We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature pure”
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Icehotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nature pure”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Although it was a very short visit in Jukkasjärvi Icehotel I enjoyed every minute! It was so intense with all the excursions we made. We arrived at lunch time, had an excellent lunch and then discovered the surroundings. In the evening we drove snow scooter to a cabin where we had dinner. When we came out from the cabin we were lucky to see the northern light - Beautiful! Fantastic! We drove back to the hotel and slept on ice-beds in sleeping bags. Wonderful.
Next day sauna and then off with the sledge which we drove ourselfes. Four huskies in front of you who only wanted to run, run and run. Through snow-covered Beautiful landscape to a hut in the wilderness. Here sauna, good food and a nights rest. Next morning off again with the huskies and sledges back to the hotel. Very Quick visit but Worth every minute!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabine9328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    338
    96
    38
    12
See reviews for
229
759
51
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
392 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We are vegetarian but still the chef made special effort and the food was great.
The activities a few all worth trying out. Make sure you keep a warm room along with the ice room as I am susceptible to sinus and so had to move to it by four am due to headache.

Walk around the town and go visit abisko.
Amazing landscape and truly a place on the bucket list of must do in life.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ViralAhmedabad_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
213 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went there on a company trip and the ice hotel was obviously one of the highlights. It is absolutely impressive to walk through all the rooms in the afternoon and admire the ice sculptures and furnitures. Of course not to forget the ice cold drink at the ice bar. Sleeping in the cold room is not as bad as it sounds, you'll get a nice and warm sleeping bag which keeps you warm during the night. Just make sure you don't drink too much before going to bed because you don't want to get up again during the night. The wake-up call is done with some girls bringing hot juice to your bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed the last weekend the Icehotel was open which we noticed by the slightly slushy ground around the hotel. However, inside it was still very hard ice and nothing dripped at all. Amazing hotel...you get enough information about what to wear and the sleeping bag they give you keeps the warmth all night. The main problem is just not being used to sleeping on a hard bed! Definitely recommend sleeping in the cold to truly enjoy the whole 'ice' experience. Second night we spent in the warm Kaamos huts which were 'normal' warm cottages. We also had a really nice dinner at the hotel and of course enjoyed the full breakfast buffet they offered. Once in a lifetime experience so don't hesitate to stay in the cold part.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmmiStockholm_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Wow! This place is absolutely amazing. We stayed here in both the cold and warm accommodation as part of the "Weekend a la Carte" tour package and it blew us away. The place is amazing and the details and work involved to create the ice hotel, the ice bar is just mind boggling. For the cold accommodation, we stayed in the deluxe art suite consisting of dancing polar bears and the whole place came to life with twinkling blue lights at night. We were given a super warm roomy sleeping bag (we requested a double as a couple) for the night, and it kept us incredibly warm. Of course we wearing our thermals and wooly socks but seriously we did not feel cold at all. We were woken up with a hot cup of lingonberry juice was really nice. In the evening we hit the icebar, and that was a really enjoyable experience. The shot glasses are all made of ice, and so are the bar tables, stools, and chandeliers. Wear the shoes they provide as the floor is made of compacted snow and ice too.

The food is very very expensive here and quite ordinary for what you pay for, but there is a grocery store down the road, which is about a 10-25 min walk.

We had a great time at the ice hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: You pay a bit more, but worth getting a deluxe art suite. Each room is unique and will never be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I took my fiance to the IceHotel as his 30th birthday present, and I can't recommend it highly enough. Yes, it is expensive. But you soon get over that - it's totally worth it!

This was the best holiday of our lives and we have recommended it to absolutely everyone we know. The hotel is absolutely spectacular. The staff are incredibly friendly and polite. The "warm rooms" are lovely - very Scandinavian in design - cosy and minimalist. The food is unbelievable. The cocktails in the IceBar are lethal! They are also delicious.

A few tips:
- We didn't go with a tour company; we organised it ourselves. That meant we had 2 night and 3 days in Jukkasjarvi, which was plenty. SAS do cheap flights.
- You NEED to do excursions to fill your days. They are mega expensive, but they are all fantastic. It would be very boring to go to the IceHotel and not do any excursions so you really must do one a day at least. We did the Snowmobile Northern Lights Tour (even though we didn't see the Northern Lights, this was amazing because the snowmobiles were so fun!) and the Husky Sled which was really fun too. I heard that the horseback tours were excellent.
- STAY IN AN ART SUITE! This is an absolute must, in my eyes. Lots of people take the view that because you can walk around them all day, there's no need to sleep in one. I strongly disagree! Sleeping in a -5 degree room is a bonkers thing to do. There seems no point to me in sleeping in one which is plain - it just isn't as special!!
- If you book an Art Suite on a week night, it is significantly cheaper than a weekend. By staying in the Art Suite on a Monday instead of a Sunday, I saved over £100.
- There is no problem staying in the cold room on the 2nd night instead of the 1st. It's just that all the tours are geared up for you to do it on your first night.
- Eat in the restaurant. We had the "Ice Menu" with the matching wines. Again, expensive - but delicious and it just added to the experience!
- The Sami Reindeer thing in the village is pretty rubbish and it cost about £20 each! The only fun thing was feeding the reindeer....which lasted about 5 mins!!

Room Tip: Go for an art suite. To save money, go on a week night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staceyonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We travelled with Discover The World and it was superb. We couldn't fault the trip or how it was organised. The Icehotel is amazing, it is such a special place. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Book plenty of excursions, we went on the dog sled and snowmobiles. We walked into the village to the local museum and had a look at the pretty church during our spare time. The warm accommodation is very nice. Staying overnight in the cold room was certainly an experience and well recommended. We slept very well. The warm ligonberry juice is lovely to be woken up to. We would recommend booking a suite because you get your own changing room then rather than just using the communal area. The facilities are very nice and well maintained. We ate in the Icehotel restaurant which is much closer than the Homestead restaurant. When at the Icehotel, take advantage of using their mittens, balaclavas etc when yours get wet.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Starxsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
9.3 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
7.8 mi away
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
#9 of 15 in Kiruna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
16.6 mi away
Arctic Gourmet Cabin
Arctic Gourmet Cabin
#4 of 15 in Kiruna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Property: Icehotel
Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icehotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing