We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”
Review of Villa Tarentaal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulbagh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Tarentaal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Three of us recently spent two nights at Villa T. and most thoroughly enjoyed it. Our host Graham and all his staff were excellent and couldn't do enough for us, a request for what ever was done immediatley. Breakfast was deliscious and served on our patio which was very private. You could not have found a better place to stay in Tulbach and convenient for all the restaurants in town. Tulbach is a lovely quaint place to spend a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be fine
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIONA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Villa Tarentaal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

What a difference the host can make.

We and two of our friends stayed over a weekend early Nov, the chalets were excellent.
Our delicious breakfast was served on our patio overlooking manicured lawns with a backdrop of mountains.
Graham our congenial host,a South African who spent 20 years as a State Trooper in the USA, Try and get him talking, (not easy), about some of his experiences, absolutely fascinating.

Quite, attentive service in beautiful accommodation, just could not ask for more.

Room Tip: All good just have a great time.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stay 3 days in Villa T. and have had a wonderful time by Brandi and Graham and in Tulbagh with historical buildings. Nice cottage and beautiful garden with pool. Graham served a excellent breakfast in our own seating area. Very good wine cellars (Saronsberg) in the area. We enjoy the time.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joachim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

During our roadtrip through South Africa we stayed for two nights at this lovely guesthouse. The cottages are unique, very cosy and well equipped. Graham and Brandi know what good service is and do their utmost best to make you feel as comfortable as possible. Tulbagh is a nice place, with the beautiful Church street (32 monumental buildings!) For those who are interested in wines: check out Rijk's cellars and Saronsberg! Drostdy-hof museum (a former court and jail) is also worth visiting.

Room Tip: Cottage "The blue crane" is great!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJMMRoelofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

A wonderful stay. The accommodation was immaculate and the setting was very tranquil. Full DSTV bouquet available, which is rare to find. A beautiful breakfast is served in your very own private seating area, with full brai facilities. Nice size swimming pool,decks and large grounds for strolls.Definitely one to note for future visits to Tulbagh or surrounding areas. Five stars and excellent value.

Room Tip: Stayed in Egyptian Goose Cottage which had its own lounge area spearate ot the main bedroom, which w...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadirZap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We needed a weekend break from the big city and basically did a random "finger-poke" on the map. We landed, serendipitously, on Villa Tarentaal in Tulbach. Meeting our host, Graham, was like meeting an old friend whom you hadn't seen in years. Friendly and professional with a great sense of humour, he made our stay a real pleasure...He also makes the meanest french toast in the world!! All in all it was a very enjoyable and relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings. The cottages are stylish, clean, spacious and have all the creature comforts you can possibly want on such a getaway. We will definitely visit the Villa again.

Room Tip: Any cottage will do - They are all nice.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kukardj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We had two nights at Villa Tarentaal. The place is beautiful, the staff friendly. Graham is a perfect host and we felt very welcome. The breakfast was special and we really appreciate the personal service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda031CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
2.4 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
0.4 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#4 of 18 in Tulbagh
306 reviews
3.0 mi away
Raptor Rise Cottage & Stable Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#5 of 22 in Tulbagh
98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
1.2 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tarentaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tarentaal

Address: ext Van Der Stel street, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Tulbagh
Price Range: £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Tarentaal 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tulbagh accommodation with a special touch. Villa Tarentaal offers self catering accommodation only. every detail has been personally attended to, from throw cushions to the extra length beds, with guest comfort in mind. Enjoy privacy, stunning Tulbagh mountain views, meandering gardens, Our three private cottages offer space to relax, modern bathrooms and spacious bedrooms, flat screen televisions (bring your own decoder) and aircon. Each cottage has a kitchenette, private veranda and BBQ area. Looking for romantic Tulbagh accommodation. Our new Peacock Suite is the ultimate retreat. Please note Peacock is for a couple prepared to dine out for breakfast lunch and dinner. We no longer offer breakfast. We are located 1km from Tulbagh village. Come enjoy outdoor and indoor splendor at its finest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing