We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oudekloof weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulbagh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oudekloof Wine Estate & Guest House
Ranked #8 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Oudekloof weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Amazing !! Arrived for a weekend in the middle of a very cold and wet Cape winter - The setting is beautiful in the lee of the Obiqua mountains - just the place for a weekend's quiet contemplation - with all the luxuries to soothe very jaded nerves !! From the outset, Lousie made us feel very welcome - part of the family , in fact !! The rooms are luxurious including a bed which I can fit into without getting cold feet , and an en suite which makes one want to lie in the spa bath all day and watch the world go by (With a glass of their excellent red in your hand of course). Just wish the weather had been better as the fynbos surroundings just cry out for a long walk to explore.
Many many thanks for a brilliant weekend - we will definitely be back.

Garyth & Debbie

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garyth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

What a wonderful setting on the mouton overlooking the valley and what a warm welcome on a chilly afternoon from Louise. The rooms were spacious and cosy, lots of space for the baby cot that was provided for us. The kitchen was well equipped to make some last minute changes to the baby meal requirements and Louise cooked the most delicious dinner and breakfasts for us. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jen-capetown-za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

A great big thank you to Louise for making us feel so welcome! What a gorgeous house in a beautiful setting. The huge fireplace made a wonderful place for us and our kids to colour in and get to know the other guests. The whole house had a luxurious feel without being stuffy and the rooms and views were absolutely stunning. The house also manages to accommodate different groups of people without anyones feeling like they are invading anyone else's space. There was even an adult sized swing that made us feel like kids again! The kids also had a ball and were made to feel very welcome. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We arrived at Oudekloof on the coldest winter's days and were welcomed by Louise. Her friendly disposition really made our stay comfortable. The fireplace was just the thing we needed to keep warm that night and the bath is unbelievable. Everything was amazing .... from the room, to the breakfast and the nice chats we had with Louise. Thank you Louise for the wonderful hospitality. We'll definately be back and we're telling all our friends. Colin and Jean

Room Tip: The room with the firplace is definately the room to book for those cold winter nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

We arrived at Oudekloof in cold and wet weather and were met by a cosy fireplace and flavours of dinner being prepared and the friendly hospitality of Louise and her staff. We had a luxurious spacious room, cosy fireplace and lovely bathroom with breathtaking views of the Tulbagh valley. This was an ideal and amazing romantic break-away venue for us. Louise makes the most amazing fresh salads and even spoiled us with a jar of her homemade olives.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elmarie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
346 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

We spent two nights at Oudekloof Guest House and really enjoyed it. The house has 4 suites, 2 upstairs (thatch ceiling) and two on the main level. Louise is a great host and cooked up wonderful breakfasts both mornings. The other guests who were there were a delightful group, and we enjoyed sharing our reviews and recommendations each morning of places to go, things to do, and spots to eat at. We were there during the fires, so the valley was smokey, but the setting up the side of the mountain is terrific - on a clear day I'm sure it would be stunning. Beautiful swimming pool, and fireplaces in each room w/ underfloor heating in the bathrooms. We'll definitely go back there in the winter to enjoy the cozy fires in the fireplaces. I also had a massage while there by Claire (Heavenly Hands) who operates a mobile massage business. She is VERY VERY good. Worth booking ahead. Louise is also very helpful on things to do, places to go. She's got great connections and insights on the best days/times to do various activities. Well worth it!

Room Tip: If you have allergies, book a room on the main floor (away from the thatch).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank africanaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.0 mi away
Raptor Rise Cottage & Stable Rooms
0.0 mi away
Manley Wine Lodge
Manley Wine Lodge
#6 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montpellier De Tulbagh
Montpellier De Tulbagh
#7 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oudekloof Wine Estate & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oudekloof Wine Estate & Guest House

Property: Oudekloof Wine Estate & Guest House
Address: Nr. Montpellier Farm, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oudekloof is a charmingly restored Cape Dutch farmhouse, nestled on the slopes of the Obiquamountains. It has four en-suite bedrooms, and one double bedroom in the main house, with alarge kitchen, wrap-around verandah, pool, and outdoor braai area for entertaining.takes its name from the age-old mountain pass that led early settlers over the Obiqua mountains and into the fertile Tulbagh valley. Today, the quaint town of Tulbagh is regarded by many as the "heart of the Boland", luring visitors from all over the world to share in its colourful history and proud traditions.Oudekloof Wine Estate, situated at the foot of this historic gateway, has been cultivated for nearly 300 years and today produces award winning grapes for local boutique cellars. The farming philosophy is sensitive and sustainable; over half the estate's 340 hectares is set aside to protect indigenous wildlife, fynbos and renosterveld for future generations to enjoy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing