We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect retreat for the weary soul”
other traveller has booked this property
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2 Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage Great Views of Mountains
Mont Rouge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yanga z
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect retreat for the weary soul”
Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed recently with a friend in their largest cottage (cottage 3), beautiful! Decor style is rustic/country with the prettiest antiquish decor relics! Loved the scenic views from the very large, private veranda, with a river stream running just along the cottage, and the amazing dam and large clearing nearby. We felt as though we were staying in the heart of a nature reserve, so green, mountainous and just plain amazing! The owner/manager Marisha is extremely warm, friendly and welcoming, and yet not at all intrusive, so we spent 3 amazing nights and days resting, doing a bit of writing work, running (perfect uphill, scenic roads for jogging!) and restaurant hopping. Will definitely return, this time with my entire family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage furnishings, the farm itself, the scenic views, the quiet and peacefulness and jogging trail
Liked least: very hot 3 days though the fan helped a lot!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you so much..

So glad you liked our cottage. We had much fun with the decor. Loved that part the most .

Glad you had a great time. Makes me happy to hear things like this.

makes it worth wild doing this job..

See you hopefully again.

kind regards
Marisha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaun1976...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“A tranquil escape from the city”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed in the smaller cottage at Mont Rouge last week. Our hosts Marisha and Johan went out of their way to make sure we found the cottage easily, and that we were settled in and comfortable.

The cottage we stayed in was newly built, and was in a lovely position, nestled between the trees next to a river, with beautiful views over the farm's orchards and mountains in the distance. The cottage was very comfortable, with a small outside patio and braai / barbecue area, a bathroom with bath and shower and king size bed. It is a newly built cottage, and everything is in good condition.

We'll definitely be back, and would certainly recommend Mont Rouge cottages to anyone who wishes to visit the Tulbagh area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vastiler
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect place for a break away!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had the best experience staying at Mont Rouge. Incredible surroundings! Perfect to just relax and forget about all the city stress. LOVED the cottage we stayed in. It has the warmest atmosphere, beautiful interier and fully equiped to do all the 'self catering' we wanted to. Thanks to Marisha for welcoming us with such warmth and making sure we had the best experience. Not only at Mont Rouge, but also in Tulbagh.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saroj C
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“AMAZING....!! RESTFUL......ABSOLUTE BLISS”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Mont Rouge Honeymoon Cottage! Johan and Marisha are awesome hosts, Marisha accommodated us in the honeymoon cottage, added another bed for the kids, just goes to show that this cottage is extremely spacious and clean with a stunning deck with a built in braai. It was like living in a tree house, as my kids describe it. It is the most beautiful farm, so close to the mountain with the tranquil little river flowing past our cottage. My kids are 8 + 10 yrs old and they had no reason to want to watch TV, we all just enjoyed being in the middle of an orchard, with nothing be total peace. We spent 4 night in this divine place and that was too short… Johan, gave us and extreme educational tour of the farm and packing plant, we were extreme grateful for this as one does not realize the amount of work and planning that goes into farming fruit, my children look at fruit with great appreciation now, thank you Johan. I think it was excellent value for money and would highly recommend Mont Rouge for a break from the hectic city life. They will see us again in the near future, this time without the kids…THANK YOU GUYS

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2014
Hello Saroj

Thank you for the great review!! It was great to meet you and we did have a wonderful time chatting. Think we would still be chatting if you did not have to go home. Since you have been here Johann has been taking everyone on farm tours. I will have to start paying him a fee... See you and the kids soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrinett...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Farm get away.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Mont Rouge Cottage! It is the most beautiful farm, so close to the mountain with the tranquil little river flowing past our doorstep. We were not even thinking of using the Tv and loved Sitting on the "stoep" in the evening breeze. The cottage was tastefully decorated and the beds very clean. The owners were extremely friendly and although it was only for a weekend, it felt like a long holiday. I think it was excellent value for money and would highly recommend Mont Rouge for a break from the hectic city life. They will see us again in the near future!.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Hello Andrinette

Thank you for the great review. It was so great to have you on the farm. Please come back. I know you had a great time swimming in the dam. Great way to cool down.

Marisha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BookEndDo...
Doha
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting and well appointed cottage”
Reviewed 28 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We were charmed by the welcome we received and the cottage itself. We stayed in the 10-sleeper cottage and couldn't have been happier with the setup. The farm is not far from town and the cottage itself is built with the braai-area shaded by HUGE oak trees and a bubbling brook running past. Truly delightful to just sit and watch the mountains change colour in the sunset. We especially enjoyed the access to the farm dam which we were allowed as the heat of December in Tulbagh is intense.
Guests should be aware though that the 2 cottages are in 1 large building and that you therefore share a boundary wall. You never see your neighbours, if you have any, but if you happen to both be chatting on your individual patios then you will hear the rumblings of conversation.
Having said this I still whole-heartedly recommend Mont Rouge - true Tulbagh hospitality, amazing views and lovely, comfy, clean beds... what more do you need?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open communication with Marisha.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
thank you very much for taking the time to write something about our cottages..

We have been having so many people coming to visit us again and again. And that is such a good thing. and positive response.

Hope we see you here soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimKeit1
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
“Wished we lived closer...I would be a regular guest”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and I were just traveling through for two days but we wished we could have spent more time at this beautiful cottage. I booked online - they were very friendly and organized. When we got there we were greeted by fresh fruit and home-baked bread...a lovely touch. The cottage is very well decorated (looks like a home in one of those magazines-very well suited to the cape cottage setting). We found it very clean and all cutlery, linen and kitchen ware were available.
The cottages are right next to a small river - the sound and views are amazing.
Although you can spend all your time on the farm, the wine farms are less than 5 Km away.

We spend a lot of time going to numerous self-catering and B&Bs around SA but this one would definitely be in the top 5 for its lovely setting and amazing ambience. Thanks for your hospitality -we will def be back.

Timothy Keit (Durban)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2013
Hello Timothy

Thank you so much for this great review.

We are so glad you had a great stay on our farm. And the cottage was up to standard for you. We did try our best with it. We do hope to see you again. And then for a bit longer!

Marisha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$125
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing