We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for”
Review of Ski Haus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ski Haus
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Average hostel, seemed cheapest in the area stayed here three nights to go snowboarding up the mountain. The communal area was nice with the large fire to keep you warm. The eight bed dorm I stayed in was next to the communal room so was a little noisy at night. The room was small with no window and one or two plug sockets. The bathrooms are ok small and clean. Kitchen is small but ok and staff are very nice and helpful. Overall ok for the price.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the 8 bed dorm the other rooms seem ok modern and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BackpackingJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiHaus, Manager at Ski Haus, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2014

Hi BackpackingJames,

Thanks for your feedback on Ski Haus. We're glad you like the fireplace in the lounge, many guests spend their evenings there as it's really nice and cosy.

The 8-bed dorm is the lowest price room we offer for budget travellers and many guests have told us how they appreciate the clean, friendly, and cosy place after a day's hike at the Tongariro Alpine Crossing or around the Whakapapa Village. We also have 6-bed dorms, double and twin rooms, and family rooms for more privacy and space. We do ask our guests to keep the noise level down after 9pm, as well as close the door to the lounge to provide a quiet environment for those who have turned in.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we look forward to having you again with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

National park is a nondescript town and absolutely soulless in summer. We came there after the TAC trek and found ski haus to be good place to sleep. It is just that and nothing more in summer.
good wooden rooms at around the standard NZ backpacker rates (65-80 NZD).
No frills place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank humphreyappleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiHaus, Manager at Ski Haus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Hi humphreyappleby,

Thanks for your review of Ski Haus.

Summer in National Park is actually very lovely, as visitors from all over the world do the TAC as you did. The weather tends to be great to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing in summer.

There are also many walks around the Whakapapa Visitor Centre -- Tama Lake, Silica Rapids, and Taranaki Falls, just to name a few.

In fact, there's a very good walk that starts just behind Ski Haus, where you can have picturesque views of Mount Taranaki and Tupapakurua Falls.

We're happy to hear that you found Ski Haus a convenient and great place to stay. Looking forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

It seems to be the cheapest Option in the village. There is a reason for, because it could need a makeover. Nevertheless it is all clean and whatever you expect you will find, just not State of the art. We were there with friends and had the whole Place to ourselves, which was Great and possibly addes a plus to our experience. The Managers were very friendly and helpful. The Intercity Bus Stops right in Front of it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank miicooineurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkiHaus, Manager at Ski Haus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2014

Hi miicooineurope,

Thanks for your review of Ski Haus.

We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found Ski Haus to be very clean and our Managers helpful. We pride ourselves in keeping the place clean everyday, and our live-in Managers love hosting guests personally. Yes, the InterCity bus stop is right in front of Ski Haus, providing travelers a very convenient pit stop for all their adventure in National Park before moving on in their New Zealand travels.

We offer a variety of rooms to suit different budgets. Many of our guests really enjoy our facilities, especially our large lounge that has a TV, pool table, and a welcoming fireplace.

Looking forward to having you stay with us again at Ski Haus!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

This place must have been very popular 30 years ago. However, alot of other choices for a bed must now be available in the area. I've had the 6 bed dorm to myself for 2 nights now, and the night I'm writing this review, there are only 3 guests. Excellent value for $20 something.

The young lady who works here is really helpful. Assists with intercity travel aswell as $30 drop off, pick up packages to the Tongoriro Alpine Crossing.

Everything is clean. and has a large comfortable recreation room which includes pool table, internet, 8 plus sofas, board games, books, tv and radio (and a large log fire- not required on my stay)

Wifi at a cost of $5 for 75mb. Washing machine $3. Dryer $2. Good pressure hot showers.

Meals, food and coffee was not available.

I highly recommend. I'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is the perfect place if you want a few days to chill out, especially if you have been skiing or tramping. There is a huge lounge area with a fire, free pool table and music system. The kitchen area was very spacious. The staff were very welcoming and relaxed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50CDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Ski Haus during our trip to Tongariro Crossing Alpine and did love it! The room was spacious enough for us. The staff was so friendly. The lounge was huge and such a great place to chill out with other backpackers who took the same trip with us. Last but not least, its location cannot be beaten: the Intercity bus stopped right in front of Ski Haus!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed here while doing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. The bedroom was spacious (we had a double and there was also an unoccupied bunk), comfy and clean; the kitchen was well equipped, spacious and clean; bathrooms were clean; lounge area was great with lots of puzzles and heaps of places to chill (my highlight of the place); there was also a drying room where we could dry all of our wet clothes from the hike. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The car park was free. Transport to Tongariro was very easy to organise. Location wise the town (more like a village) is small and easy to get around so it doesn't matter too much where you stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurlator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
8.2 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
449 reviews
8 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
276 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ski Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ski Haus

Address: Cnr of Carroll and McKenzie Sts, National Park Village, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in National Park Village
Price Range: £26 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ski Haus backpacker accommodation is based in the heart of National Park Village. Located at the foot of the remarkable mountains in the Tongariro National Park, Ski Haus is your ideal base for hikes to Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Northern Circuit and great views of Mt Ruapehu, Mt Tongariro and Mt Ngauruhoe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ski Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing