We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
“Perfect weekend getaway from the city”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other traveller has booked this property
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2 Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
44 reviews
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage 2
Mont Rouge Cottage Great Views of Mountains
Mont Rouge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tulbagh, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kikiblom
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway from the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

What a wonderful stay! The cottage was perfectly kitted out for the 10 of us and the interior decorating is absolutely beautiful. Even though the weather was very stormy we had such a cosy and relaxing visit - spent a lot of time around the fire place! Thanks for making us feel so at home and for providing the perfect getaway spot in the stunning Winterhoek Valley! Will definitely return soon.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The great design and decoration of the house - very cosy!
Liked least: The fact that there was no webber and the braai area was not under roof so could not braai in the rain
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2015
To getaway from the city is always a great treat. I am so glad you could have fun and enjoy it around the fireplace even with the stormy weather out side. Glad we had that little fireplace put in for you!!! And enjoining it with friends makes it even better.

See you here in Summer of even in Winter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Belindaha...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“My Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My husband and I were looking for a midweek break away from the city and every day hustle and bustle. We stayed in the little cottage at Mont Rouge for just 2 nights yet it felt like a weeks rest. It is simply beautiful. From the warm welcome we received from Marisha to the lovely decor in the well equipped cottage, we felt very comfortable indeed. We were truly able to relax and soak up the lovely views and soothing sound of the bubbling stream running under the cottage. The farm is set in gorgeous surroundings and we even encountered a little buck whilst taking a stroll through the orchards.
I would highly recommend this cottage and hope we get to visit again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are always so happy to hear that people had a great time and was able to relax. You will have to come in the winter , when the mountains are covered in snow. Make a nice fire inside and just take in the view!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
yanga z
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect retreat for the weary soul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed recently with a friend in their largest cottage (cottage 3), beautiful! Decor style is rustic/country with the prettiest antiquish decor relics! Loved the scenic views from the very large, private veranda, with a river stream running just along the cottage, and the amazing dam and large clearing nearby. We felt as though we were staying in the heart of a nature reserve, so green, mountainous and just plain amazing! The owner/manager Marisha is extremely warm, friendly and welcoming, and yet not at all intrusive, so we spent 3 amazing nights and days resting, doing a bit of writing work, running (perfect uphill, scenic roads for jogging!) and restaurant hopping. Will definitely return, this time with my entire family!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: cottage furnishings, the farm itself, the scenic views, the quiet and peacefulness and jogging trail
Liked least: very hot 3 days though the fan helped a lot!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
Thank you so much..

So glad you liked our cottage. We had much fun with the decor. Loved that part the most .

Glad you had a great time. Makes me happy to hear things like this.

makes it worth wild doing this job..

See you hopefully again.

kind regards
Marisha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Shaun1976...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“A tranquil escape from the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed in the smaller cottage at Mont Rouge last week. Our hosts Marisha and Johan went out of their way to make sure we found the cottage easily, and that we were settled in and comfortable.

The cottage we stayed in was newly built, and was in a lovely position, nestled between the trees next to a river, with beautiful views over the farm's orchards and mountains in the distance. The cottage was very comfortable, with a small outside patio and braai / barbecue area, a bathroom with bath and shower and king size bed. It is a newly built cottage, and everything is in good condition.

We'll definitely be back, and would certainly recommend Mont Rouge cottages to anyone who wishes to visit the Tulbagh area.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Vastiler
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect place for a break away!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had the best experience staying at Mont Rouge. Incredible surroundings! Perfect to just relax and forget about all the city stress. LOVED the cottage we stayed in. It has the warmest atmosphere, beautiful interier and fully equiped to do all the 'self catering' we wanted to. Thanks to Marisha for welcoming us with such warmth and making sure we had the best experience. Not only at Mont Rouge, but also in Tulbagh.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Saroj C
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“AMAZING....!! RESTFUL......ABSOLUTE BLISS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Mont Rouge Honeymoon Cottage! Johan and Marisha are awesome hosts, Marisha accommodated us in the honeymoon cottage, added another bed for the kids, just goes to show that this cottage is extremely spacious and clean with a stunning deck with a built in braai. It was like living in a tree house, as my kids describe it. It is the most beautiful farm, so close to the mountain with the tranquil little river flowing past our cottage. My kids are 8 + 10 yrs old and they had no reason to want to watch TV, we all just enjoyed being in the middle of an orchard, with nothing be total peace. We spent 4 night in this divine place and that was too short… Johan, gave us and extreme educational tour of the farm and packing plant, we were extreme grateful for this as one does not realize the amount of work and planning that goes into farming fruit, my children look at fruit with great appreciation now, thank you Johan. I think it was excellent value for money and would highly recommend Mont Rouge for a break from the hectic city life. They will see us again in the near future, this time without the kids…THANK YOU GUYS

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2014
Hello Saroj

Thank you for the great review!! It was great to meet you and we did have a wonderful time chatting. Think we would still be chatting if you did not have to go home. Since you have been here Johann has been taking everyone on farm tours. I will have to start paying him a fee... See you and the kids soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
andrinett...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Farm get away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Mont Rouge Cottage! It is the most beautiful farm, so close to the mountain with the tranquil little river flowing past our doorstep. We were not even thinking of using the Tv and loved Sitting on the "stoep" in the evening breeze. The cottage was tastefully decorated and the beds very clean. The owners were extremely friendly and although it was only for a weekend, it felt like a long holiday. I think it was excellent value for money and would highly recommend Mont Rouge for a break from the hectic city life. They will see us again in the near future!.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Hello Andrinette

Thank you for the great review. It was so great to have you on the farm. Please come back. I know you had a great time swimming in the dam. Great way to cool down.

Marisha
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Interested in this property?
Make Enquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Any
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing