We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1 night and shuttle”
Review of Discovery Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in National Park Village
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Discovery Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“1 night and shuttle”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

we stayed 1 night and use the shuttle service. camping for $16 and average price $35 for excellent shuttle service. the first come to Tongariro Crossing 6am the last pick up is at 16:30 and the bus was waiting for us event we where late for the last service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cunik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear cunik,

Thank you for your review, much appreciated. I am pleased you had a great time & hope to see you some other time at Discovery.

All the best, happy trails & kindest regards, Callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    92
    29
    6
    7
See reviews for
53
154
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The care of discovery staff during some worrying hours was hugely appreciated. One of us, due to injury became very slow walking and would not meet the last bus deadline. We contacted Discovery thru one of our party meeting this bus. Discovery staff contacted us, via cell phone,walking on the track and provided information and ongoing support. With evening looming and the walk emptying of trampers ..this was very calming in a stituation that could have been so much more dangerous. We were able to get to the end of the walk and thus back to the lodge. (from the hut to the end of the track. Us, 5.5 hours usually 1.5-2.0 hours)During this time they rang back to my partner ( in another town)and provided reasurance that all was OK and defined their accident and emergency process. When we arrived back at the lodge they allowed us good time to repair, kept the dining room open for us to gain a meal and told us that we did not have to hurry to leave the following morning and to take things slowly. All with good humor and grace. I know these people have seen many folk go on this challenging walk and it is their job to provide good service. however, having been a recipient of this care, in a time of need ..their level headedness, clear direction and ongoing emotional support provided us with the opportunity to 'right' the accident and get on with the pleasure of celebrating the completion of the walk with in the delights of being so damn delightfully tired. Highly recomended. Discovery staff were at our backs...and ...Carry a cell phone on this walk.

Room Tip: We were in back packer accomodation. The duvets provided were excellent as the night became cold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Lesley Anne M,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. Your experience of hiking the Crossing could definitely have been better. However we were all very impressed with Heather making the finish under her own steam. I was also proud of the way the Team at Discovery handled the situation in a way to minimize stress and give comforting reassurance to you all. I’m sure you would agree Jed & Steve are stars! I am just very pleased you all made it and were healthy enough to celebrate in our restaurant that evening. It was an achievement you can be proud of, and a challenge you got through together.

With heartfelt thanks & warmest regards, Callum.
Ps - it was nice to see yourself & Helena the second stay! Hope to see the three of you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed in one of the chalets which was luxury! Top of the range appliances, very comfortable bed and very peaceful. The chalets were set in park-like grounds right across the road from Mt Ruapehu. Top location with all tourist attractions very close-by. We would definitely recommend staying here and will be coming back again!

Room Tip: The kitchenettes are well set out with plenty of appliances to cook your own dinner. After our day h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Natalie D,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review us. Such a nice review!! Thanks so much! We are so lucky to be here, surrounded by all this beauty, but what thrills us the most is meeting nice people like yourself. We really do hope to see you again Natalie D.

Warmest regards, Callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay in our backpackers room with bathroom. The staff is extremely pleasant and helpful, and I had communicated with them numerous times before our arrival. We had to change our crossing due to the weather and that was not a problem. The hotel has a wonderful restaurant and we really enjoyed our meal. You should make a reservation ahead, but they will accommodate you even last minute. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: When you go hiking, a good bed and a warm shower is all you need. We had the backpackers twin room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maloofmieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear maloofmieke,

It is so great to hear of your wonderful experience at Discovery. Thank you so much for sharing this with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed our restaurant. We hope to see you again.
Happy trails & best wishes, Callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lviv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This lodge is in the middle of nowhere. You're only surrounded by the pure nature. When you go out of the lodge you have a beautiful view on the vulcans. The rooms are totally ok, is a must, because there is no restaurant or pub nearby. So, you've to cook yourself or eat in the little restaurant of the lodge. Very good service and very helpful people!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear francois d,

Thank you for your review. So much appreciated. I do agree our location is special being completely surrounded by alpine meadows and the Tongariro National Park. It is the very reason we are here. In fact our closest neighbour lives over 5km away! And yes, the views of the volcanoes are beautiful!

Thanks once again and I hope to see you again.

Warmest regards & best wishes, Callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Drawn to discovery due to location for tongariro crossing. Stayed in a one bedroom chalet and a studio chalet. Everything you need - and v. Comfy beds. Have the earliest shuttle to the crossing leaving at 5.40am so you are walking by 6.00 good to beat the crowds in peak season. Very helpful staff we stayed 2 nights & would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank payno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear payno1,

I am so pleased you had a great stay. And thank you very much for your nice review. You can't beat starting early on the Crossing. I have been driving the bus to the start early every morning for the last 12 years and it still thrills me to be up there before sunrise. It is just so beautiful!

We really do hope to see you again. Happy trails & warmest regards, Callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Had a wonderful stay in the chalet/cabin room. A clean, warm modern set up with a magnificent view of Tongariro and Ruepahu. Queen bed in a separate room and the kids were thrilled with the pullout queen and single in the lounge room. Kitchen well fitted out and fine for breakfast. We didn't cook. Bathroom modern but our only issue was with the shower head. Problem with pressure and scattered stream. No soap holder and my husband found it hard to shave given the position of the mirror. Minor quibbles but could easily lift the experience to a perfect level. Unfortunately weather was not so perfect and was very grateful Callum suggested giving the Crossing a miss when we fronted up at 5.30am. He suggested doing the alternative Upper and Lower Tama Lake walk. Was 17 km,our kids managed fine and the weather held out so we saw just as beautiful scenery and had a brilliant tramp! Thank you also to the check in staff who encouraged us to rent waterproof coats from the ski shop. An essential for the day.Also recommended The Station for dinner as their restaurant was booked out for both the nights we were staying. Excellent recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask for the best view if booking a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtjb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CallumHarland, Owner at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear monjack00,

We are very grateful you chose Discovery while visiting Tongariro and are thrilled you had a great time, even though the weather was not so good. Nice to hear the kids were thrilled with the set up as well. And thanks for taking the time to review us and let us know how we can be can do better. The Chalets are definitely very nice accommodation and the views are certainly magnificent.

We sincerely hope to see you again one day.

Warmest regards, Callum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
5.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
5.8 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
15.1 mi away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
2.2 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.4 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Property: Discovery Lodge
Address: State Highway 47, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalets & Motels. Surrounded by nature with spectacular panorama of the Tongariro Volcanoes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel National Park Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing