We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Montpellier De Tulbagh
Ranked #8 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The property is simply stunning. You will never want to leave. The service is impeccable, and the wine is fantastic. It is an absolute must if you plan to visit the area. And if you don't plan to visit the area, well, make a plan. If you need a place to host an event, wedding, whatever, this is it. Totally magical, and the staff makes it really special. In terms of lodging, it's a bit rustic. There's no air conditioning. If you are a bit fussy, stay in the main house. The other housing options (cottages on the property) are more rustic, and it wouldn't be out of the question if you found a big bug cruising around on the floor. Not because it's dirty, but because this is Africa, and you're out in the country. If that seems reasonable to you, then those other housing options are great. If you are really really fussy and you need AC, then stay in town and just spend your days and evenings at the wine farm.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Picky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

The picturesque complex is situated just outside Tulbagh , ( five minutes car ) , greeted by Emanuel who show us the lovely home full of antiques , & the gardens etc .
The wine tasting was conducted on the patio ,under the grape vines , we tasted six wines for R 25 ( £ 1. 50 ) , Emanuel although not a South African resident gave a very , very professional presentation , with humour & dazzling smile . Memorable .
They serve a light lunch , which looked delicious , time did not allow us to sample , definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank atw1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I were in Tulbagh last weekend, and stopped for wine tasting at Montpellier. What a hidden gem! The manor house and grounds are stunning, and the staff were all so friendly and nice. We sat by the pool and had an extensive wine tasting session led by the sweet Emmanuel, who did a great job. Their wines are fantastic and we left with our arms full, and details of where we can buy in Cape Town. Although we didn't stay there, the traditional, lovely rooms of the Manor house were open to view, and we will certainly be back to stay in the sleigh bed! Top marks Montpellier, we can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chloe_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at Montpellier in one of the self catering units. We loved our entire experience at this scenic wine farm and wedding venue. The self catering units are spacious, clean and very comfortable to just relax in.
The staff are very kind and helpful. We enjoyed a wine tasting and wood fired pizzas. Such a tranquil and peaceful farm.
I can highly recommend a visit to Montpellier de Tulbagh.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thirstytraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

One of my favourite corners of South Africa.

It's less a guest house and more of a wine farm. We stayed in the main farmhouse building which is wonderfully atmospheric, so cant comment on the other cottages that people have stayed in. What we loved was it's casual and informal beauty. The building is tastefully decorated with antique furniture and local paintings.The wine is outstanding - ask for a cellar tour.

We only left the farm once over the weekend, to try out a local restaurant. The rest of the time we arranged meals there. Simple but tasty home cooked food. WE swam (so, the pool is not a pristine looking Holiday Inn pool - so what?) There's a gorgeous little chapel on a hill in the middle of the vineyards. Walk among the trees around the farmhouse past the lush green lawn. The filtered light is exquisite. It's a fun, relaxing beautiful place. Very romantic. Take books and swimming costume!

Montpellier oozes with charm. The staff are friendly and not in your face. Just soak in the atmosphere and relax. If you want inner city steril perfection, stay away - you won't fit in.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house. One room in the main house has an en suite bathroom and the other three shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I so much agree with Adel L & Bullc9 - Beautiful Venue but what a dump. Please if any overseas people are thinking of doing a self catering week-end this is not the place to hire. Wrote a letter to the agent which I believe they have not seen the place them selves.
Part of my the letter ...........

On opening the door and entering we were almost overtaken by extremely bad stale smoke odors'. The walls are damp and mouldy and the paint is peeling. As for the linen, this was anything but fresh. Moreover, the furnishings were probably from the 1950’s and definitely did not help to create a good ambiance. My spouse and I are frequent travelers and have over the past years stayed in many various hotels, B&B’s, Guest Houses, Back Packers Lodges, etc. but never in our lives have we been so utterly disgusted and disappointed. Not to mention on arrival there were some local boys who were carrying beer bottles and were walking in the drive way of the cottages and were taking their time to move along. We decided not to tell them to move along as we could see that they were drinking and we were shocked when they showed us a gun sign and a sign showing us that they can slit our throats. We were absolutely horrified!!

Received a reply letter from Montpellier Guesthouse that ............... they cannot be responsible for the locals around the guesthouse Gee! so much for security for the visitors and oversea visitors.
Plus all the blah, blah about the self catering units been clean and not rustic are not false advertised on line - I DON'T THINK SO!! and from the reviews - please take bullc9, Adel L and myself advise this is not a place to stay over. After they received my letter we were offered a week-end stay in the Manor but no thank-you we declined.


I am going back to Tulbagh this week-end again for another stay away from the city and will be staying at Vindoux Guest Farm which is their neighboring farm. I am sure I will be far more better and suitable stay then Montpellier

Room Tip: Do not believe what you see on line - Self Catering cottages are not what they seem to be. Lovely fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Beautiful venue.
Bad bad bad experience and poor mangement. I am as sick as a dog after staying 2 nights in a wet and drafty selfcatering "cottage". It was offered as luxury accomodation sleeping 4 adults. Embarassing to have invited friends for a weekend away on my husband's birthday.
Double bookings for the horse rides.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
1.8 mi away
Tulbagh Boutique Heritage Hotel
2 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
331 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wittedrift Manor House
Wittedrift Manor House
#6 of 18 in Tulbagh
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
74 reviews
3.4 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#4 of 23 in Tulbagh
110 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montpellier De Tulbagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montpellier De Tulbagh

Address: | Twee Jongengezellen Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range: £40 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Montpellier De Tulbagh 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montpellier provides a romantic setting for a country getaway, with a charming hillside chapel, picturesque wedding venue and old Cape style guest house. Founded in 1714, this historical Boland Farm is embraced by "the mountains of fear" (Montténére), which in 1969 flexed their muscles with an awesome earthquake.Montpellier offers variety of temptations for the palate and senses, in true Tulbagh style.Experience the snug atmosphere of our original Cape-Dutch homestead, with its wooden floors, thick walls, thatch roof and picturesque white gable, declared a National Monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Montpellier De Tulbagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing