We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total relaxation”
Review of Ski Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ski Haus
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is the perfect place if you want a few days to chill out, especially if you have been skiing or tramping. There is a huge lounge area with a fire, free pool table and music system. The kitchen area was very spacious. The staff were very welcoming and relaxed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50CDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
13
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
336 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Ski Haus during our trip to Tongariro Crossing Alpine and did love it! The room was spacious enough for us. The staff was so friendly. The lounge was huge and such a great place to chill out with other backpackers who took the same trip with us. Last but not least, its location cannot be beaten: the Intercity bus stopped right in front of Ski Haus!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed here while doing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The bedroom was spacious (we had a double and there was also an unoccupied bunk), comfy and clean; the kitchen was well equipped, spacious and clean; bathrooms were clean; lounge area was great with lots of puzzles and heaps of places to chill (my highlight of the place); there was also a drying room where we could dry all of our wet clothes from the hike. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The car park was free. Transport to Tongariro was very easy to organise. Location wise the town (more like a village) is small and easy to get around so it doesn't matter too much where you stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hurlator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
109 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Everyone visiting New-Zealand, want to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. We chose Ski Haus as our base before the tramp. The staff was very friendly and welcoming, they can arrange you everything you need to do the crossing, transfer is just the minimum.

We got a spacious twin room with supercomfy beds. The shower was spotless, with unlimited hot water. They have the biggest lounge area in the whole kiwi backpacker industry. The kitchen was o.k. as well.

Free off street parking is available.

Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012 via mobile

We only stayed overnight and it seemed like a well-run hostel. Lots of local information and the kitchen was big and well-equipped. There was a huge lounge and socialising area with pool table, table tennis and darts. The showers were hot and powerful. Only criticism was nearly all the ladies toilets running out of paper overnight and no sign of replenishments!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Spacious, clean backpackers if a little dated. Spa and open fire are great touches, however the spa doees not work! The website states that a spa is available so please get it fixed! Also, in winter the lounge could do with some extra heat other than the open fire.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank richhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Thanks to Izzie for the efficient and helpful service, clean hostel, hot tub access and lovely cake. A great hostel option when doing the Tongariro Crossing!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flossup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
8.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
428 reviews
8.0 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pipers Ski Lodge
Pipers Ski Lodge
#2 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Haus

Property: Ski Haus
Address: Cnr of Carroll and McKenzie Sts, National Park Village, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Haus backpacker accommodation is based in the heart of National Park Village. Located at the foot of the remarkable mountains in the Tongariro National Park, Ski Haus is your ideal base for hikes to Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Northern Circuit and great views of Mt Ruapehu, Mt Tongariro and Mt Ngauruhoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ski Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing