We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fish Tacos”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anchor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Little Current
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anchor Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
SUDBURY
1 review
“Fish Tacos”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I LOVE fish tacos! I have tried them at many places, including a few high end restaurants in Kelowna and Calgary. Anchor Inn has THE BEST fish tacos! GEt TWO orders! ..... We did and were in heaven! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHANTAL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    26
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
8
29
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed in one of the 3rd floor apartments during the Canada day weekend. Suffice to say that this is not the most high-end hotel you would be looking for( no A/C, no elevators) but has a very friendly staff and a good atmosphere. The noise was a botheration during the weekend but the hotel staff were kind enough to advise us about it before I made the reservation. Location was spectacular as it is by the waterfront. The bar and restaurant are well maintained and we enjoyed our last dinner at the Islands in their excellent restaurant. I would definitely recommend this hotel for someone not looking to spend much on accommodation but to enjoy good food and a friendly atmosphere!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie_M4956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your comments. We think your review is fair and balanced. We have replaced the microwave and now have another new on in inventory for the next time someone's popcorn catches fire and burns one. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungendore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

The Anchor Inn is in a great location, but our room was quite peculiarly hot all night. No air conditioning (no dramas there for us), but even with the window wide open and a desk fan going all night, out room remained resolutely hot. The bed was very comfortable, but the rest of the room and fittings could really do with a bit of a makeover. It's not an expensive hotel, but even so........

We ate in the bar/restaurant and the food was quite good, the wine good too. The menu was quite varied and the kitchen staff were able to make asjustments to cope with our preferences for seasonings. Our barman/waiter was very friendly.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank motomoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your review. Your right, on hot nights our rooms can be warm for sleeping. We don't have air conditioning, and go to great lengths to tell everyone, from our web-site, to the e-mail response we send people inquiring, to when guests arrive and check-in. Our rooms start at $50 per night and the kitchenettes are $90. We like to think we price our rooms reasonably as compared to some of the more expensive alternatives in the neighborhood.

Thank you for your kind comments on the staff and food in our bar and restaurateur. We are very proud of our staff and find it very humbling that people take time to recognize their efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliot, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My wife and I have a summer cottage on Manitoulin and we get up to Little Current fairly often. On every trip we stop at the Anchor at least once and have never had anything but a great time along with terrific food and service. What makes it even better for us I am mostly vegetarian and my wife is vegan. Despite the fact that they do not have a large list of vegetarian options, the servers and the chefs are totally willing to work with the special requests we make and, in every case, they served us great tasting meals. Also without fail, all of the staff are friendly and very helpful. If you are looking for a modern, Applebee's setting, you're in the wrong place. This building is very old with tons of history and character and to my taste, much more enjoyable. So don't judge the book.... Go in and meet the locals and have a great time along with really good food at more-than-fair prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I is so nice to hear our guests have had a great experience at our Hotel. We do have a couple vegetarian options on our menu and will always try to accommodate our guests special needs and requests. We can't always meet every request, but we will always try.

Our building is old, built in 1888, but we have been working on it for the last 20 years, while attempting to maintain the character and charm. We like Applebee's, but will never try to be like them.

Always nice to hear such positive comments on our staff. They make us proud :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Favourite restaurant ! Rather eat here then anyone else ! PLUS THERE LEAF FANS AND THEY PLAY EVERY GAME ON BIG SCREEN ! GO LEAFS GO . Fish ,pasta , steak, you name it . Great food . If your into fishing or sledding in the winter this is the place to be .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Fortunately, we looked at the room at this hotel before we signed on the dotted line. Dark, dank, bad smell, small. Seedy is the overall descriptor. Bar downstairs. They also have "apartments" in the building. Not sure who is living in those rooms?!

Room Tip: Drive right pass this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank JPchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This place was nothing like we expected. We have stayed in bar inns before and they have always been an enjoyment until we stayed here. We booked a single room with 2 beds...when we arrived they tried to upsell us a suite which we looked at and it looked like it was falling apart. So then we were shown our room #4 down the hallway right above the bar. This was was just as sad looking but smaller and cheaper. We stayed in #4. It was awful the screen on the window was popped out so I put it back in although anyone that can climb a ladder can go into your room anytime the window is open (kinda creepy) and you will need to keep the window open since there is no AC and it's hotter then hades. On their website the photos are very misleading. The website also says "All of our rooms have been recently remodelled and are both comfortable and modern." Well if modern is 1980 then they are right.

The rooms are loud in the evening and in the morning as they are moving chairs around. Good thing they provided ear plugs! The room looked like it was falling apart molding coming off, wires just hanging from the ceiling. Needs updating.

I would not recommend staying here. The good thing is it looks like there will be a new hotel being built down the road soon.

Room Tip: How to choose a good.....go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Regislive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchor I, Owner at Anchor Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for your review. Conveniently, I think I was the fellow who showed you the rooms. To begin, we don't so much attempt to up-sell people looking at our rooms. We do let people look at different rooms, particularly on weekends when we know noise from the bar can be an issue. The kitchenette was located on third floor and is much quieter than the room you choose. Keeping things in perspective, the room you choose, after looking at it, was $60 per night. We are certainly not the Fairmount, but then we don't claim to be.

Your right we don't have air conditioning. The web-site photos are pictures of our rooms. I took the pictures. Not sure how they are misleading. I am not a good enough photographer to take a misleading picture.

The 1980's comment is a bit tough to understand. When we say modern, we are referring to the LCD tv's and free hi-speed, in room coffee and in room fridge. Granted, coffee and fridges have been around since 1980. The wire hanging out of the ceiling is simply not true. Perhaps you are referring to the cable for the tv...behind the dresser?

Yes there is a new Hotel being built. We think that is a good thing, and have supported the project for years. We honestly believe it will be good for tourism.

Again our thanks for contributing to the trip advisor forum.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Current
0.5 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
20.3 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
52 reviews
20.3 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
#1 of 2 in Manitowaning
133 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#5 of 7 in Little Current
130 reviews
17.0 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Property: Anchor Inn
Address: 1 Water Street, Little Current, Ontario P0P 1K0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Little Current
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Little Current
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Little Current
Anchor Inn Little Current, Canada - Manitoulin Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing