We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manitowaning
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed a night while in town for an event. The room was immaculate! There were all the amenities you could want or need in the room. The service was exceptional and had a very welcoming feel. The location is perfect for anyone planning to make day trips around the island as it is fairly central.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travisbakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
73
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Very nice owner and really nice room, so welcoming and in such a great community. The location is good its near the main street in Manitouwaning and very close to Wiki. Very helpful owner making sure we knew where our destination was etc..She even gave us free tickets to the show we were attending! Thank You Miigwetch

Room Tip: anyone will do they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReneeOSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Our extended weekend stay at the motel was as good as last year. The owners (Bob and Maureen Friend) welcomed us and were extremely helpful. The rooms were spotless and well appointed. We had a wonderful time on the island due in part to our lodgings. We look forward to our return.
The owners are constantly working around the property and within the next month all the rooms will be updated and renovated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We were passing through on a motorcycle trip and was heading for the ferry the next morning. Read reviews on TA and can't say enough good things about this place. The owners greet you, and take a personal interest. I think they live on the property too. It only has 7 rooms, newly renovated and just lovely! It's tucked back off a side street so it is real quiet. it is in walking distance to a liquor store and a great restaurant that the owners recommended called the Musky Widow. Both are at the end of the street down by the water- a beautiful walk too. You definitely need to make reservations well ahead of time. It was one of our favorite places that we stayed on a 3 week trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We loved this little motel. A bit of retro, a touch of the cutesy charm that tells you it's a family run operation and good housekeeping made this place an absolute pleasure to visit. The owners where hospitable and kind, even offering to loan us their own bikes for a bit if we wanted. The area is unique and rather pretty. I can't beleive I grew up in Buffalo, NY and never knew this place existed. Smallish problem occurred because a group of close friends were all sharing the room next door and the mix of alcohol and motorcycle noises,made for a raucous evening right outside our window. They asked if they were bothering us, but we did not want to spoil their fun, so no sleep for us.On the plus side, a morning walk down the street was delightful!

Room Tip: Tell the owners ahead of time that you need a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weloveHawaii51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at Maureen & Bob's motel ... great spot. As everyone on Tripadvisor has mentioned, it's extremely clean and well run. We stayed in the room with a new King size bed which was very comfortable. Room is compact, but has everything you need and price is certainly right. Maureen and Bob were wonderful hosts .... they can't do enough for you - sat outside on the porch chatting with Maureen for quite a while - lovely people. An honourable mention goes out to Minny (which is a male .... they figured that out when they went to get "her" fixed - LOL) ... Minny comes to greet every guest that pulls up - very funny! Suggest you make reservations as they were full the whole time we were there and they had to turn away several people driving in looking for rooms. As Maureen stated, "Tripadvisor ensures we provide quality control" .... and they do a good job of it. Thanks - great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary-Lou F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just returned from our stay at Friends Inn. We stayed one night but we had tried to stay for more, but they were completely booked. Hosts, Bob & Maureen were welcoming, very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spotless, comfortable and very cozy. They have done a wonderful job updating their hotel. I would recommend this facility to anyone looking for a lovely quiet get away. Our next visit to the island, we will certainly book earlier and would like to spend our entire time at their facility. Wishing you all the best Bob & Maureen.
The Strykers

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m0m1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitowaning
16.9 mi away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
21.4 mi away
Killarney Mountain Lodge
Killarney Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
17.1 mi away
Manitoulin Inn
Manitoulin Inn
#1 of 1 in Mindemoya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wayside Motel
Wayside Motel
#2 of 2 in Manitowaning
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Hawberry Motel
The Hawberry Motel
#6 of 7 in Little Current
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
21.2 mi away
Sportsman's Inn
Sportsman's Inn
#1 of 2 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Friends Inn Manitoulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Friends Inn Manitoulin

Property: My Friends Inn Manitoulin
Address: 151 Queen Street | Po Box4, Manitowaning, Ontario POP 1NO, Canada (Formerly Hembruff's Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Manitowaning
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Manitowaning
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — My Friends Inn Manitoulin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated 7 room motel in quaint village of Manitowaning. We have rooms with two double beds, rooms with one queen size bed or one room with a king size bed. All rooms include a small fridge, microwave, Tassimo coffee maker, electric fireplace, wifi, cable, a/c. The rooms are all non smoking. There is a picnic area provided with a gas barbeque for guest use. Comfortable outdoor chairs provided for each room. Rates are starting at $85 plus tax per room per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your My Friends Inn Manitoulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
My Friends Inn Manitoulin Manitowaning, Manitoulin Island, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing