We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy a warm room in a cold place”
Review of Icehotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Icehotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

It was an adventure to go to this remote part of Sweden as part of our quest to see the northern lights. We wanted to stay at the Ice Hotel rather than just make a day trip as we were keen to wander around at leisure. We booked a warm hotel room rather than a cold/ice room although those are what attract most people to this hotel. As hotel guests, we had free access to the ice rooms and structures during the day. The art suites and sculptures were awesome. The artistry and skill that went into carving them is remarkable. If we had paid a huge(r) price to book one of these special rooms, we might have felt bound to stay up all night and keep the lights on just to make it all worthwhile! We do not regret the room choice we made. In the evening, we had a lovely though costly set dinner at the Ice Hotel Restaurant. The portions were small but the taste and presentation - some on ice plates - were great. After dinner, we were happy to retire to our room, which was spacious and warm (actually, too warm!). It was challenging walking around in the snow but the heavy waterproof boots provided by the hotel made moving around easy. The village about 1 km down the road was an interesting visit - there is an old church and a Sami museum and reindeer park, and we passed attractive houses along the way that reflected the artic lifestyle with snowmobiles and kick sleds parked in the driveways.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank MyFairD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

637 - 643 of 1,556 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at the ice hotel as part of an organised group. It is rather expensive to visit but well worth visiting at least once. You are provided with a warm oversuit and snow boots if you want them during your stay and there is a warm room with large lockers for your bags and suitcases, there are also showers and toilets here too. When you get into the ice hotel itself you will be amazed at what can be built, especially the art suites when walking around you could here everyone usually saying wow as they entered each room. If you stay in the hotel I would recommend the ice rooms if you can afford - these are basic but have ice furniture and an ice picture and are just that little bit more fancy than the snow room. The shop is full of all the gifts you may want to purchase from pens to larger toys and jewellery. The restaurant was very expensive for what you get, but there isn't a great deal of choice where to eat. overall it is worth visiting at least once In your life.

Room Tip: on a tight budget choose a snow room, if you can afford a little bit more choose the ice room. Only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purplepolarbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Spent a wonderful afternoon, evening and overnight in an ice room. Outside temperature -38, inside the ice hotel, -8, you can request a certificate when collecting your sleeping bag. Facilities very clean, staff very helpful and treated each couple as special. The lunch in the restaurant was full buffet style and excellent value, the evening meal was heavenly. The wine menu is pricey but the diamond cocktails good value and cheeky-think martini glass with a large cube of ice that you balance on your nose to sip your tipple! Sleeping in an ice room should be on your bucket list. Gift shop had range of goods to suit all pockets. One of our glass gifts was not packed with our shopping, we contacted by email and it was sent on to us by return, brilliant service.

Room Tip: Check the website for prices, they rise near the weekends, if you can afford it go for two nights, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Although it was a very short visit in Jukkasjärvi Icehotel I enjoyed every minute! It was so intense with all the excursions we made. We arrived at lunch time, had an excellent lunch and then discovered the surroundings. In the evening we drove snow scooter to a cabin where we had dinner. When we came out from the cabin we were lucky to see the northern light - Beautiful! Fantastic! We drove back to the hotel and slept on ice-beds in sleeping bags. Wonderful.
Next day sauna and then off with the sledge which we drove ourselfes. Four huskies in front of you who only wanted to run, run and run. Through snow-covered Beautiful landscape to a hut in the wilderness. Here sauna, good food and a nights rest. Next morning off again with the huskies and sledges back to the hotel. Very Quick visit but Worth every minute!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sabine9328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We are vegetarian but still the chef made special effort and the food was great.
The activities a few all worth trying out. Make sure you keep a warm room along with the ice room as I am susceptible to sinus and so had to move to it by four am due to headache.

Walk around the town and go visit abisko.
Amazing landscape and truly a place on the bucket list of must do in life.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ViralAhmedabad_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We went there on a company trip and the ice hotel was obviously one of the highlights. It is absolutely impressive to walk through all the rooms in the afternoon and admire the ice sculptures and furnitures. Of course not to forget the ice cold drink at the ice bar. Sleeping in the cold room is not as bad as it sounds, you'll get a nice and warm sleeping bag which keeps you warm during the night. Just make sure you don't drink too much before going to bed because you don't want to get up again during the night. The wake-up call is done with some girls bringing hot juice to your bed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mbieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed the last weekend the Icehotel was open which we noticed by the slightly slushy ground around the hotel. However, inside it was still very hard ice and nothing dripped at all. Amazing hotel...you get enough information about what to wear and the sleeping bag they give you keeps the warmth all night. The main problem is just not being used to sleeping on a hard bed! Definitely recommend sleeping in the cold to truly enjoy the whole 'ice' experience. Second night we spent in the warm Kaamos huts which were 'normal' warm cottages. We also had a really nice dinner at the hotel and of course enjoyed the full breakfast buffet they offered. Once in a lifetime experience so don't hesitate to stay in the cold part.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmmiStockholm_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jukkasjarvi
9.3 mi away
Camp Ripan
Camp Ripan
#1 of 8 in Kiruna
431 reviews
9.7 mi away
Scandic Ferrum
Scandic Ferrum
#3 of 8 in Kiruna
497 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotell E-10
Hotell E-10
#6 of 8 in Kiruna
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Kebne
Hotel Kebne
#4 of 8 in Kiruna
150 reviews
7.8 mi away
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
Aurora Camp Kurravaara
#9 of 15 in Kiruna
22 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Arctic Eden
Hotel Arctic Eden
#3 of 3 in Kiruna
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icehotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icehotel

Address: Marknadsvagen 63, Jukkasjarvi 981 91, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Jukkasjarvi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jukkasjarvi
Price Range: £172 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Icehotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icehotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Icehotel Hotel Jukkasjarvi
Icehotel Sweden/Jukkasjarvi
Ice Hotel Sweden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing