We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/21
Expedia.com
US$81
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/21
FindHotel
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/10/21
PricelineUS$81
Hotels.comUS$81
eDreamsUS$81
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveller rating
111
202
110
48
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
111
202
110
48
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tongariro crossing lamb shank bar and restaurant mezzanine room packed lunch open fire rooms are small thin walls two single beds both nights the kitchen electric blankets cooked breakfast hot tub light sleeper spa pool tubs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 490 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights on the Waitangi weekend, taking them up on their Tongariro crossing package, including 2 x continental brekky, hike transfers and hike lunch pack. The hotel seems to have some renovated rooms, and some in original decor. I believe this package includes the renovated room. Bathrooms are small but clean and new. Beds are comfy. Wifi can be slow when the hotel is busy due to limited bandwidth in the National Park Village, fine for our needs though. (Vodafone coverage in the village was strong too.)
We had the choice of a 6 or 7am departure on the hike. With brekky starting at 6.30, we chose the later departure. The hotel gave us a lunch pack and once on the bus to the hike, we were warned to not miss the last bus, as there's a $150 fee. They would send a search party out if you didn't make it though, so that's reassuring.
There are 3 busses at the other end, roughly hourly. We didn't make any side trips on the hike, so easily made the first bus home at 2.30. Luckily it had space for us, as it was a warm day and shade was limited for the many trampers at the end carpark.
We ate at the hotel both nights - meals were filling, although my lamb shank was tough as old boots. We discovered the next day that the Railway Cafe is the pick of the village. What a great use of an old train station! You don't come to the hotel for the food though. This is a great place to prepare for and recover from the hike, and the package makes it easy. Worth hiring a walking pole from reception if you didn't bring one. There's an outdoor hot tub if you need it afterwards, and a laundry too. Not quite the quality of the Tongariro Chateau, but at a fraction of the price, it has everything you need for an easy and fun hike experience.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MichaelG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great time on the Tongariro Crossing.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Dinner with friendly recently after having dinner x2 at another establishment nearby so we thought try something different. The menu we had seen at our accommodation was different to what was available- with variety. At the bar only 2 draught beers available and both similar. We tried the fish and chips - fish was tough! Friends had the sticky ribs which they thought were great. Nice Cosy atmosphere.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lyn_traveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your review, we have passed your comments onto our chef.

We hope that you visit our restaurant during your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

We booked the studio with loft as there were 3 of us. The shower room was so small you could hardly dry yourself - larger people would find it difficult to close the door. The windows were small and high up, as you might expect for a ski lodge, but not much good in summer. Basic but adequate , and the most expensive place we stayed in our month-long tour of NZ. We booked 3 nights to make sure we could do the Tongariro crossing, but as we did it on the first day, we left after 2 nights, forfeiting the cost of the extra night.

Room tip: Dont go for a loft room if you need room to turn round in the shower room
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello,

There are many new changes occurring here at The Park Hotel, including renovations to all of the hotel rooms.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Car park feels like it has just been hit by rocks from a recent volcanic eruption - lots of potholes! The basic and old room wasn't really cleaned properly. Do not book the package with crossing shuttle and lunch. Although written clearly, there's no refund if the weather does not allow the crossing to happen. Made my Tongariro Crossing deal feel like a rip off. Opine they should at least replace it with a meal or drink voucher. Shuttle is their own minivan. You can easily find alternate shuttle services and pack a better lunch anytime. Reception were not very helpful. So stay in a better place by paying not much more, or rent a cabin somewhere else for better value.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank CJChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Thank you for you review. The points you make were quite valid at the time of your stay. We're pleased to report that (subsequent to your stay) the hotel is under new ownership and management. We have invested significantly in the rooms, the restaurant and spent $100k+ upgrading the car park. We also agree that it has been unfair that unused non accommodation components of the crossing package are not refunded. Accordingly we have changed the policy, changed the T&Cs on the website and will refund this whenever such a situation arises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Rather than complete the 10 hr train journey from Wellington to Auckland in one go, we decided to spend one night in the National Park. Unfortunately, the Northern explorer train only travels on certain days which meant we had to stay for two nights.
As we are not walkers we chose what we thought was the most hotel like accommodation, but this, by UK standards, was not the case and is more geared up for walkers/backpackers.
The "Hotel "is more like Butlins set up. The rooms are very small, bathroom is tiny, but had fridge and TV. It was clean and adequate and great value for the price.
Unfortunately for us, the room did not overlook the gardens but was opposite the communal kitchen and, As previously stated, anybody walking past to gain access to that room could see straight into yours and with the blind down to avoid this the room became very dark. We had no trouble with noise.
One of the hot tubs was out of action and it seems the hammocks have been removed. The "Hotel "is fairly isolated. You can walk to the nearby garage and coffee shop but for anything further you need to book passage on one of the crossing buses, it seems it costs $35 for a return journey to where ever you want to go.in addition, you need to fit in with the times of the walkers using the transport. There is no other option.
As we were not there to walk the crossing we arranged an alternative activity and were picked up from the hotel.
For us, the best thing about this accommodation, was the view and the food which was superb.

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank stroppymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello,

Thank you for your comments. We are currently under new ownership and the hotel rooms are being renovated. There are many exciting changes occurring!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our amazing view and delicious food:)

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews