We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wedding ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Montpellier De Tulbagh
Ranked #7 of 18 Tulbagh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mont Tremblant, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best wedding ever”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Montpelier is a Cape Dutch Architectural gem, set in dreamland vineyard surroundings with the Winterhoek mountains as a spectacular backdrop. Furnishings are comfortable and authentic. The garden is full of hidden places to eat, drink and be merry, and the estate produces its own excellent wines, red white and sparkling. We took over the main house for a family holiday, which turned into a surprise wedding held in the beautiful chapel. The staff are very friendly and attentive. Bedrooms and bathrooms are individual and comfortable. The food is unpretentious and simple and it is excellent value. We had the best time ever.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ARM905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    16
    2
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We are an English family who have been to many guesthouses in the Western Cape, but none of them have impressed us as much as Montpellier de Tulbagh. We range from 6 months old to 65 years old. We love going there so much that, in January, we decided to get married at Montpellier. We had 26 people and 9 babies staying at the venue for 10 days surrounding the big day.

It was beyond magical.

Marica, Emanuelle and their team pulled together our every wish with absolute ease and incredible style - I didn't have to move a finger and the service and the celebration were flawless and stunning. The venue itself is unbelievably beautiful and every inch of the place embodies its motto: "eat, drink and be married". There are nooks all through the gardens with lovers seats and swing chairs. The mountain backdrop and the chapel made for the most romantic of events.

I must also recommend Montpellier as a guesthouse in its own right - it is the perfect place for families or friends to get together, winter or summer. You feel like you are "coming home", although have wonderful people cooking and cleaning, generally treating you like royalty. There are horses to ride, winemaking tours at Montpellier itself and also nearby Stellenbosch and Paarl vineyards and olive groves to visit, hikes to do, swimming, safari etc etc. The food is fabulous and the staff are ready to serve it to you at a number of different locations, our favourites being the LukGazebo by the pizza pit and the banquet table in the wine vaults.

Finally, I would like to say that their wine, particularly the Chardonnay, is some of the best I have ever had - absolutely delicious and incredibly reasonably priced.

One point - the outhouses are completely perfect - they are romance personified - I have seen some negative reviews about them and can only imagine the reviewers to be stuffy people with no concept of being in the countryside, sitting by a fire and watching nature at its most stunning. It is rustic, but not roughing it at any stretch of the imagination - beautifully designed and the service is wonderful in all locations.

Room Tip: Every room has a distinctly different quality - and the outhouses are so romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jessica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The property is simply stunning. You will never want to leave. The service is impeccable, and the wine is fantastic. It is an absolute must if you plan to visit the area. And if you don't plan to visit the area, well, make a plan. If you need a place to host an event, wedding, whatever, this is it. Totally magical, and the staff makes it really special. In terms of lodging, it's a bit rustic. There's no air conditioning. If you are a bit fussy, stay in the main house. The other housing options (cottages on the property) are more rustic, and it wouldn't be out of the question if you found a big bug cruising around on the floor. Not because it's dirty, but because this is Africa, and you're out in the country. If that seems reasonable to you, then those other housing options are great. If you are really really fussy and you need AC, then stay in town and just spend your days and evenings at the wine farm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The picturesque complex is situated just outside Tulbagh , ( five minutes car ) , greeted by Emanuel who show us the lovely home full of antiques , & the gardens etc .
The wine tasting was conducted on the patio ,under the grape vines , we tasted six wines for R 25 ( £ 1. 50 ) , Emanuel although not a South African resident gave a very , very professional presentation , with humour & dazzling smile . Memorable .
They serve a light lunch , which looked delicious , time did not allow us to sample , definitely worth a visit.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank atw1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I were in Tulbagh last weekend, and stopped for wine tasting at Montpellier. What a hidden gem! The manor house and grounds are stunning, and the staff were all so friendly and nice. We sat by the pool and had an extensive wine tasting session led by the sweet Emmanuel, who did a great job. Their wines are fantastic and we left with our arms full, and details of where we can buy in Cape Town. Although we didn't stay there, the traditional, lovely rooms of the Manor house were open to view, and we will certainly be back to stay in the sleigh bed! Top marks Montpellier, we can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My wife and I stayed at Montpellier in one of the self catering units. We loved our entire experience at this scenic wine farm and wedding venue. The self catering units are spacious, clean and very comfortable to just relax in.
The staff are very kind and helpful. We enjoyed a wine tasting and wood fired pizzas. Such a tranquil and peaceful farm.
I can highly recommend a visit to Montpellier de Tulbagh.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirstytraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Breakfast? Great! Accommodation? So what if we had a creaky bed! No receptionist to receive us? Dont care! We were made to feel so welcome, we had smiles and good service all around. We stayed in the main guesthouse.The staff were flexible and ready to serve us at any of the many communal entertainment areas, which includes the 2 lounges with their cozy fireplaces (great for winter wine tasting and pizza from their outside pizza oven!), the kitchen with yet another built in hearth, the dining room, the 3 patio areas (great for breakfast in the sunshine or wine and a game of cards before dinner!) and the massive laid table out on the lawn under te blossoming trees...
We felt as if this was our own home. We loved all the little imperfections. The key to enjoying Montpellier is to leave pretentiousness at home, to respect the homestead and its inhabitants, to embrace its old world charm, and to engage with the staff and locals and get to know them a little before just shouting orders as guests normally tend to do once they've paid for the deposit. Count yourself lucky that you get to share in this kind of lifestyle for a couple of days.
This is the Montpellier way.

Room Tip: Choose to stay in the main guesthouse, ideally in the double room with the sleigh bed. Remember this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiesieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tulbagh hotels
1.8 mi away
Tulbagh Country Guest House - Cape Dutch Quarters
1.8 mi away
Tulbagh Hotel
Tulbagh Hotel
#1 of 18 in Tulbagh
696 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rijks Country House
Rijks Country House
#3 of 18 in Tulbagh
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Vindoux Tree House Guest Farm & Spa
1.9 mi away
African Tulip Guesthouse
African Tulip Guesthouse
#2 of 18 in Tulbagh
61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Reflections Guest Farm
Reflections Guest Farm
#5 of 22 in Tulbagh
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montpellier De Tulbagh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montpellier De Tulbagh

Property: Montpellier De Tulbagh
Address: | Twee Jongengezellen Road, Tulbagh, Witzenberg Municipality 6820, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Witzenberg Municipality > Tulbagh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Tulbagh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Montpellier De Tulbagh 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montpellier provides a romantic setting for a country getaway, with a charming hillside chapel, picturesque wedding venue and old Cape style guest house. Founded in 1714, this historical Boland Farm is embraced by "the mountains of fear" (Montténére), which in 1969 flexed their muscles with an awesome earthquake.Montpellier offers variety of temptations for the palate and senses, in true Tulbagh style.Experience the snug atmosphere of our original Cape-Dutch homestead, with its wooden floors, thick walls, thatch roof and picturesque white gable, declared a National Monument. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Montpellier De Tulbagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing