We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pinewood Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$179
US$170
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Massey Motel(Massey)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hawberry Motel(Little Current)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
32
58
24
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
58
24
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprime ribstayed heremanitoulin islandbit datedsmall townsouth baymouthkeurig coffee makerstay there againcross countryroom was cleanvery friendly serviceno reservationelectric fireplacechi cheemaunnorthern ontariotranscanada highwaymotorcycle trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Pinewood was clean the rooms were large and the breakfast was hot and filling. It was was not exceptional in any way but if you need a place to lay your head you could do a lot worse. I would recommend this hotel for a quick overnight stay. The town of Espanola reaked due to the paper mill.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheoneandonlyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our stay began on an accommodating note when we arrived before the normal check-in time but we were given early check-in to Room 51, ground floor, on the front of the Hotel. There were only 2 pillows and a request at front desk brought us 2 more. The room is quite large with an outside door. We parked within a few feet of it. There is also a door at the back of the room to a hallway that leads to the restaurant, bar and main lobby. That is great in inclement weather.

The room itself is well appointed with lots of wood and green. There is a large TV and a fireplace. The furniture gives the room a cozy lodge effect. It is very clean. The washroom seem a little dated, but again, it was very clean.

We would have given the property an excellent rating except for a few issues, the most serious of which is the room's lighting. We entered at mid day but the room was totally dark. There are no overhead lights. With the drapes closed for privacy and all lights on, we found the room very dark.

The room's door locks were temperamental and are still key activated rather than card activated. I haven't used a key in a hotel in years. Although there is internet, the hotel does not have a business center. There is good in-room coffee but no complimentary onsite continental breakfast as most hotels now have. And... senior travelers, forget about a senior's discount here. There isn't one. This is Espanola. They are clearly the best choice in town and they do offer decent value at the price. We would stay again if we come this way in the future.

Room Tip: This is a pulp mill town. Sometimes you may smell it. Keep the door closed. It isn't particularly pleasant but it is the smell of money for the residents here.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cashman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We attended a golf tournament in Espanola and always stay here. Our past experiences have been very positive-great food , good rooms, very friendly service, clean, reasonable rates. The owner-Mario-even took time to come out and say hello. There were 6guys in two rooms and everyone was totally pleased. For 3 of the guys, this was their first time and all said they would stay again and also recommend

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms are on the back so it is quieter but the front is good as well.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We were looking for somewhere to stay on our road trip from Toronto to Sault Ste Marie, but most of the places on the way had terrible reviews on TripAdvisor! We chose this as the best reviewed one, and were really impressed. It looks much like any motel from the street (though most motels in this area look very run-down), but inside, the rooms are large and well-furnished, spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. We had dinner in the motel's restaurant, and it was really excellent. The decor and atmosphere are very nice. My husband had the prime rib, the house speciality, and it was both enormous and succulent, also cooked to perfection. I had the walnut crusted trout, which was delicious and served with a delicately flavoured rice and lovely fresh vegetables. The apple pie dessert we shared was to die for! The staff here are very friendly, our waitress was really helpful in explaining the different dishes (there are lots of different steaks to choose from). Also it is excellent value for money. We paid $105 inc tax for our room and $60 for the meal including drinks. We would recommend this place very highly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the main road.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Was Very Impressed with our room and the Price! We were in Espanola Aug 3rd for Antique car show in Little Currant that weekend. Motel was on the Main street, and they were Very helpful in letting us Park 2 Car Haulers in the parking lot in our plain view. Reserved 2 rooms,both rooms were very tastfully decorated AND Very clean. Our room had 2 queen Sleigh beds a Big Leather chair and Ottoman, fire place and some antique furniture, And a Keurig coffee maker!.VERY Nice! All for under $100 including tax. Wow!

Room Tip: Room 23 main floor!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LaurettaTimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews