We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Schloss Matzen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schloss Matzen
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We only were able to stay one night in this incredible castle, but could have spent many more. I'm still in awe with the renovations and attention to detail right down to what books are in the library and what fabrics are used in the rooms. The chapel blew me away! I felt like I was staying in a museum! What an experience! The receptionist was so helpful and nice--I think she said she was new. Simply amazing!

Room Tip: Due to the number I Of historic artifacts, I wouldn't brings kinds under ten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petey032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    12
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
21
51
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Not our first castle to stay at in Europe, I think its 8th or 9th, so I have some grounds for comparison... Excellent place to stay for a few nights... Very spacious rooms, lovely interior, great & cozy spa/chill out/bar area in the tower. Definitely reasonably priced. Not much to do around the castle within a walking distance but Salzburg & Neuschwanstein are not that far away by car... Only 13 rooms in the castle so might be a good option to rent the whole thing out for some event / occasion.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Slick_whale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Rio, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful experience! The castle was everything one could hope for in decadence and beauty. The door locks and stair ways were our favorite part. But the staff was friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast was a spread of delicious meats, cheeses, fruit and more. I would highly reccomend this for someone wanting to break from the city and enjoy the quiet country. Or anyone who wants to experience what it was like to be king

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

One of our finest travel memories is certain to be of Schloss Matzen. It was a remarkable experience and clearly no expense was spared in the remodel. (I have a background in construction and was exceedingly impressed.) The room was massive, the bathroom and tub were very luxurious, furniture was very stylish and the bed was exceptionally comfortable.

We enjoyed the breakfast in the morning -- such a beautiful room. We walked around the property and adjacent park, enjoying the fresh air and view of the mountains. Everything felt very magical.

One previous reviewer had excellent guidance on location. One change, the restaurant where you turn to get to the entrance is now called Cafe Restaurant Gastgarten. That review had excellent advice on GPS coordinates and even though we knew what to expect, we paused and doubted whether we really should drive up the hill on the path...there were people walking on this path and yes, it really does lead you to the entrance even though you feel as though you may be off-roading a bit!

As another review wrote, the shower didn't get hot enough for us either but it was not a problem with the bathtub at all.

If you have the chance to enjoy this historic property, please do. You won't be disappointed. It's a unique experience and one we enjoyed tremendously. I only wish we had explored the castle more. We couldn't remember how to get to the library!

Room Tip: We chose the Carolsfeld Superior. The website has excellent photos of each room. What I enjoyed wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5KPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

If you want to actually stay the night in a castle, then my wife and I would highly recommend this place (also Tullock Castle in Scotland).

This place was an amazing combination of a castle yet with all the conveniences of a modern hotel. We stayed during the off-season and pretty much had the entire castle to ourselves. Our German is poor at best but we had no issues and the breakfast was truly amazing.


Be careful of sites pretending to be a castle hotels...these are usually hotels right next to a castle. This is a true castle and also a hotel. We had a very good meal at the base of the castle (Gus Matzen).


Again...highly recommended. My wife and I will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ajhlpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Beautifully renovated old castle with plenty of atmosphere throughout. We loved the various stairways and passageways to be explored. Bedrooms beautifully set out with spacious bathrooms (although I did give up on the water getting hot enough in the shower). Breakfast room worth lingering in. Staff very friendly and helpful although we could have been warned we needed to have a code to get back in after we went out fora walk and returned around dusk - felt like a poor wayfarer rattling the gates of the castle to be allowed in.
The price is what you would expect to pay for a romantic setting.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LyndellandMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Wow is what we said a lot staying at the Schloss Matzen. This castle is incredible and has kept its old world charm!! We were more then happy with our room, the staff, the breakfast was delicious and fresh! After our arrival we immediately regretted not staying longer. We hope to come back here in the future!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melliebd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reith im Alpbachtal
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kirchenwirt
Hotel Kirchenwirt
#1 of 6 in Reith im Alpbachtal
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pirchner Hof
Pirchner Hof
#3 of 6 in Reith im Alpbachtal
40 reviews
4.1 mi away
Romantikhotel Boglerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Sporthotel Sonnenuhr
Sporthotel Sonnenuhr
#1 of 7 in Kramsach
26 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpbach Apartments
Alpbach Apartments
#5 of 6 in Reith im Alpbachtal
6 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alpbacherhof Hotel
Alpbacherhof Hotel
#2 of 9 in Alpbach
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schloss Matzen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schloss Matzen

Property: Schloss Matzen
Address: Matzen 5 | 6235 Reith I.A, Reith im Alpbachtal 6235, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Reith im Alpbachtal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Reith im Alpbachtal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schloss Matzen 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Schlosshotel Matzen. Enjoy a few days of holiday in the lovingly refurbished rooms , junior suites and romance of the 1000 year old castle Matzen . The Castle Hotel is picturesquely embedded in the nature of the Tyrolean Inn valley on a small hill near the village of Brixlegg and has direct access to the park . The stylish rooms of our castle hotels have spacious , luxuriously appointed bathrooms . Many special amenities such as LED / satellite TV and free wireless internet access provide modern comforts in the historic walls UNIQUE IN THE ALPINE REGION The old castle keep of 1150 became the modern spa tower with massage, Finnish sauna, Turkish steam bath, GYM with Technogym equipment, a rest room and in the spire with a spa lounge , converted . Here you will find everything you need for your well -being. Schloss Matzen Hotel in Tyrol / Austria - We look forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Schloss Matzen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Matzen Austria/Reith Im Alpbachtal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing