned lake woerthersee. When we then arrived there, we were just dazzled from all this warm an honest friendlyness. It had nothing to do with any other hotel we were in - and we use to travel a lot - from 3 to 5 stars and all around the word. The leonstain is special. It is eceptional beautiful, the food is stunning, the rooms enchanting. But what makes it incomparable is the charme of the owners and of every single person working there. We felt like home. Even better.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WinifredBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

You feel that they thought about how to satisfy guests.
Very relaxed and charming allthough highly professional with a lot of nice details!
Great restaurant!
Wörthersee = Leonstain for me!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EvaBardel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portschach am Worther See hotels
0.8 mi away
Schloss Seefels Hotel
Schloss Seefels Hotel
#2 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Poertschach
Parkhotel Poertschach
#1 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
Werzer's Hotel Resort Portschach
#3 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Astoria
Astoria
#10 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
66 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Balance
Hotel Balance
#5 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seehotel Porcia
Seehotel Porcia
#9 of 13 in Portschach am Worther See
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Schloss Leonstain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schloss Leonstain

Address: Leonsteinerstrasse 1, Portschach am Worther See 9210, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Carinthia > Portschach am Worther See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Portschach am Worther See
#10 Luxury Hotel in Portschach am Worther See
Price Range: £133 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Schloss Leonstain 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Schloss Leonstain ( the Castle Hotel Leonstain) on the Wörthersee ( Lake Wörther): Romance with 4 star comfort in Kärnten (Carynthia)Peace, relaxtaion, culinary delights and a feeling of pure well being – just the right ingredients for a romantic summer holiday in Hotel Schloss Leonstain on the banks of the Wörthersee in CarynthiaHotel Schloss Leonstain – a romantic yet modern hotel for the perfect holiday, for that special event or occasion, situated on the banks of the Wörthersee in Austria, close to Klagenfurt Airport. Here, in the heart of Carynthia you will find everything you need for a relaxing, peaceful stay. Golf, watersports, walking, hiking, cycling, Leonstain also offers the perfect location for your wedding, birthday celebrations, christening or that important business seminar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Schloss Leonstain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Leonstain Hotel
Hotel Schloss Leonstain Austria/Portschach Am Worther See

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing