We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional and safety conscious ”

Adrift Guided Outdoor Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Adrift Outdoors is an outdoor adventure company specialising in guided adventures through the Tongariro and Whanganui National Parks, including the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, we are a personal and professional organisation that can tailor our guided adventures to suit individual needs.At Adrift, we have vast experience in working with people of all ages and abilities. Adrift provides qualified, experienced and personable guides whose sole purpose is to ensure a safe, enjoyable and memorable adventure.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Professional and safety conscious ”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I had an excellent experience with Adrift on a Winter Tongariro crossing. The guides were very conscientious and safety conscious, they instructed us well and were focused on getting the group to have a safe adventure.
This is a very weather dependent activity, but I believe you can trust Adrift to provide you a fun ( and safe!) adventure. Summer crossings are easier, but the
Winter crossings provide a nice challange.

Helpful?
Thank OptomAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    10
    6
    10
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

What an amazing trip! Everybody at Adrift were so welcoming and accommodating, as well as very friendly. They provide all the gear you need for the winter trip, which is great because there's lots you need, and do pick-ups from Taupo and Turangi! The walk itself was very intense and you definitely need to moderate to high fitness level to complete it, but it is so worth it if you can make it. Absolutely no complaints, an excellent experience!! Thanks Adrift! You guys rock.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Olivia312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriftnz, Owner at Adrift Guided Outdoor Adventures, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hi, Thanks for your kind comments. Please come back again sometime soon and let us guide you up Ruapehu. Cheers stew and the Adrift team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Magnificent Experience”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

What an amazing way to end our visit to NZ. The guides were brilliant and were able to give some information about the geology of the land. Definately the right company for the guided tour of the Alpine Crossing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adriftnz, Manager at Adrift Guided Outdoor Adventures, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello,
Thank you very much for your review and we are really pleased to hear that you had a fabulous trip … especially as it was your last adventure before leaving New Zealand. Take care and hopefully we'll see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Thanks to the guides and staff at Adrift, we had the most amazing trip, doing the Tongariro Crossing. Great pace, steady interesting commentary and good humour all added to the spectacular scenery. The beer at the end of the day was an added unexpected bonus!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kmckegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip led by extremely professional and friendly guides.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Adrift was extremely flexible in letting us shift days from a rainy freezing day that was unwalkable to a few days later where we had some of the best weather of the year. Company is extremely professional and have everything needed for your walk, and more importantly are 100% focused on safety and your enjoyment. Our guide Jono was fantastic and fun, and would happily recommend them to anyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwieric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Adrift Guided Outdoor Adventures also viewed

Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
National Park Village, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Adrift Guided Outdoor Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing