We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golf tourney trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pinewood Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pinewood Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Espanola
North Bay
Level Contributor
161 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Golf tourney trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We attended a golf tournament in Espanola and always stay here. Our past experiences have been very positive-great food , good rooms, very friendly service, clean, reasonable rates. The owner-Mario-even took time to come out and say hello. There were 6guys in two rooms and everyone was totally pleased. For 3 of the guys, this was their first time and all said they would stay again and also recommend

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms are on the back so it is quieter but the front is good as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    49
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
20
48
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay on our road trip from Toronto to Sault Ste Marie, but most of the places on the way had terrible reviews on TripAdvisor! We chose this as the best reviewed one, and were really impressed. It looks much like any motel from the street (though most motels in this area look very run-down), but inside, the rooms are large and well-furnished, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. We had dinner in the motel's restaurant, and it was really excellent. The decor and atmosphere are very nice. My husband had the prime rib, the house speciality, and it was both enormous and succulent, also cooked to perfection. I had the walnut crusted trout, which was delicious and served with a delicately flavoured rice and lovely fresh vegetables. The apple pie dessert we shared was to die for! The staff here are very friendly, our waitress was really helpful in explaining the different dishes (there are lots of different steaks to choose from). Also it is excellent value for money. We paid $105 inc tax for our room and $60 for the meal including drinks. We would recommend this place very highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helidjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Was Very Impressed with our room and the Price! We were in Espanola Aug 3rd for Antique car show in Little Currant that weekend. Motel was on the Main street, and they were Very helpful in letting us Park 2 Car Haulers in the parking lot in our plain view. Reserved 2 rooms,both rooms were very tastfully decorated AND Very clean. Our room had 2 queen Sleigh beds a Big Leather chair and Ottoman, fire place and some antique furniture, And a Keurig coffee maker!.VERY Nice! All for under $100 including tax. Wow!

Room Tip: Room 23 main floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LaurettaTimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

stayed at the pinewood aug 2 3 4 5 2012 myself and boyfriend did not get the right room the room we got was ok but the cleaning was terrible we actly had to go to office on the 4th and ask what they do when they clean a room. garbage can overflowing ashtray not emptied did not vaccum carpet was not inpressed at all. not sure if i would stay there again . main office staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonniebois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Pinewood Inn is a plain structure on the main street in Espanola, a papermill town. Our room was a 450 sq.ft. King bed room with fireplace, fully renovated and extensively decorated. Air conditioning sound is well muffled. This would be a four star stay, except for the air quality. The hotel appears to be "hermetically sealed", room windows cannot be opened. We would stay again, but would only take a room with an outside door.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a renovated room and check ventilation in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontarian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The rooms are very large and clean. Quiet and with nice restaurant with good meals and reasonable prices. Staff is more than helpful. Rates are very good as well. Best hotel/motel in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are away from the traffic and have an outside and hallway entrance. Front has the sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobbesl0l20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stopped with a disabled senior. Asked for a room with two double beds. No problem. Took out my debit card to pay. The "boy" said "we can take your debit card but we need your credit card in case you cause damage." What's to stop them from charging my credit card with false expenses? Is this even legal? Said, and urge YOU to say no. Went down the road to perfectly acceptable Queensway Motel - and will do it again. Queensway treated us like respectable human beings.

Room Tip: You give them control of your credit card. DO NOT stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Espanola
0.0 mi away
Lang Lake Resort
Lang Lake Resort
#2 of 6 in Espanola
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
23.4 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
20.7 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Massey Motel
Massey Motel
#2 of 2 in Massey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
23.1 mi away
Sportsman's Inn
Sportsman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinewood Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinewood Motor Inn

Property: Pinewood Motor Inn
Address: 378 Centre St, Espanola, Ontario P5E 1G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Espanola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Espanola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pinewood Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Espanola on Hwy. 6, the Pinewood Motor Inn is a modern full-service motor inn with 51 rooms. The restaurant and lounge features a beautiful fireplace setting and offers a wide variety of foods to please the family palate and the family budget: Prime Rib is our house specialty. We have meeting rooms and banquet facilities for small and large groups, including weddings. For your outdoor enjoyment, we have some of the best snowmobiling and quad trails in Ontario. We are situated close to a golf course and the beach.Free high speed wireless is available in all rooms.We have a registered massage therapist on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Pinewood Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Motor Inn Espanola, Canada - Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing