We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oudekloof Wine Estate & Guest House
Ranked #9 of 17 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Oudekloof was not as we expected when we booked the accommodation, stayed in the Blanc suite, which is apparently their best room...

There is no airconditioning, no TV, not that you need it but it should be mentioned if you advertise "luxurious accommodation".

To our amazement the shower was outside, which would be fine, but its not private! There is a fenced gate where anyone can walk past and look through, the upstairs bedroom has a window looking down on the shower and there is a big hole in the wall next to a dirt road. So no privacy at all! How can you have an outside shower where anyone can look in?

The room itself is spacious but looks tired and old, there are no curtains, so you have to close the shutters from outside. Also not very sensible.

Worst of all are the thin walls and creaking wooden floors, we could hear absolutely everything from the room upstairs (snoring, walking, talking, bathroom) so it was extremely noisy.

Seeing that the upstairs guests woke at 6, we had no choice to do the same seeing that it was so noisy.

Breakfast is from 8 to 10, but at 8:20 the breakfast still wasn't ready. There is 1 large table where all the guests need to sit next to each other for breakfast, feels like hostel breakfast.

Breakfast was the most basic as you can imagine, 1 yoghurt, 1 muesli, 2 jams, toasted seed-loaf and grated cheddar. The lady did make us eggs but this also disappointed, the bacon was burned and was too oily. To top it all off, the coffee was the worst we've ever had.

We checked tripadvisor before booking and found the reviews very good, we however were very dissapointed.

Also note that there is a 8km gravel road to get to Oudekloof, something that isn't mentioned.

If you value a little privacy then this place is definitely not for you.

We really didn't like this "accommodation", its definitely not luxurious, more a home run B&B. For the price we pad we expected much more, compared to what you pay in SA.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BV171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

An amazing place and wonderful hideaway!
Beautiful farm house, lovely renovated with wonderful, spacious rooms.
Great setting overlooking the valley.
Louise is the perfect host, preparing a wonderful breakfast and giving very helpful and personalized tips for tours and dinners.
We can highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi_V77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

this farm house is very nicely located overlooking the whole valley of tulbagh.
fantastic rooms all decorated individually, we like the "red wine" rooms on the first floor. brilliant breakfast cooked by louise and accompanied by bruno, the farm dog who was waiting that we finished to go with us for a long hike on the farm.
we came this november the second time to oudekloof and will come again every time we are in south africa

Room Tip: the red wine rooms have a whirlpool !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waltherhasloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

What a great few days spent in absolute beauty. Very comfy, well appointed accomodation and excellent hospitality! Louise is a fantastic host and she has thought of everything. Every need can be catered for and the best restaurants and wine farms are within a stones thow. A rejuvenating experience and well worth the visit for local and tourists! Thank you!

Room Tip: We snooped around all the rooms and they are all very well appointed and luxurious but the upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Amazing !! Arrived for a weekend in the middle of a very cold and wet Cape winter - The setting is beautiful in the lee of the Obiqua mountains - just the place for a weekend's quiet contemplation - with all the luxuries to soothe very jaded nerves !! From the outset, Lousie made us feel very welcome - part of the family , in fact !! The rooms are luxurious including a bed which I can fit into without getting cold feet , and an en suite which makes one want to lie in the spa bath all day and watch the world go by (With a glass of their excellent red in your hand of course). Just wish the weather had been better as the fynbos surroundings just cry out for a long walk to explore.
Many many thanks for a brilliant weekend - we will definitely be back.

Garyth & Debbie

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

What a wonderful setting on the mouton overlooking the valley and what a warm welcome on a chilly afternoon from Louise. The rooms were spacious and cosy, lots of space for the baby cot that was provided for us. The kitchen was well equipped to make some last minute changes to the baby meal requirements and Louise cooked the most delicious dinner and breakfasts for us. Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen-capetown-za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A great big thank you to Louise for making us feel so welcome! What a gorgeous house in a beautiful setting. The huge fireplace made a wonderful place for us and our kids to colour in and get to know the other guests. The whole house had a luxurious feel without being stuffy and the rooms and views were absolutely stunning. The house also manages to accommodate different groups of people without anyones feeling like they are invading anyone else's space. There was even an adult sized swing that made us feel like kids again! The kids also had a ball and were made to feel very welcome. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
0.0 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 17 in Tulbagh
320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 17 in Tulbagh
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buffalo Drift
Buffalo Drift
#8 of 23 in Tulbagh
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#4 of 23 in Tulbagh
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oudekloof Wine Estate & Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oudekloof Wine Estate & Guest House

Address: Nr. Montpellier Farm, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range: £44 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oudekloof is a charmingly restored Cape Dutch farmhouse, nestled on the slopes of the Obiquamountains. It has four en-suite bedrooms, and one double bedroom in the main house, with alarge kitchen, wrap-around verandah, pool, and outdoor braai area for entertaining.takes its name from the age-old mountain pass that led early settlers over the Obiqua mountains and into the fertile Tulbagh valley. Today, the quaint town of Tulbagh is regarded by many as the "heart of the Boland", luring visitors from all over the world to share in its colourful history and proud traditions.Oudekloof Wine Estate, situated at the foot of this historic gateway, has been cultivated for nearly 300 years and today produces award winning grapes for local boutique cellars. The farming philosophy is sensitive and sustainable; over half the estate's 340 hectares is set aside to protect indigenous wildlife, fynbos and renosterveld for future generations to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oudekloof Wine Estate & Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing