We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property”
other travellers have booked this property
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
The Chai in May. It is much bigger inside than it seems from outside - 100sq m interior space. Looking back up the main room from the sofas round the fireplace.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
The Chai's spacious living room opens onto the terrace. It includes dining area and kitchen.
The Chai in May. It is much bigger inside than it seems from outside - 100sq m interior space.
Looking back up the main room from the sofas round the fireplace.
The well equipped kitchen end of the big living room. This week's guests are serious cooks.
Shower room with twin washbasins, double size shower and WC. Towels provided.
Double bedroom with comfortable 150 cm wide double bed. Bedlinen and towels provided.
Twin bedded room with 90 cm wide beds.
Bed detail in twin bedded room.
Rural but only 5 minutes by car from the edge of Bergerac. Here is the view from the terrace.
The apple walk down to the stream, with the goat paddocks to the right.
View from one of the seats by the stream, lulled by the little waterfall.
Or you could follow the Wild Walk - with orchids and other wild flowers amongst newly planted trees.
Parking in a dedicated car park as you enter the site, so the rest of the grounds are car free.
Bikes delivered, canoeing and horse riding nearby, and a treetop adventure park.
Colourful and well stocked markets
Upriver, the beautiful Dordogne valley viewed from Domme. Great canoeing and beautiful old villages.
This is typical of the beautiful villages and small towns you'll find on your explorations.
This is also chateau country par excellence!
The old port in Bergerac hosts many summer evening activities. You will be spoilt for choice!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Maurens, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
DevonCycl...
devon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

4 of us stayed at Le Chai as a base for Le Tour de France.
We received a warm welcome. A bottle of wine and a basket of snacks etc was very much appreciated.
The gite was lovely , very well equipped and lived up to our expectations. Jane was very helpful and informative.
Unfortunately we found Martin to be very rude and patronising, and spoilt what was supposed to have been a relaxing holiday.
Our husbands came back from a long and very hot cycle ride only to be told in no uncertain terms that they were not to leave their bikes on our "private patio" and he didn't like being ignored!!
We felt very uncomfortable and for the rest of the week felt that we were being watched. Maybe he just doesn't like cyclists!!!!!
Jane on the other hand was absolutely lovely and left us alone unless we needed help. Although the gate was absolutely lovely we wouldn't return,.
We have stayed in gites all over France in the last 20 years and I feel that French owners are much more easy going.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2017
We're sorry if we were not 100% for this party. We do like to give a warm welcome and most people find that to be the case. Indeed other guests staying at the same time in our other cottage have just left us a glowing report on another website and have asked to rebook. Ref the bikes, we were only asked shortly before the party's arrival if we could accommodate parking for a large minibus, two tandems and two racing bikes. It would have perhaps been advisable to check that on booking, but we did our best to help. However as we have more than one holiday property on the site we always keep the rest of the site beyond the car park completely clear of visitor vehicles, including bikes. Martin explained this on the guests' arrival when the bikes and where to store them were amicably discussed. Infact the party already had in mind to store them safely in their minibus on the car park. They are not the first to arrive with bikes, and we encourage cyclists - it's always worked before. Martin was therefore taken aback by the later assumption that it was suddenly OK to take the bikes round the garden path to Le Chai. By then he had already been made very wary by one or two unfortunate comments/attitudes, which made us wonder if each adult in the party was fully aware of the property description and the contract. The "private patio" mentioned in the review is certainly reserved exclusively for Chai customers' use as an outside room for dining and relaxing, but not as a bike park. So there was tension, for several reasons, which none of us enjoy and for which we apologise. On our part I thank the guests for leaving the place reasonably clean and tidy on departure, but as I had not asked for the damage deposit mentioned in the contract, I did specifically ask at the end of their stay if there was any damage or breakages to account for and was told no. And indeed we normally find very little to complain about. Most of it was fine, but I was surprised when I started cleaning to find a big patch of paintwork on one wall in the double bedroom had been rubbed back to expose the pink plaster (not sure why!) and a very solid dining room chair, that I know was absolutely fine, was so loose jointed and wobbly that I noticed immediately I touched it. It is part of a very sturdy set and we can only think that someone in the party found it necessary to tip it backwards more often than was good for it. So we were rushing about repairing and repainting in the little time we have between guests at this time of year so that the next guests had the same high standards of presentation that we always like to offer. This has been the only difficult week we have had this year, but hopefully on both sides we can put it down to experience and do better in future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHOManche...
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Le Chai is a comfortably furnished and well equipped gite situated about 5km from Bergerac. It has the advantages (supermarkets, good choice of restaurants, etc) of being close to the town but still enjoys a lovely countryside location. Jane and Martin are very friendly and knowledgeable hosts and we couldn't fault the property at all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for taking time to add your review. We enjoyed your stay here and meeting you both. Hope you had a good journey home and maybe we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back here sometime?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iona1183
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Farm House”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The accommodation was very comfortable, well equipped and just gorgeous; it has more than everything you need and plenty space for our family of four. Jane was very accommodating and welcoming from the outset. We arrived quite late and although this was not part of the service Jane offered us eggs and bread so that we could make a meal, as we had young children. Jane went out of her way to give us a personal tour of the town which again was not part of the service, but Jane is very warm and hospitable and nothing was too much trouble for her. Throughout the stay Jane offered advise on places to see and activities, and again although this was not part of the service Jane provided beach towels and mats for our excursions to the near by lake. The outside space is also very pretty and well maintained with some outdoor toys for the children. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for your kind words.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraT31...
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just as good second time around”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is our second visit to Le Chai and we were just as delighted with the property as we were first time around. The property is clean, well equipped and comfortable with a private terrace. It was a perfect place for my 80 year old mother's first holiday abroad. Martin & Jayne are on hand if required but never intrusive and we appreciated their help with our train journey during our stay. Thank you both again for making us so welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice quiet environment
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
We were delighted to welcome you back here, and felt very honoured to be the host location for your mother's first experience of France. I'm so glad we matched your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect base for Bergerac and the Dordogne”
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed at The Chai for a week in August and it certainly exceeded our expectations. The property has been well thought out and skilfully executed and is one of the best equipped and presented holiday cottages we have ever visited, either in the UK or in France. We particularly enjoyed the outside space and the tranquil setting.

Jane and Martin were the perfect hosts - friendly, approachable and hugely knowledgeable about the area:- never intrusive but on hand should you need them.

We look forward to returning and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you so much. You were great guests and we would love to welcome you back here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirralste...
wirral
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Had a wonderful 5 days at Le Chai. It had everything we could possibly have needed, all beautifully presented. Friendly advice and recommendations from Jane and Martin as to where to shop and where to eat. So much thought has gone into the renovation and equipping of this most comfortable cottage, with great attention to detail. Next time we visit we shall take up Jane's suggestion to visit Sarlat by train from Bergerac.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
And you were the perfect guests! So glad you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grahamand...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great accomodation and location”
Reviewed 15 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Chai is a well renovated property in a French style with an English touch. We were made to feel very welcome and were pleased to find a number of useful items and foodstuffs provided by Jane and Martin. The accomodation was spacious and comfortable with a very well equipped kitchen located in a rural location but only a short distance from Bergerac. The grounds provided interest with animals and a quiet seating area by a stream.
Very good value for money and a place that we would certainly return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and the environment here. It was great to meet the three of you and we very much look forward to seeing you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing